We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #106 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Not a bad hotel, about 15-20 minutes walk to French Quarter.
Pretty good breakfast is included in room price.
Rooms could use some upgrades, but beds are comfortable. Our room was facing 2-nd floor inside yard. Very quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing inside yard/balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda H, Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback about the hotel. We greatly value it when guests take the time to share their experiences with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    211
    92
    34
    33
See reviews for
181
81
23
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hallsville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean but cramped. Suite was just a large room with a couch that didn't even fold out because the tv was in the way. Breakfast was average to poor. Parking was out of line expensive. For the price I'd find another place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda H, Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. Unfortunately in any downtown area where parking is very limited, there is a fee. Our fee currently is $25 and is less expensive than many of the hotels in the area. Our building is a historic building in the city of New Orleans and we modeled the rooms to preserve the historic features and charm of the building. We do offer an upscale complimentary continental breakfast including items such as sausage, eggs and fresh waffles. I do apologize that you did not enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Thw Warehouse District in downtown New Orleans (for this first timer) was my favorite ambiance but the Hotel itself is very well maintained and the room was very well maintained. I enjoyed this room very much. And only 2 1/2 block from the Convention center and 1/2 mile from the Cruise Ship docked behind the Convention Center and less than 2 miles from the heart of the French Quarter a very nice place to stay.
Oh, and Emeril's is only 2 1/2 blocks!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a refrigerator and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our location is great for pre and post cruise stays. There are tons of great restaurants close by and we are actually less that mile away from the French quarter and about a mile from the New Orleans Super Dome. Another must see very close to us would be the World War II Museum. On you next cruise please chose us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed here for a wedding. I went to my room about 11pm and couldn't fall asleep til 4am when the blaring night club music finally stopped. The walls were literally rattling and people were yelling outside. I don't care how comfortable the beds are, or how clean it is, or how friendly the staff are. You can't stay somewhere you can't sleep. I've stayed in New Orleans before on St. Charles street and did not have this problem.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtsyMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda H, Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
I definitely understand your concern about the outside noise. One part of our hotel does face a nightclub, which can at times be noisy. I am very sorry that you experienced this at our property. Although the problem is not solved yet for this section of hte hotel, we are currently working to ensure that the clubs in our area are in compliance with the noise ordinance. We also have white noise machines and earplugs available to all of our guests upon request. Again, I sincerely apologize that experienced this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have to say that our experience at Springhill Suites in downtown New Orleans was stellar. We were unfortunate enough to get caught in the ice storm on I-10 and had reservations at another downtown hotel we could not make it to on the first night of a 3-night reservation. When we finally did arrive in Nola after 28 hours on the road, we were told that our room was given away and they were booked....offering absolutely NO help in the situation. That's where Springhill comes in--offering us last minute accommodations and an empathetic ear to our situation. We were particularly impressed with the front desk staff, both upon check in and check out...so helpful and friendly! The rooms were comfortable and very convenient to downtown bars & restaurants. We travel quite a bit for work and stay in lots of hotels along the way--and our experience with Springhill Suites was one of the best in recent memory. Highly recommended! Sharon C

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for the positive reponse. We reallize that sometimes situations happen and our valued guest travel plans change. I'm really glad that we were able to be your home away form home and my staff was able to make this an enjoyable stay. We look foward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel was listed on NADA's website as a hotel to stay for the convention. It is very conveniently located, only two blocks away from the convention center. The hotel is located in a converted warehouse and the lobby has really nice character and charm. The décor is done in an aqua color scheme and it's bright and cheery.

It's located about 15 minutes walk from the French Quarter and represents a good value with free WI-FI and breakfast.

During the convention the rooms were $230, a bit steep for a Springhill Suites, but that's the norm when a convention is in town. After the convention we were able to get the rate reduced to $129 which was a fair rate.

The rooms were a bit small, but clean and comfortable. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bouloys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm happy to hear that you were able to mix a little fun with your business travel and get to stay an additional night to explore our wonderful city.

I bet you didn’t know that our building is an historical building that was first built back in the early 1800's. The current structure was opened back in October of 2001 as a hotel. They used all of the old bricks, windows and also some of the old support beams. Back in the 1800's it served as a warehouse where sugar cane was stored prior to it being processed into sugar. So I guess you kind of got a sweet deal on you last night.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

First the good. If your staying for an event at the convention center it is only 2 blocks away which was nice. That is where the positive ends.

Our room like most here are bording the street and wow can you hear all the traffic and at night partying, yelling, loud music ect. It feels like your trying to sleep in the street. The room it self makes no sense. It is totally laid out wrong with the closet right at the frong of the bed so you have to squeeze to get in. There are NO drawers for putting your clothes away. The first day we were there the maid service was not completed until 4pm and then only because we called and complained. A friend traveling with us said his never did get done all day.
The room just felt dirty, our sheets had a stain of some sort that was unsightly. Also the water in the entire building was out for 2 hours on our first day and the next morning went out again for several hours.

The breakfast offered was very poor. bread left out so it is dry and stale. Also they closed earlier than posted times and didnt seem to care. I dont want to be so negative but this is one of the worst places I have ever stayed at.

We had enough and checked out and stayed at the Mariott around the corner and felt like we were in bliss. Pay the extra $100 per night and stay at a true Mariott it is well worth it!!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda H, Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
I am so sorry that you had such a bad experience at our hotel. Unfortunately part of our hotel is across the street from nightclubs, which does cause a sound issue during the weekend. While we could not move your room due to being sold out, we do have complimentary earplugs and a white noise machine available to our guests on nights when noise from surrounding buildings is an issue. Since your stay with us we have bought a machine that tracks the level of the noise to ensure that the surrounding clubs are within the noise ordinance for the City of New Orleans. I apologize if the layout of the room was unsatisfactory to you. The stains on your sheets are a huge issue. We are working in the laundry to ensure all linen that goes up is stain-free and we are including linen checks on our inspections of the rooms. I am so sorry that you had this issue. Our housekeepers are available to service the rooms from 9am-5:30pm during the weekend, and therefore if you are at the end of the list of rooms they clean for the day, your room will be cleaned during the later hours. We always honor requests for earlier service when they are made. Unfortunately, the water outage was a problem with a main in the city's water supply, and we were not informed that the water would be down. I understand that this greatly hindered your experience at our hotel, but I assure you that all of the plumbing is properly functioning in the hotel itself. All in all I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel, and I ensure you that we have addressed all of the issues you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center

Property: SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 301 St. Joseph Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3617 (Formerly SpringHill Suites New Orleans Convention Center)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#86 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing