We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is hard to beat and the price is reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
Ranked #66 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very easy to get around from this location. Be prepared for some hidden costs that are not included in your original booking of your room. It is a resort fee that is $9.95 per day and gives you access to the gym, Wi Fi etc. We stayed on the 5th floor. The streetcar rail is right in front of the hotel. If you are a light sleeper you might consider ear plugs. If you sleep like a rock, you are all good. Two options for parking. Self park and Valet. Very friendly staff at the desk and valet desk. Modern comfortable lobby with a coffee shop named PJ's. Good coffee and a variety of fruits and muffins etc. Overall a very good option to the higher priced national chains in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

For a great value in a prime location, you must visit the Royal St. Charles. Close to the French Quarter, it makes an excellent home base for a stay in NOLA. Rooms are snug, but modern and clean. But what makes this hotel special is the responsiveness and friendliness of the staff. I've stayed all over the world and always look for a hotel that is staffed by people who look me in the eye and genuinely act like they want me in their establishment.

The staff at the Royal St. Charles was top of the line. Perhaps a bit understaffed, they still got the job done and made the whole experience a personal one. Special kudo's to Ralph, who at times was so busy we thought he belonged in a Cirque du Soleil act, but we actually skipped an appointment to stop and talk with him. He gave us great tips on restaurants, directions to key locations, and, by the time we had to leave, I wanted to take him home with me. He kissed my wife's hand and gave me two hugs and sent us off with "Y'all are good people." Back at you, Ralph. We love you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank etherius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We've stayed at some wonderful hotels on our trips to New Orleans (Hotel Monteleone, Prince Conti etc). I would prefer those hotels over the Royal St Charles if price is no object. But the Royal St Charles is a very good option as well. The streetcar is right outside. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Amanda at the front desk is great. Charles the bellhop is always prompt and helpful. (I hope his name is Charles :/) The rooms are nice enough. The TV is 42inches and the beds are soft. When we're in New Orleans we don't spend much time in the room anyway so all we were really doing is eating and sleeping.

I don't however like the $10 a day resort fee nor the fact that housekeeping takes forever to clean the room. But those are minor complaints. I would gladly stay at the Royal St. Charles again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsWanderlust718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Was in New Orleans for business meetings and trying to find reasonably priced decent hotel in D/T is not always easy. Hotel is well located on St. Charles 1/2 block from French Quarter. Rooms are small but clean and have decent amenities. Not elegant but good place to stay fair price.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Palman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My friends and I spent two days and a night here for a fun, short trip. This hotel is very close to the French Quarter, easy walk! The rooms are very cute and boutique-like. They are on the small side but that is not a bad thing. The room and bathroom were clean and that is the main thing. You don't come to New Orleans to stay in the room, just to sleep. The bed was comfy and the air was very easy to control.
I also can't say enough good things about the staff. They were amazing!!! Amanda and Daz at the front desk were so nice and helpful. They made check in smooth and more like I was coming home not a strange hotel. Ralph, Nasser, and Stuart with the car parking and luggage get 5 stars! I couldn't have asked for better service.
I will for sure be back here for my trips to NOLA!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csnider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location. We were able to easily walk to Bourbon St,, the aquarium, Pharmacy Museum, Harrahs, and to the Streetcars to get to everything else. The room was very small, but was clean and quiet. There was also no window in the room, but a fake glass square with curtains made to look like a window. Valet parking is expensive, but no different than the other hotels. Unless you plan to spend lots of time in the room, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stugatsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I agree that the room was small but the location is near the heart of the action in the city. The A/C was tricky in that getting it just right was difficult. The staff seemed very nice. The valet parking is the way to go. Nice easy breakfast spot downstairs. This is an example of getting what you need but not making the hotel the priority. There are nicer accommodations but probably more expensive. This fit our needs.

Room Tip: Bathroom size may be a qualifier for the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackvw1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-2505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £74 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing