We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a renovation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #39 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs a renovation!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here in June with my husband. We booked a king room. We arrived early for check in and I told the front desk agent that I understood if our room wasn't ready yet. She was not at all friendly and then on checking us in, did NOT ask for ID which she should have, and then said she would give us an 'upgrade to a suite' as she did't have a king room ready. I was so grateful and my husband and I went to the room. What a great disappointment! The building was once an apartment building and they haven't quiet made the transformation over to a hotel. Our 'suite' was awful. It was very dull and dreary. It hasn't come out of the '90's. There were water marks and repaired marks on the wall with paint cracking. It looks like years since the rooms have had a paint job. Flowery bed spreads really added to the outdated look. Difficult to find an electric outlet in which to plug a phone charger or hair drier. We chose this hotel because it was historic, but historic does not equate to old, dull, outdated. Although the tv's are flat screens, they are sitting in big old armoires which also adds to the 90's look. We did ask to be moved to another room and another front desks gent was very nice and moved us. This was a king room and although it didn't have the cracked paint, it wasn't a very attractive, welcoming room. The AC unit was very noisy and I found it difficult to sleep. Our restaurant servers on the other hand (breakfast) were wonderful, warm and friendly. They were extremely accommodating and the food was very good.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first before they check you in. Ask for a street or swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    447
    128
    41
    15
See reviews for
176
552
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Love the area! The area feels safe, not incredibly busy, and it's quiet....so sleep is not only possible but great. The hotel staff is friendly, and the rooms are nice. You must remember this is a historic building so if you are looking for the latest -greatest, modern amenities and style, then you are in the wrong part of town. There are lots of shops and dining places that are affordable and really close to the french market. The pool is small, but large enough to swim a few laps and I really like that it is a salt water pool. Just booked another trip to New Orleans and this will be my third stay at the Le Richelieu.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We come to Le Richelieu every year and really like it ... quiet New Orleans ambiance, friendly staff, wonderful pace of the south, historic feeling in the building and courtyard pool.

The price range is the same as or less than chain hotels in the area, so why visit such a great city and stay in one of those others that have so little soul? Le Richelieu also feels like a European hotel; you get a large metal key which you return as you leave each day --it goes in your room's wooden cubbyhole behind the desk, where of course they would have any correspondence which arrived for you that day by post or telegraph : )

The location is perfect for us -- a couple of blocks from the noisier part of the quarter, so you have the charm, but also peaceful nights for sleeping. We also love the on-site parking lot -- no waiting for someone to get your car when you're ready to go explore a little farther away.

Room Tip: 2nd floor balcony rooms on the street side are great for sitting outside, meeting your neighbors, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cad185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The building is very old, so yes it has a "smell"- but not a bad one. I made sure to request a coffee pot and balcony when making the reservation- and we got them. I loved that each room is unique, we had real coffee cups to use, etc. the housekeepers and staff were all extremely friendly. Location is great, walking distance all over french quarter. Coffee shop and cafe 1/2 block away.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASWMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were booked at Richelieu for Sun. & Mon. 5/25 &5/26/14. (our first visit to this hotel, 8th visit to NO) We arrived a day early & were hoping for a cancellation. No such luck. However, Becky, at the front desk knew our chances for a room elsewhere were just as bad. She then took about 15 min. attempting to reach her manager re: a room that was available but had no hot H2O that night. We took the room at a significantly discounted rate & because we did, she also discounted our next two nights. Our stay was fabulous, the hotel is clean, friendly, convenient, & great value. We will definitely stay again our next time in NO! Jim & Mary T.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My girlfriends and I stayed here in March (2014) and couldn't have asked for a better location. You are right in the center of the French Quarter and within walking distance of Bourbon Street and Jackson Square. The hotel itself was very clean and unique, but it a bit dated (my friends didn't seem to mind though). There was no noise and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A very enjoyable stay. The hotel was very clean and nicely appointed. Wonderful location. The bed was very comfortable. Staff was good, especially Molly, who was very helpful and pleasant upon our arrival rather late in the evening. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing