We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautimous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal St Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
Ranked #55 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautimous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is wonderfully renovated, clean rooms, funky decor, great staff! Though it is in the busy part of town, the valet guy was readily available to whisk away our car and deliver our bags directly to our room. The only negative aspect was PJs Coffee down in the lobby. Dirty area, and the employees were a bit disorganized.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieBarnts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    401
    204
    51
    35
See reviews for
208
460
72
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a last minute extra night and it was great. The location was perfect, rooms were a little small but not an issue for one night, and very clean and nice! The staff was great!
I have stayed in a lot of hotels in the quarter and I will definitely return to this one!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of a Southwest Airlines package deal. The room was nice and the bed and pillows were good. However, we were in room 202, right above the corner of Royal and Charles Streets. The sound of the traffic at all hours, along with the clanging of the cable car until just after midnight, made for a sleepless night. The staff was friendly, especially Diana the concierge.

Room Tip: Get a room on the uppermost floor if possible because of the street noise. Avoid rooms on the 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steffiscowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fun4oli
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

The room I was in on the 10th floor was quite small (one of those with a bed and not much space around it) but well appointed, had a coffee maker and nice bathroom amenities. There is no breakfast restaurant but they have a chain coffee place at the lobby (with rather expensive muffins). You can walk in 2 minutes to the entrance to Bourbon Street (or other streets to the French Quarter). I paid something like $95 including tax per night at Kayak, which I think is a really good deal for the location (and I think normally it costs more). Valet parking was something like $35, but you can also self-park for $16 at a garage 2 blocks away (the hotel recommended that one), where you go in and have to leave by 4 pm the next day (respectively re-park, I guess). Not sure about in/out privileges. Or you do what I did if you want to drive around anyhow (Garden District, Mardi Gras World, etc), which is to street park for free after 6 pm (I always found a place around the corner from the hotel), go down before 8 am, pay a few dollars to park until 10 am, and then leave and start your discovery day.

Room Tip: I guess a higher floor is better so you see at least a bit of the city and escape the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fun4oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Apparently you have to be very specific if you don't want a crappy interior storage closet "room"

This is the second stay (and last). First time, had a nice room, decent size, big window with a good view. Second visit, room was so small and dark, we IMMEDIATELY called the front desk and informed them this would not be acceptable and not at all what we paid for. We did get changed to an outside room with a window at least, lovely view of the parking garage roof across the street.

Very noisy room though. Smoke alarm went off at 10am while trying to shower and check-out, it can not be shut off by the guest apparently. It did help motivate our egress to proceed much faster though with it's deafening volume.

We'll be finding somewhere else to stay on future trips.

Room Tip: BE 10,000% SURE TO ASK FOR A ROOM ON THE OUTSIDE!!! Interior rooms are little more than converted s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Great hotel the st. Charles line is literally at the hotel's front door. Walk 2 blocks into the French quarter.
Hotel was recently renovated so it is clean and everything is brand new. Staff could not have been nicer.
Highly recommend this hotel. Great price great location.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade if they can do it they will.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sellutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Riddle: When is a hotel room with no window and no closet an appealing choice? Answer: When a room with a window is so noisy nobody can sleep! Don't let the "groovy" lobby fool you, this is not a place you want to stay. The staff was rude and indifferent (I had to interrupt his personal phone call to get some attention from the desk clerk). We were given a room with no window and no closet. We were traveling with two other couples who were both exhausted after trying to sleep at this hotel. Their rooms had a window but were so noisy sleep was impossible. We had been traveling a long time, we had a lot of luggage. Our room had no closet and no place to put luggage other than the floor.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Property: Royal St Charles Hotel
Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-2505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing