We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great first stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed here on a friend's recommendation and I was not disappointed! Shannon was delightful, and made staying an extra day easy to decide. Rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. Great breakfasts too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJB196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for the kind review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with the Terrell House. It is our goal to ensure that every guest experience is the absolute best that it can be, and I do hope that is what you found in the Terrell House. I hope you enjoyed your time in New Orleans, and we hope to have the opportunity to open our bed and breakfast to you and your friends/family at the Terrell House again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    26
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
143
199
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights here. The house was beautiful. We had booked a courtyard room but they had plumbing issues and upgraded us to one of the suites in the main house. The room was perfect and the bed slept amazing. The breakfast was good. We have stayed at numerous B&B's and we felt this one was missing the personal touch. We were shown around briefly and instructed on what to do and what not to do. We didnt interact with the owner. We were not told anything about the house or its history. We were also not served breakfast. They just sat it out and told us what it was. We interacted with a few other guests at breakfast but other than that it was very impersonal. I would list this as more of an Inn than a traditional B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hdtoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I do apologize for the lack of personal attention during your 2 day visit. I had just been told a couple of hours prior to your arrival that my plumbing issue had mushroomed into a plumbing nightmare. As I was greeting you at the front door, a carpenter and plumber had arrived at my back door to remove 2 tubs, toilets, and sinks as well as the tile flooring in the bathrooms. This meant no one could stay in any of the 4 rooms in the carriage house because there was no bathroom or the noise from the demoltiion of the bathrooms would not be conducive to guests staying in the rooms. There were other guests in addition to yourselves that I had to find lodging for as I did not have enough vacant rooms at theTerrell House. I was relieved that you were pleased with your room switch. I was very proccoupied with the plumbing issue and how to get it resolved as quickly as possible and am very sorry I was not able to spend more time with you when you arrived.
We normally do not serve breakfast to guests individually. Our full, hot breakfast is set out buffet style so that guests may pick and choose what they would like as well as have a more flexable time frame for eating breakfast. We continue bringing out hot food until all the guests have been served. I do usually encounter guests throughout the day and evening and am not sure how I missed seeing you except that I was very involved with the plumbing problems.
Some guests are more interested in learning about the house than others. Those guests usually ask to be told about the history of the house. There is also a booklet in each room that tells the history of the house. I love the Terrell House and love talking about it and hate I did not have the opportunity to talk with you about it.
We pride ourselves with providing a warm, comfortable, inviting atmosphere at the Terrell House and want our guests to feel that they are guests visiting our home. I'm extremely sorry that we did not provide that experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

If you are going to New Orleans, you have to stay here at least one night for the absolutely delicious breakfast! The house is spectacular, the owner is so nice, and the staff is very attentive. It is worth mentioning again...the breakfast is to die for! We had the spinach quiche with fresh fruit, and an apple turnover the first day, then, grits, fruit, and a creme brulee french toast the second day. I was in a food coma by the third day and I cannot remember what they served us, but everything was fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_EdgeR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Public Relations Manager at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast! It is definitely one of the things that we pride ourselves on. All in all, I hope that you enjoyed your stay in New Orleans and especially at Terrell House. Hope to see you again sometime, and thank you for the wonderful feedback! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, FL
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at the Terrell House for a quick weekend get-away. The Terrell House Bed & Breakfast MADE our trip. The house itself has the New Orleans elegance and character and is in a lovely part of town close to local transportation, but the service and cooking were really what made our experience extraordinary. The lovely ladies running the B&B were not only welcoming and friendly, but they went out of their way to be helpful. They explained how to get in and out of the city easily, and even made our dinner reservations when our original plan fell through! The breakfast was so delicious I wanted to stay another day just to enjoy the cooking one more time! I feel comfortable saying that if we had stayed anywhere else, our trip would not have been so wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Public Relations Manager at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
I'm very glad to hear that we made your trip worthwhile! We do hope that the rest of your stay in New Orleans was just as enjoyable. Thank you for the amazing feedback and positive review. Hope to see you again sometime! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and were very pleased. The accommodations are comfortable, the common areas lovely, and the breakfasts are plentiful and delicious.

Short drive to downtown, easy walk to trolly stop. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBHokie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Public Relations Manager at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for the great review. We always appreciate the feedback, especially on weddings. We love to host them and love to know when they receive the guests approval!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

While in New Orleans for the Jazz Fest, we stayed at Terrell House. This was our second time there and everything was wonderful. Its a beautiful home with quite an interesting history.
The staff is great, the breakfast is outstanding, and the location with Magazine Street and the Trolly in close by is very convienent. Looking ahead to 2014 Jazz Fest.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnl1658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Public Relations Manager at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
It was terrific to have you! We do hope Fest brings you around next year. We especially hope that you spread the news to your friends about your great stay at Terrell House. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just spent 3 wonderful days in New Orleans for my Son's wedding. We stayed at Terrell House which was also the location of their destination wedding. The inn is beautifully maintained and the staff was excellent. They made us feel as if it was our home for three days. The lower garden district location is ideal to access the many neighborhood shops and eateries on Magazine Street as well as being a quick cab ride away form downtown. We will definately be coming back here!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Public Relations Manager at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you so much for your terrific review! The wedding was fantastic and we're glad that you enjoyed it. Be sure to spread the word! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,100 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,984 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1441 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans
Terrell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing