We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quaint, quiet but close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #35 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“quaint, quiet but close to everything”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Very nice old place, nothing fancy but all the essentials. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful with tours and such .NIce walk to French Quarter, Bourbon St and Riverwalk shopping. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    449
    128
    41
    15
See reviews for
179
557
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This lovely small hotel combines atmosphere of bed and breakfast with services of a hotel. Located in the quiet section of the French Quarter, I was within easy walking distance of delicious bakeries, great restaurants, art galleries and shopping. The rooms were decently priced and well furnished. My bathroom could have used an update, but it wasn't a big deal. I stayed four nights in a one bedroom suite and thought it was well worth it. A great way to stay comfortably in the French Quarter and avoid big hotel crowds and prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasualTraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our second trip to Le Richelieu. For this trip we booked a suite. There was no balcony and the air conditioning in the sitting room did not work. The bathrooms are really showing their age as is the hotel in general. The lobby and bar areas are very nice however. Each morning that we ordered room service, it was a guess as whether it would be as ordered. One out of three was correct. We very much like the location and the protected parking; but we won't be returning. There is also the POSSIBILITY that this was where our M/C number was swiped. The card was used the evening we checked in and we had not used it any other place that day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Richelieu is a small hotel a couple of blocks off Bourbon Street. It is quiet but still centrally located, and perfect for those who really enjoy walking everywhere. The rooms are not fancy, but are clean, have everything you need, including free internet. My one complaint was that the water temperature when one took a shower was kind of funky, would go from hot to cold and hard to regulate. Housekeeping did a great job, got in and out and was very pleasant. There is a little bar/cafe in the back and a pool with outdoor seating surrounding it, great for sipping the free coffee in the AM. The front desk staff are very helpful and full of suggestions about places to visit. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel1733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Charles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We would go back to this hotel. The location in the French Quarter was perfect...we walked to everything. There was a $20 fee per day to keep your car in their gated lot...which was definitely worth it....parking is really hard to find around there. While the hotel is historic, our room was very nice and had a lot of character. Our room was very quiet. (4th floor) We had a view of the courtyard and the New Orleans skyline.The staff was great, and there was a really nice little courtyard with a pool...very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerStCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I don't want to totally trash the whole hotel but from what i seen over there, it did not get my nod of approval. This has one thing going for it and that it is close to Decatur St. and that is all.
Very old place and i know that because this is New Orleans but they need some today upgrades & fixing. I don't want to go on and on about it but for what they are charging, i could have did better staying uptown or in the CBD.
I don't know if some of these reviews are from the owners or the employees but this hotel is not like what these reviews are saying.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omegaman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I was really looking forward to staying in a historic property in the French Quarter. Unfortunately, during my stay New Orleans was cold and Le Richelieu was not prepared, so the room was either freezing or overheated. But the worst part was housekeeping: our first morning they knocked at 9 am, we told them we would be out in a few minutes but when we came back *after noon* the room was still not made. Had to ask. And the next morning --when I was exhausted due to the room temp situation -- housekeeping woke us up at 9 am again! We were told the early knock was to take towels? So my lesson: ALWAYS put a DND sign on the door regardless of when you think you will wake up. The front desk staff was charming, the lounge-bar a little sad, and the hotel has a very nice location in the quiet part of the quarter, but we left a day early. For the price, you can do much better in the Quarter.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karendor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#37 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing