We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more do you need?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #36 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

As I am writting this review, we are still staying at Le Richelieu. We came down to spend 10 days in this fabulous city. It is also our first time for Mardi Gras and the location, service etc were excellent for the price. We appreciated not being on the party streets, so this location is perfect, short walk to the parades, Bourbon street etc. Room is very clean, large walk in closet with a refrigerator, and friendly staff. That is all I need!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sexybikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in January before embarking on a Caribbean cruise out of New Orleans.
The location is perfect for those people who like to be close to the action. Just a few minutes from Bourbon Street, Frenchman Street, & Decatur.

The French market is less than a 10 minute walk. The rooms are smaller but very well appointed and comfortable. Although we were on a side street, there was very little street noise.
Small quaint bar room with excellent staff. Staff at the front desk were friendly and very helpful

Would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony if you don't mind a little street noise. Chartres St is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We visited New Orleans in the days preceding the NBA all star weekend. Because of this we initially had difficulty in obtaining accommodation in the French Quarter. Le Richelieu was not our first choice but in hindsight we were glad that we stayed there.
The hotel is well positioned in the French Quarter just a short walk from many of the attractions. The staff are friendly and helpful and the accommodations quite comfortable.
We had a room with two double beds on the 4th floor. The fittings are not new but the rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable with a real atmosphere. Our window opened to a view over rooftops and true streets were generally quiet at night (apart from the occasional procession!).
The Hotel is good value and I would recommend it for people looking for something outside of the run of the mill larger chains.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Snorlaxxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The front desk staff were helpful and informative but not intrusive. The hotel was clean, and the location was just perfect. Close to lower Decatur where the Quarter is relatively calm. I couldn't bear staying on bourbon street. I really like that the hotel is independent and family owned. That makes a big difference in a city that has been taken over by chains and in desperate need of small business ownership. The hotel is really lovely and feel very New Orleans. Be aware that if you have a room on the terrace, it is not a private terrace so you may have people walking up and down in front of your room. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jane_birkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

To start, I liked the hotel and would recommend it to my friends staying in New Orleans. Having said that it is an older building and some things could be updated without harming the charm of the place.

It is nicely located in the French Quarter, away from the noise and clatter of revelers, yet it is not so far that you feel out of touch or separate from activities in the quarter.

Decatur St is one street away and the Cafe Du Monde (Beignet [pronounced ben yay] central) is only a 5 minute walk. Jackson square is close by as well and the area is filled with great architecture and kooky shopping boutiques as well.

The service was good, straight forward yet polite. It would have been nice to have coffee earlier in the morning in the lobby (it starts at 6:30) as travellers often need to be up and out to make connections to cruises and airports.

We had breakfast which was served off of the pool area with nice selections of items and the prices were not crazy. Our neighbor was having chips and dip with a beer, while we opted for the more traditional fare of eggs, toast, sausage et cetera. Items arrived hot and tasty, so no complaints, nothing exceptional either.

Some things in the hotel did not make sense if they are going for a classic period charm with large mirrored walls replacing wallpaper and paint. The room was nicely finished with a fan and plenty of lights available. The floor was quaint, with one having to walk down from the window and up to the bathroom. The later was clean and tidy, however the water pressure was less than optimal and the toilet took its time to take care of business.

I would stay on a return visit, then again I might try elsewhere as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yaletowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a great time. Our only complaints were the shower and the heater ( it was unseasonably cold ). Within walking distance to everything in the Quarter and Frenchman' s street (Snug Harbor). The staff was fabulous, couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was good by the few locals and the. Owner, bartender (Renny, a 40+ year employee) was fabulous. We had a great time. Recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank iliketotravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

It's just a block from Frenchmen and close to everything in the French quarter. What more can you ask for in a hotel in New Orleans. The rooms could be a bit larger and more updated, but that's what gives it the character of a French quarter boutique hotel. Customer service was outstanding.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
2,667 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 167 in New Orleans
2,021 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#33 of 167 in New Orleans
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,356 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#110 of 167 in New Orleans
897 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#43 of 167 in New Orleans
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £101 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing