We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
Ranked #64 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here for my sons bachelor party (over from UK) and it was absolutely perfect. Easy walk to Bourbon Street, French Quarter etc but not right in the midst of the popular tourist spots so it was quite quiet. Nice clean rooms, helpful staff and a great concierge. Breakfast area was a bit unexciting but we discovered Daisy Dukes Express just round the corner which was brilliant!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrightonEgghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed there with deal from American Express for a girls weekend with college friends. The rooms are small but very clean. There was enough space for 4 women to have their clothing and bathroom stuff, but it was a tight squeeze. It's cleanliness and proximity are the reason I've given it high marks. Didn't get 5 stars though because without the deal I don't think it's a great value and the walls are paper thin. A family was staying next to us and we could hear their baby and young children screaming in the morning, which is unpleasant after a night out on Bourbon street. Also, the cleaning staff were vacuuming outside our room one morning at 9 am and wouldn't stop when we said we were still sleeping. If you can't get a deal, you're probably better off at a different place that costs the same but might be nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a great location and hotel staff. We really enjoyed our stay during Jazz Fest. The location, price and cleaniness of hotel couldn't be beat. Room was small, but expected in the city. Had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jpope05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for Jazz Fest. The king room was pretty small but you don't hang out in your room in NOLA. The staff was excellent and super friendly. Can't beat the location just outside the quarter. We had a high floor so we didn't experience any street noise mentioned in other reviews. Best value by far of the hotels offering the Jazz fest rate and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Service was absolutely first class, and while our suite was excellent in most respects we did have a safe that didn't work and a toilet that wouldn't stop working. These were addressed in short order but at least the toilet should have been noted by the maid staff and surely previous guests would have reported the safe.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Tmartin501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Really liked the location for walking to french quarter without staying in it. Rooms were small, but not much time was spent there. Staff was friendly. I highly recommend valet parking. We wanted to save money and try and self-park. Totally not worth it. Room and bathroom were both clean. St Charles streetcar stop was right outside. A plus if you want to catch it, but you could hear it all night going by which was a little annoying. Would stay again though.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel has a great location near Canal and Bourbon streets. There are a ton of great restuarants nearby. All downtown destinations are no more than a 15 minute walk. Our room was modern, clean and had a great view overlooking portions of the Mississippi River, Canal Street, and downtown highrises. The hotel is in an old office building, but manages to maintains a boutique feel. No complaints regarding noise or room size. There is a great coffee shop in the lobby.

Room Tip: We have an 18 month old who did very well in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happygolucky090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#82 of 166 in New Orleans
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-2505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £75 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing