We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and the stafis the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
Ranked #64 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

By far the best hotel staff that i have encountered. Diana is wonderful person to tell about great place visit. She is the best. I have been to New Orleans many times. Diana told me about places that on the tourist and tips about artist joining other artist for the n

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hello308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,417)
There are newer reviews for Royal St Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Nice lobby an room decor was nice just small an I mean small,there was no microwave are fridges as other viewers say the coffee shop in lobby was nice I love d smell of coffee ok the bathroom was small also, no counter space an tub wasn't so inviting I ended up buying some cleaner of my own an cleaned tub but d yellowing was still there I used a big towel to stand on while showering don't know if that help keep germs away but I felt better doin so anyways bed comforter was really yellow not impressed at all, upgrade on linens for your beds it really makes a difference, I asked for housekeeping d next morning she cleaned room an changed sheets but not d comforter to me a clean bed means everything gets replaced when changing linens an sheets were so thin, bed was comfortable also pillows were nice our room was 1017 there was no window to see outside,but they had a sunlight window not sure wt to call it. There's a nice flat screen an desk area iron,iron board, in cabinet there's no extra counter space we paid 149$ thru Priceline an total at checkout was $430 that was for 2 nights with valet parking, valet were nice sometimes they had a door guy an upon checkout we were approached by a nice lady with d hotel who asked us how our stay was an wanted us to return will soon! The location is great if u are a party person like myself very close to canal an there is a poboy shop close by called Serio I think an other food places to would I return only if d price is cheaper an d bedding has to b better.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Smith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The Hotel itself is O.K, but not really family friendly. There are no fridges in the rooms and not bathroom vanities, There is not parking on site and it's a 2 1/2 block walk to the parking garage where you are only allowed to park on floors 6-10, which can be gotten to up a series of steep and narrow ramps...some of which are 2-way. All of this for a nitely charge of $16.00 if you opt for the self-park (it's $32. for valet) Very scary! They also have a surcharge, which they call a "Value added Package" (?) for using the internet and the phone. That being said, the hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable and the location is good, being proximal to the french quarter and Canal st.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBobCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

My first time in New Orleans and I didn't get to do too much research before I arrived. The concierge assistant Dianne seemed to just know everything that needed to be done in the city. Hats off for service! The location is great with a tram stop directly outside of the hotel. Our room was spacious and well put together - all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nhuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I am writing a review because I had a wonderful experience with the concierge Diana! All I needed was help finding a rental car and ended up learning about local restaurants, music venues, and radio stations as well as great conversation about music and artists. I will definitely stay at this hotel again! Thank you Diana!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martindamngina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is wonderfully renovated, clean rooms, funky decor, great staff! Though it is in the busy part of town, the valet guy was readily available to whisk away our car and deliver our bags directly to our room. The only negative aspect was PJs Coffee down in the lobby. Dirty area, and the employees were a bit disorganized.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieBarnts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a last minute extra night and it was great. The location was perfect, rooms were a little small but not an issue for one night, and very clean and nice! The staff was great!
I have stayed in a lot of hotels in the quarter and I will definitely return to this one!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-2505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £76 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing