We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans Style Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Ranked #70 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2010

The hotel was very nice and clean and quite. Anything that we needed, extra blankets, towels or help with our room key, we got right away. The hotel is on the edge of the CBD and the French Quarter. It was only 2 blocks from the French Quarter to escape the craziness and noise but so close to walk and enjoy shopping and great food. The staff was so accommodating. We had a large party of people coming from all over for a destination wedding. Everyone at the Reception and Concierge Desk's were wonderfully helpful. One person in particular stood out, Anquelicia (probably not spelled correctly as I am trying to recall her name tag) was absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmichelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2010

We decided to stop for one night with our boys during Spring Break in NO. Called Marriot and was able to book this hotel for $109 a night. Great deal. It was clean, rooms were nice, and the staff were nice. The consiere was fabulous.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TALB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We really enjoyed are stay. The hotel was close to everything. The rooms were very nice. Front desk staff courteous and friendly. Check in time was 3:00pm we got there at 4:00am. Thank you Renaissance Pere Marquette front desk staff for the early check in and a great room with a nice view.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diam0ndBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

If Renaissance is supposed to be the high end of Marriott chains, the Pere Marquette should probably be downgraded. I was given a corner room on the 19th floor (I was told that was a special Platinum Elite member bonus room), and while there were more windows to look out of which was nice, the room was otherwise very standard and ho-hum. The TV was a small 17 or 19 inch retro box from two decades ago. The coffee maker's water reservoir looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. The bed sagged in the middle. The a/c system was loud. Every half hour or so, I would hear a loud "thunk" from somewhere within the plumbing system - I can only assume it's old piping in the building.

On the plus side, the receptionist area and valet parking staff are very helpful and expedient. The lobby, bar, and waiting areas on the first floor are decked out in chic and modern decor, which if you're into that kind of thing, is probably very cool.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindyLePooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Been here 3 days, so I suppose something could still go wrong, in which case, I'd write another review. So far, it's all good. Checked in around 10 pm on a Mon. night w/ no problems. Everyone super friendly & helpful. Besides service, the price & location were great. Won a room for a $55 a night bid on priceline, and when they add on their fee, it came to about $64.75 a night. Can't beat that! The hotel is 1 1/2 blocks from Canal St. & the street you walk on (Carondelet) turns into Bourbon on the other side of Canal, sweet! Looks a little sketchy but those 1 1/2 blocks seemed perfectly safe to me & we had no problems. Upon check in, they asked us if we wanted a room w/ 2 standard beds or a king bed. We took the king. I can't speak for all the rooms, just ours, obviously. The room (#1013) was a corner room that overlooked another hotel's pool/patio area on one side & some big stone cupola/ minaret type of structure on the other, w/ plenty of light. Not the biggest room in the world, but certainly not the smallest. Anyone who would think it was the smallest has not been to the Hudson Hotel in NYC & had a standard room there. We felt very comfortable in this one for 5 nights. There's a weight room w/ an outdoor pool. We used neither. Wifi connection costs money, so we used our own wireless notebook. The lounge looked modern & nice, not usually crowded. Don't know how much the drinks were. It's an old hotel. I wouldn't tout it as 4 stars, more like 3, possibly 3 1/2, but I was extremely pleased for the money. Also, our room was quiet. Relatively big bathroom, but shower did not have great pressure. Didn't use parking, but like so many places in a city, it was expensive, maybe $29 a night. There are a couple of $15 overnight lots about 3-5 blocks away. In room safe was free. There was a small fridge. The only thing about this hotel that bothered my husband (an ex pest control guy) was that the mattress & box spring have no plastic encasings on them, which is what many hotels have now to help control bedbugs. There were no bedbugs in our room. It's just that we prefer to see the encasings. All in all, I'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chatnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Do NOT stay here if you are familiar with Renaissance hotels. You will be dismayed to the point of disgust. Dirty, smells like a bad locker in the hallways. Rude staff that are completely belligerent and inattentive to its customers. NO 24 HOUR room service!! ONE check-in desk with ONE person. Hotel Night Manager that has no public relations skill whatsoever...in fact, he couldn't even offer an apology when I mentioned that this hotel does not even meet a basic Marriott level of quality or service. This place deserves to lose its right to use the franchise Renaissance name. I would give this place a 0 rating since the expectations are of a quality this places does not even come close to. The room is a cubicle with a closet for a 'bathroom' and the mattress squeaks like a Motel 8. Absolutely the worst experience ever. STAY AWAY. DO NOT STAY HERE. I chose the Renaissance for a level of service and you will be disappointed as I was. A wading tub is NOT a pool. AVOID THIS PLACE. YOU WILL THANK ME.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selectivity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I was lucky to find any room, booking less than a week before Mardi Gras, to arrive the Saturday before Mardi Gras, but the Père Marquette (in addition to J.W. Marriott) were available through AAA.com. Described as a boutique hotel, it had a hip, artistic lobby with bar and Starbucks, but it wasn't overly "boutique" in that snobby way I've seen in "boutique" hotels in other cities.

We arrived by car just before the start of a Saturday night Mardi Gras parade, and streets were blocked, and the parking garage entrance was blocked-- we had to run out to the parking valet to get him to move the pylons.

Mardi Gras stresses most every hotel and restaurant especially downtown, and some services were irregular to unavailable. For example, the parking valet came through for us by going to get the bellman's cart and acting as a bellman since no bellman was available.

The room was nice, not tiny, as I expected from the word "boutique." The bathroom was huge compared to the room, with tasteful marble-tile floors, huge mirror, and shower (no bath) with a handheld shower head. Water was hot, but shower pressure minimal. Good, comfortable King bed, with a warm comforter. Small refrigerator in the room which wasn't working.

The hotel is located in a good spot, 1 block off Canal Street, around the corner from the Roosevelt Hotel (and its famous Sazerac Bar and Domenica restaurant), and a good family-owned sushi bar, Yokohama, across the street. That said, downtown New Orleans, like other downtowns, is lively, and New Orleans likes its police sirens-- especially during Mardi Gras season.

Note on Mardi Gras: If you have a car, you're not going anywhere during the parade or just before or after. Even getting across Canal Street into the French Quarter by foot may be impossible since parades come down St. Charles and turn onto Canal, and you can't cross the police barricades. On Mardi Gras morning we had to take a cab from the hotel, onto the interstate and around to the back end of the French Quarter to meet friends. The cabs are reasonably priced, though, so it's often worth taking a cab, especially if you don't know your way or if it's late.

A highly rated restaurant, Mila, is in the Père Marquette, but we were told it was closed over the weekend (not clear if this was every weekend, but very strange for Mardi Gras weekend). 1/2 block away at the corner is an all-night convenience store, Brother's, where you can buy fried chicken and fries all night. Brothers came in real handy when I needed liquids one day when I got sick (nothing to do with the hotel).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Godenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#68 of 166 in New Orleans
2,407 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#84 of 166 in New Orleans
2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#75 of 166 in New Orleans
3,551 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel

Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £95 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the incomparable spirit of New Orleans with a big, easy stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. Set in the heart of the legendary French Quarter, our boutique hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana provides a one-of-a-kind experience with floors and conference rooms named for jazz greats. Modern amenities seamlessly blend with the splendor of our mid-1920s building. Relax in style in well-appointed rooms boasting photography from local artists. A state-of-the-art conference center provides nearly 7,000 square feet of sophisticated New Orleans business and conference space to keep professionals on task and productive. We're also an ideal choice for a New Orleans wedding reception with onsite planners ready to assist! Break a sweat in the fitness center, or take it easy in our stylish lounge. Let us help you create lasting memories and extraordinary experiences during your stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing