We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have been coming to New Orleans for thirty years. Mostly three day weekends from our home in Mobile, Alabama. This B&B is the best place we have ever stayed. The free on street parking alone makes this place a value compared to &60 a night parking charges in the fancy hotels. The breakfast saves us another $50 and we always enjoy the conversations at the breakfast table with folks from all over the world. The service is impeccable without being intrusive and the house itself is eye popping and a perfect intro to New Orleans architecture. The food is superb and they always humor our vegan requirements. We love this place!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johndixonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Terrell House! I am pleased to hear that you took advantage of our free parking and our delicious breakfasts. Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    26
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
140
197
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My guy and I had an amazing time at the gorgeous Terrell House. Linda the owner was very sweet, and Shannon the chef made OUT OF THIS WORLD breakfasts every morning! The house is decorated so tastefully, and everything is spotless! The silver gleams, the wood glows and everywhere you look it's just gorgeous. I didn't want to leave!
I really thought about kidnapping Shannon and taking her home, lol...I could get used to eating like that all the time!
I am already planning a 'girls only getaway' and it will back to the Terrell House for me!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the grand king sized bedroom in the main house, the additional bedrooms on that floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BrendanLee501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I'm so glad that you all had such a great time staying with us. Thank you for your kind words about our breakfasts. Please do come and stay with us again for your girls only getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Terrell House four nights while in town for a wedding. The house was beyond beautiful and the quintessence of what a New Orleans home should be. You can tell the management has impeccable taste and we loved the traditional details of the house, but appreciated that it wasn't at all stuffy. Breakfast each morning was delicious and we found that all of the employees of the Terrell house were warm, accommodating, and full of excellent recommendations.

The Terrell House was also in an excellent neighborhood, the homes nearby were beautiful, and it was a nice walk to the cemetery. And just two blocks away was the streetcar, making it an easy trip to other neighborhoods (especially if you don't have a rental car as we didn't). Some relatives stayed at another hotel a few blocks away and everyone was so jealous we were staying at the Terrell House.

We stayed in one of the attic rooms, and it was cozy, but perfectly fine as long as you can manage the stairs. We were gone most of the day anyways. I did peak in some of the other rooms and they were spectacular, but for the price we were perfectly happy with our room.

We will be back to New Orleans next summer and intend to stay at the Terrell House again. I would HIGHLY recommend this beautiful bed and breakfast to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Averil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for the kind review that you left for the Terrell House. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to take advantage of our great location. We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

On our recent trip to New Orleans, we first reserved a French Quarter hotel for a couple of nights and then because our desired hotel was full, we decided to book a B&B in the Garden District for our last 3 nights. We were not prepared for how perfect the Terrell House B&B would be! Contrary to what we thought, the location was perfect - within walking distance to the shops and restaurants on Magazine Street and just a short cab ride to the French Quarter.

But what really blew us away was the beautiful surroundings, the friendliness of Terry and Shannon and the breakfasts. OMG, the breakfasts!! Every morning we thought "what we had yesterday can't be topped" but every morning Shannon produced something even more incredible. She also gave us several dining recommendations which turned out to be spot-on.

Our first room (the gold room) had an attached sitting room and was filled with beautiful antiques. On our third night we stayed in the Blue room which was in an adjacent building on the other side of the courtyard. It was lovely too but a bit more rustic. A lot of passion went into the décor because each piece looks like it was made especially for the house. Apparently, the owner, Linda, chose everything herself.

We will definitely stay at this wonderful B&B when we return to New Orleans!

- Barb and Don

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Terrell House! We very much enjoyed having you all stay with us, and are thrilled to hear that y'all had a nice experience. I am happy that you were able to enjoy the breakfasts, as they are one of our best assets! We look forward to seeing y'all back at the Terrell House the next time y'all are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Having never been to NOLA previously or much less stayed in a B&B, you'd think I might be inclined to exaggerate my rating. However, Terrell House AND its staff were no less than amazing! Granted, the manager that we dealt with was in transition to another career at the time, both she and the chef were nothing short of gracious, personable and downright hospitable. My wife and I (along with three other couples) chose this B&B for our stay during the 311 Day celebration in March. We may not have been their typical caliber of guests, but that didn't seem to bother them. They were able to accommodate our friend's gluten intolerance for each breakfast (which were very flexible in scheduling), and the food was outstanding. Our stay included several late nights out on the town, but access to the house and courtyard after hours was no issue whatsoever. They even worked with a local shuttle/limo service to arrange transportation to and from New Orleans Arena for all eight of us on the night of the concert. It was a truly remarkable experience. I would definitely stay here when we venture back to New Orleans.

Room Tip: All the rooms were spectacular, so my only piece of advice for your stay would be to eat outside in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Daniel - we were more than happy to host you and your group for 311 day here in New Orleans. It was our pleasure helping to coordinate your travel and we always accommodate any special dietary restrictions for breakfast. Don't be a stranger, and please come see us again the next time y'all are in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Terrell House was a wonderful pick for my fiancee and me this past weekend. We secretly eloped while we were in New Orleans, and TH was a great spot for us to have a romantic getaway. The location was perfect, the rooms were remarkably clean and comfy, the breakfasts delicious, and staff warm and welcoming. They were so elated when they found out that we had eloped, they made us feel like family. We will definitely be spending our 1 year anniversary there. Thank you, TH!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Jaclyn - I love y'all's romantic story, and am just thrilled that we got to be a part of it! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are absolutely ready to see y'all next year for your one year anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Terrell House for 5 nights and were treated like family in this magnificent home! Every detail is gorgeous and the breakfast was divine.
Thank you to the staff for making our time in NOLA so much fun!
Jessica and Dan

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Jessica and Dan -

So glad to hear that y'all felt at home with us! It is our foremost goal to provide the best customer service to our guests. Our home is your home and we look forward to hosting y'all again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,007 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,907 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1441 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House b&b
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing