We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like loud bass thumping music stay here...cause it will play til 5am across the street.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #111 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel was alright. Not pleased about the bar (Red eye grill on Saint Peters street) across the street playing excessively loud music from 11pm-5am. The employees of the hotel didn't mention that when checking in that I'd get the privilege to experience that noise. So...thanks for the sleepless nights. I think the rate is overpriced but didn't have much of an option, as this was recommended for the wedding party/family for a discounted room rate. If I ever do come back to New Orleans, I will chose another place to stay solely based on the fact that I didn't get any decent sleep. Stayed on a Friday and Saturday night, left about 3:30am since there's no point in staying around to hear any more of the noise. *highly perturbed!
The employees are nice, may have forgotten to mention that.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank letstravelthisworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Emmanuel F, Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear guest,
We appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with us. We apologize for any inconvenience your experienced. We are currently working with the city in regard to the noise ordiance. Again, we do apologize and we appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

SpringHill Suites is conveniently located within 2 blocks of the convention center and in the up and coming warehouse district. The building was once a warehouse and parts of the old brick structure can be seen throughout the building. Many of the surrounding warehouses have been converted into condos, restaurants, jazz clubs and shops. The World War II Museum, Confederate Museum and Children's Museum are all within easy walking distance from the hotel. The staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. A young lady at the front desk rushed out and hailed a cab for us when she saw a cab sail past us. We made arrangements for a city tour at the front desk and the next day several staff members asked us how we liked to tour. There was a large selection for breakfast including waffles, hot and cold cereals, eggs and meat, fresh fruit as well as breads and pastries. If someone wanted something more extravagant, there're several coffee shops nearby. The hotel was clean, had friendly and helpful staff, was conveniently located and inexpensive compared to other hotels in the area. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank erza2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

I really can't begin to tell you how much it means to us when we get feedback so positive. We work very hard to deliver on the Marriott Service promise and it sounds like we met our goal on your most recent stay. We're excited that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hotel/staff/breakfast was good. Parking is extra. There is a nice courtyard to relax and cookout if you wanted. Four blocks from Canal St. On Canal Street, use the Street Cars (you will need cash, 3.00 exactly, this allows you get on and off all day long). Places to visit if your with family-Jackson Square, Cafe du Monde, Zoo, and the cemeteries. Stay away from Bourbon Street. Haha

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Sounds like you found one of the best ways to get around the city. I too feel that the $3.00 for the day use of the street cars and bus system is the best value in town. It allows you to see as much of the city as possible. Our team would be more than happy to give a list of things that you can do in and around the city that can be easily accessed from the public transportation routes. I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you stay with us the next time you travel to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hotel is clean and very convenient to downtown NOLA and walking distance to everything in the Quarter. Staff is friendly but not exactly the best at customer service. Breakfast in lobby is free but you get what you pay for (I would suggest venturing out to one of the many restaurants in the immediate vicinity, like Mother's across the street). There is basically NO PARKING, even though the reservation system says overnight parking is $30 per day, I was told by staff that there was no parking available for my entire 8 day stay and was forced to park in the private lot across the street with prices that ranged from $35-$50 per day depending on the day

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittanee B, Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

I am very sorry that we were unable to accommodate your vehicle for your visit to New Orleans. Our website does advertise limited parking available. Unfortunately during times when there is a lot of drive in, we do run out of spots in our garage. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We always value learning about opportunities to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Overall this was a nice newer hotel with very friendly staff , HOWEVER, in spite a couple of phone calls to confirm that the sofa bed would be made and adequate for my 5'6" mother to sleep in, it was neither made up when she arrived, nor adequate for a 100 lb person to sleep in. I was worried about this and had made very specific inquiries about it. I was told that it was a foam mattress, but it was not. I was told twice the day of arrival that the bed would be made but it was not. When we arrived late that night, there were no more comforters for my mother and she literally slept on the sofa itself, rather than the extremely uncomfortable and springy sofa "bed" using sheets from the hotel and her own travel blanket. The sheet on one of the other beds was also stained ... it was clearly washed and "clean" , but still stained.

We paid for a second room at the nearby Residence Inn for mom on the 2nd and 3rd nights of our trip to solve the problem.

The breakfast was good.... they neglected to warn us after the weekend that it closed earlier at 9 so that last day (Monday) we missed it.

The sofa beds are useless beds... don't count on using them for anything other than an infant possibly. When open they also completely blocked the entry door.

This is a convenient location to some good bars & clubs (The Howling Wolf), as well as restaurants in the Warehouse District. It is close to convention center, but I would NOT say it is close to the French Quarter. It is a pretty long walk of at least 20 minutes to the Quarter.... definitely a $10 cab ride for most people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MenOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney D, Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of our short comings. It is our goal to exceed the guest expectations but obviously we did not meet that expectation. You are correct that the sofa beds due to their size makes it a little difficult to get around the room when they are made so this is why we would never make the beds prior to your arrival. They create a trip hazard for the guest that is entering the unfamiliar room. Our staff should have shared this with you during your call. I am however surprised that your mother did not find the sofa bed comfortable as I have slept on them and I am 5'11 and 238 lbs. I do know that comfort is a relative term so I am really sorry that you had to find other alternatives for your mother. I will share your comments with my team so that we can work better on our communication and our inspection of linen during the laundry process. Again, thanks for sharing and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Good location - 8 blocks from Canal St. Rooms are smaller than usual. Our room was not well maintained. The shower was broken and the toilet ran incessantly. Expensive parking at $25 per night. Good location for restaurants and ideal for the fabulous WWII Museum.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda H, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have had. It is our goal to ensure that all of our guest have a great experience. We will investigate all issues and make sure that they are taking care of immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have been to New Orleans many times but this was the first time we have stayed in this area. The hotel was very clean and quiet and comfortable even though it was totally booked for Jazz Fest. The location is very convenient to the Convention Center, Harrah's Casino, Canal Street and to the trolley system that travels all the way to the end of the French Market, which also puts you near the French Quarter. The all day trolley ticket ($3.00) connects to the Canal Street Trolley out to Tulane University and the Garden District. In the coming months the whole Riverwalk area will be re-opening with new shops and restaurants right around the corner from the hotel. There are many new brew pubs and restaurants already in the area. You will find the staff to be very friendly and willing to help you find whatever you are looking for. There is a very nice outdoor pool and an enclosed whirlpool. There is an additional charge for parking but you really don't need a car. Take the downtown shuttle from the airport if you fly in. This is a place we would definitely return to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda H, Manager at SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to share you experience with us. I will pass all of your comments to the staff. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District – Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Arts District – Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District – Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District – Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District – Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#85 of 167 in New Orleans
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 301 St. Joseph Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3617 (Formerly SpringHill Suites New Orleans Convention Center)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#86 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £96 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center, we make travel simple in The Big Easy. From our hotel, you'll be within walking distance of the area's premier attractions including the National WWII Museum, Harrah's New Orleans and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Business travelers can also easily attend conferences, trade shows and other events at New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. Our stylish suites make a perfect retreat after a busy day. Enjoy spreading out in our living rooms, resting on plush beds and connecting to our complimentary Wi-Fi. Every morning, begin your day with hot favorites or lighter choices at our free breakfast buffet. Excellent for meetings and celebrations, our event rooms provide style and flexibility to turn your gathering into a success. Let SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center be part of your travel journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing