We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Very Productive and Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal St Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal St Charles Hotel
Ranked #54 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Very Productive and Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the Royal St Charles Hotel. The hotel is centrally located to the Downtown and the French Quarters.. We were near the business venues, entertainment and exquisite restaurants. The rooms were well kept and quiet. The staff was so courteous and thoughtful that we felt right at home. We want to particularly thank Randi, Jesse, Keianna and the whole RSJ team for a job very well done..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    390
    195
    50
    34
See reviews for
197
441
67
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My initial reaction upon entering the Royal St Charles was "Ok, this is nice." All of the staff were friendly and helpful (very down to earth), the seating area of the lobby was colorful with multiple televisions lining the wall, the a/c felt refreshing, and there was a PJ's Coffee steps from the front desk. The one odd thing I noticed about the hotel is that the hallways were very cold. Immediately after coming in from the humidity it feels great, however, leaving your room after cooling off might give one the shivers.

The room itself was interesting in that it was an interior room--no true window but rather glass blocks with filtered light covered by curtains/sheers. I figured this might be good for noise control, but a view would have been appreciated. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and allowed for a decent night's sleep. The bathroom was on the small side, and there was a issue with the plumbing that took several attempts to fix, but nothing that really detracted from my stay. Free wifi was an added bonus. The room came equipped with a coffee maker, however, I opted for coffee from PJ's each morning. The layout of the room was slightly awkward with the bed pushed close to a corner and the television at an odd angle (though you could rotate it toward the bed), however, this seemed to be the only way to configure it to allow for the desk.

The location of this hotel was definitely a key asset. The St Charles streetcar stops directly in front of the hotel--this is the line to take for the Garden District. The French Quarter is within very easy walking distance just across Canal St. If you're looking to stay close to the nightlife without having to constantly be in the middle of it, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: This hotel has interior rooms so if you need a window be sure to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved our stay here, the staff were beautiful and so friendly, the decor was funky, the room was beautiful and clean and its so close to everything, it was wonderful to check into this place after driving for so long.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I wound up staying here because I got a great price. When I checked in, I found out that I had been upgraded to a junior suite, which was outstanding. The bed was about the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. The staff was extremely friendly, which I consider a huge plus whenever i review any business. My only gripe is that they charge a mandatory $10 fee for use of the hotel's amenities, whether you use them or not, which I didn't. The amenities, by the way, aren't anything more than what you would find in most hotels.

Overall, it's a great hotel with an awesome staff, and I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzSinger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Awesome location,one block from Canal street, trolley stop right by the hotel. Service wonderful. Check in at 11,which was a plesant surprise. Our plane on the way back was at 8pm and we wanted to stau a few hours longer, no provlem. They offered us a discount and we very understanding to our situation.

Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The room is a bit small, but clean. Walking distance to everywhere. The price was pretty reasonable. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room/hotel. It was a bit difficult to find overnight parking close by, so we paid the valet fee of $25 (I think). The valet service was ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the Jazz Festival in April. The location is perfect and our room was very stylish and clean. Our room was indeed small and a little tight but it provided all the necessities that any New Orleans traveler would need...a clean bed and a clean bathroom. I believe that the location and the hospitality of the staff makes up the considerably small room. The price was reasonable and I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayW_Atl404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Property: Royal St Charles Hotel
Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing