We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in New Orleans
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prytania Park(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Henry Howard Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenue Plaza Resort(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
548
36
4
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
548
36
4
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housemagazine streetcreole houselower garden districtb bmiss lindacarriage houseyellow roomking suitebreakfast was deliciousfrench quarterwedding venuebeautiful antiquesdaughter's weddinglovely homesmall kitchenshort drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I have found our new place to stay when visiting New Orleans. The Terrell House is a gem of a spot on a quiet part of Magazine Street with easy parking on nearby side street. Owner Linda O'Brien is a terrific hostess with ready answers to most questions tourists ask.
The rooms, while not large by hotel standards, are handsomely appointed with attractive attached bathrooms. Breakfasts by Shannon, the gifted chef, are outstanding, served at a beautifully dressed table. Fresh flowers abound in the relaxing main quarters. Our room was over the courtyard next to the main house.
We were there for a wedding and I would definitely suggest this as a spot for a wedding or small gathering of 75 or so. Again, Shannon prepared a delicious buffet dinner. Linda and her staff did all the flowers, arranged for music and helped with getting city permission for a "second line" around the block.
We were there for three hectic days and the entire staff was gracious throughout. One rainy day most of us spent our time in the main living area, visiting and drinking coffee and tea and we were made to feel most welcome. Bravo, Linda, for a lovely time all around. You will sure see us again.
Souzen Deavers Steelhammer

Room Tip: We saw and loved the rooms in the main house; we stayed in the Blue Room and would stay there again.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SDS462014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Souzen,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this past weekend. It was certainly a beautiful wedding and we enjoyed having you all stay with us. I am glad that you all enjoyed spending time in our beautiful living room and that you enjoyed the breakfasts as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Thank you to Shannon and Linda for a great time. We spent two nights at Terrell House and were not disappointed in our choice. Amazing breakfasts and they were so helpful in finding restaurants and had tips for getting around etc. Enjoyed visiting with the other people staying as well. We stayed in the red room and were very happy with it. It was a couple block walk to the street car and from there it was a short distance to get to the FQ. Terrell House is located on Magazine Street and had we had more time I would have loved have visited some of the shops along there. Look forward to visiting again next year!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing the Terrell House! Shannon and I enjoyed having you all stay with us as well. So happy to hear that you had a pleasant and seamless time getting around the city from our convenient location. Please do come back and see us the next time you are in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were in New Orleans for 311 Day and wanted to stay a little bit away from Bourbon Street. (Wanted to have a great time during the day but have a quiet restful night.) We stayed at Terrell house with 3 other couples we knew and had a blast! The courtyard was the perfect place to gather in the early evening to relax before heading out to dinner and events. We enjoyed having breakfasts together as well. The breakfasts were amazing! Every morning something new and more delicious than the previous day!
It was really very special staying in a New Orleans mansion - definitely added to our NOLA experience. Would highly recommend Terrell House - we will definitely be staying here again for 311 Day 2016!

Room Tip: Blue Room was great
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our Bed and Breakfast! I am pleased to hear that you got to enjoy our charming courtyard and that you enjoyed the breakfasts during your stay. We are always happy to accommodate any special dietary requests for our guests. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at Terrell House in March 2014. The main house is amazing. I spent quite a bit of time exploring the common rooms on the bottom floor. We stayed in the yellow room which is adjacent to the courtyard. Though the room was lovely, there was significant noise from the upper floor and sometimes courtyard noise - so if you are a light sleeper book one of the upper floor rooms.

Shannon was very welcoming and helpful and we did enjoy her hot breakfasts each morning. We also enjoyed dining and sharing experiences with the other guests. We would not have gone to the WWII museum had it not been so highly recommended by two other guests.

The Terrell House is conveniently located in the garden district within walking distance of the streetcar. We did not have a car and were able to reach any destination in the city using public transportation. We simply bought a $3 day pass and we were off exploring this wonderful city. One night we did have to catch a taxi back from Frenchmen Street as it was simply too cold to wait for the streetcar. It was good to have this option.

Terrell House is large for a B & B. We felt the service was somewhat impersonal and the staff definitely had rules to follow - some which made us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome. For instance, when we were checking out we were told that staff were not "allowed" to call a taxi for us since we were transferring to another B & B. This seemed rather petty - and in the end the owner Linda did call us a taxi.

On our last day there Anika waited on us instead of Shannon. She made us feel uncomfortable. She was in the process of leaving employment with Terrell House so I am sure this had something to do with the way she behaved.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and I highly recommend Terrell House. It is more of a small boutique hotel with "staff" but it is absolutely beautiful and well located (though I personally like being on the other end of town closer to the music).

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms will be more quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank OregonDallice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to the Terrell House. It is always helpful to know what we are doing right and where there is room for improvement. New Orleans was bursting at the seams the weekend you were here with 30,000 visitors attending the orthopedic convention as well as the St. Patrick's Holiday crowd.

Magazine Street can get a bit rowdy over that weekend due to the parade on Magazine and visitors that may have slightly overindulged . I do apologize for the noise. You are correct in that the 2 upper level courtyard rooms are more quiet than the 2 ground level rooms. Occasionally guests in the courtyard do not realize how their voices can carry and possibly disturb guests that have retired to their rooms.

There is one concern that was mentioned in your review that I would like to try to clarify. Everyone here is more than willing to call a cab for guests at anytime no matter where the guests may be going. There is no house rule whatsoever that hinders us from calling cabs. The cab companies do have a rule that does not allow us to call and specify a time for a cab to arrive unless going to the airport or the train station. I think there may have been a misunderstanding in that whomever you asked to call a cab for you, thought you were requesting a cab for a specific time going to the other B & B and did not realize you needed a cab at that moment. Or you were asking to order a cab for a specific time to take you to the other B & B and the staff person did not explain that it is the cab companies that do not "allow" this, not the Terrell House. That weekend had been most difficult to get cabs due to the number of visitors in the city. I, as well as other Terrell House staff, had personally transported guests in our cars so they could get where they needed to be in a timely fashion.

As to other house rules….since you did not go into any specifics, I'm not sure what rules you might have been referring. We do show guests the entrances and exits they should use, which areas are the common areas, where guest refrigerators, ice machine, and microwaves are, when breakfast is served, etc. We try to do this in a hospitable, gracious manner. We were very, very busy that weekend but that is no excuse for not making you feel comfortable and welcomed.

I apologize for whatever Annikia said or did that made you uncomfortable. It was obviously very inappropriate.

My goal for the Terrell House, which is my home, is to try to provide all guests with a warm, inviting refuge while enjoying all the wonderful, unique things our historic city has to offer. I wish we had been able to do a better job of it during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I with my brother and sister-in-law booked the top-floor two bedroom apartment in the "Creole House" at the Terrell House B&B - we were so happy with it! It had a living room which was perfect for sitting and planning our days - so much better than having two separate hotel rooms. The apartment had a kitchen with coffee maker, very tall ceilings, two private decks, as well as access to the shared brick patio on the ground level (shared with the first floor apartment). It was beautifully decorated and perfectly clean - akin to a boutique hotel, not like most other B&Bs we've stayed in before. The location was very walkable to the shops and restaurants of Magazine Street, but also an easy streetcar/cab ride away from the French Quarter. The hospitality was superb - Shannon was very warm and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely recommend a stay at the Terrell House and would absolutely stay here again on my next visit!

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartment was perfect for us and another couple - but if you need the privacy of your own bathroom you're better off getting separate rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sw0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

I am so happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay at the Creole House. Thank you for your kind words about the setup of those rooms, as we do find that groups like yours enjoy the additional room and the kitchenette. We hope that you all will come and stay with us the next time you are in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews