We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Our family had never been to NOLA and were already on the road traveling so I was searching like crazy to find a B&B. After reading many reviews, calling a few places, we decided on Terrell House. You never know if the photos and descriptions are accurate until you get there. We arrived after a very long day tired and hungry. Linda and her wonderful staff made us feel so welcome and directed us to a local eatery (which was Joey K's & wonderful). The house is beautiful, comfortable, and squeaky clean. Our whole family, including my teenage daughter, wanted to stay for days. We stayed in the Gold room which has a separate sitting room with a twin bed which is perfect for an additional person. The bed was comfortable, temperature perfectly cool, water and coffee items in the room, and the staff around if you needed something. I would stay here again if returning to NOLA. It is located down the road from the Magazine St shops, not walking distance, but easy drive. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieDsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    26
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
140
197
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mathews, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Terrell House (red room) for the weekend celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Linda and staff were very gracious...especially appreciated since we arrived 3 hours earlier than planned. The parlors are gorgeous! 14 ft. high ceilings, antiques, draperies... floor length windows overlooking the street and courtyard. Breakfast was a delicious variety with egg casseroles, grits, french toast, fresh cut fruits, apple and orange juices, and coffee. We met other guests for breakfast and had great laughter filled conversations before going about town for the day. Our room was was very clean, fresh towels daily, soft comfortable bedding, and all the modern comforts (iron and board, blowdryer, hangers, shampoo, bath soap, drinks including bottled water, coke, diet coke, tea and the most important while in New Orleans--community coffee both caff and decaf.lol Friday night, we picked up our meal and ate in the courtyard which was quiet and peaceful after our long day of work. We spent the whole day Saturday on Magazine St. walking, shopping, eating. The bus stops one block from the house so we cheated a few times and rode back and forth. Plenty of charming shops along the street, delicious bbq at Saucy's BBQ and sushi at The Sake Cafe. New Orleans is our favorite place to "just get away". I am so happy to have found the Terrell House. We loved the character of the area and are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Beautiful place to stay in New Orleans, everything you need right there. Our room was so neat with an amazing shower. Really romantic and clean and historical. We bought a house in New Orleans in the same neighborhood, because it has so much to offer. If we need to recommend a place for people to stay in NOLA this is where we recommend.
Clean, beautiful and friendly. Stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed at the Terrell house during Mardi Gras for four days and were very impressed. One of the few Bed and Breakfasts at the beginning of the Garden District, this 1860's historical home can boast of a charming courtyard with fountain and occasional feline companion, a home made-breakfast every morning, elegantly restored interiors, and a welcoming and knowledgable staff. It is a short walk to St. Charles Avenue and the parades, or to the heart of the garden district and the stores along magazine street. Much less agitated than the Quarter, we found this the perfect place from which to explore the city.
The rooms in the annex (we had the blue) are comfortable, albeit not too large, but all face the verdant brick courtyard and are quiet and shady-
Highly recommended for its charm.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanyNeedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island BC Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed at this beautiful B&B in our very own home as we went to New Orleans with another couple and lucky for us there was a cancellation at Miss Linda's home and she fit us in for 10 full days. This is a very elegant place both the small house we were in and the big beautiful home. All decorated in antiques and striking features. Miss Linda was very kind to us and her main helper Anika went out of her way to make us traditional Southern cooked breakfasts daily. I tried food I had never had before and loved everything she served us especially her sweets she served with breakfast oh my god they were tasty. The location is perfect right on the main road for the #11 bus to take you to the French Quarter in no time and very easy to get anywhere. The place was spotless with the cleaning staff in everyday to give us clean towels and new water, coke, coffee whatever we needed. I highly recommend this B&B as I own one myself and this is how it is done!!!! Thank you so much Miss Linda, special thank you to Anika for all her hard work and delicious food, thank you to the cleaning staff who even went out of their way and did my laundry when I said I would do it. We loved New Orleans because of this special Southern Hospitality we will be back!

Room Tip: If your travelling with more than 2 people get the carriage house its great! Its like your own home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totwanows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I live just outside of New Orleans, and stay at Terrell House whenever I have a free weekend in the city. The Terrell House is exquisite in decor and Linda is a gracious host. The setting is elegant, yet not stuffy. There are balconies and a lovely courtyard for relaxing and visiting. The breakfast in the morning is gourmet southern cooking at its finest. You can either sit inside and meet other guests at a large communal table (including fine china and silver) or eat at a private table in the courtyard complete with fountain, flowers, and palm and magnolia trees. Breakfast includes fresh juice, true New Orleans coffee, delicious hot entrees, fruit, and homemade biscuits, scones, or pastries. Terrell House is a very short drive to the downtown area (with free street parking just outside the door), and is also near the streetcar line to the downtown and French Quarter areas. The rooms are lovely. I always choose this setting over a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank novicetraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I just completed my third stay at Terrell House and I so love this place. I have stayed at other bed and breakfasts but the atmosphere was never like this. Ms. Linda is a very talented interior designer and it shows everywhere.

The breakfast is outstanding and Ms. Linda and Ms. Anika turn out absolutely amazing food. The creme brulee French toast with cinnamon cream is to die for. There is most always an egg dish, some lovely grits casserole, croissants with almond creme, fresh fruit, in house made biscuits, quick breads, marmalade, etc. It's all wonderful and everyone at the table will attest to how much they love to stay there and almost all are return guests.

The courtyard is so charming, the flowers are so beautiful--Confederate Jasmine in full bloom and absolutely intoxicating.

The rooms are very nicely decorated and are different in color and design. The beds are so comfortable and I melt into the mattress after a long day and evening at some wonderful restaurant further down Magazine Street.

The main house is beautiful and the breakfast is served in a beautiful dining room with a twin parlor and matching crystal chandaliers. The table is set with linen placemats, napkins and family silver. The orchid centerpiece is lovely and there are living plants in most every room. I always feel like I have come home at last.

The ladies who keep the house do an immaculate job and are always willing to do anything for you.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is absolutely the prettiest and most comfortable room and I loved staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,015 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,917 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1441 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House b&b
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing