We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrell House is Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
1 review
“Terrell House is Wonderful!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

As a native New Orleanian and eternally homesick expat, I was thrilled to find the Terrell House a few years ago. The interiors epitomize New Orleans' elegance and its spaciousness allows privacy, which is rare in a B and B setting. Linda and her staff are incredibly gracious and accommodating and the delicious breakfast is like a Brennan's feast at the beginning of each day.

Room Tip: Let Linda advise you on what is the best match for your stay. Her focus is always the guest's ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Terrell House! I am glad that you have enjoyed your stays with us and that you have made it a little "home away from home" while you are living outside of New Orleans. Looking forward to hosting you at the Terrell House many more times in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    30
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
150
209
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wonderful tranquillity in the most elegant of homes. The service and hospitality were of the highest order and the daily fresh cooked breakfasts simply delicious.

In terms of value for money it is simply incredible that you can get so much more here than in the numerous soulless hotels downtown, but still be just a short walk away from the French Quarter if you so choose to spend time there.

I will only ever return to Terrell house should I have opportunity to visit NOLA again.

Regards, Ben Hammant

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Ben,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Terrell House. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and our home made breakfasts. We hope to have the opportunity to host you the next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a wonderful time in NOLA. The Terrell House is gorgeous. The King Suite is grand. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Every morning the breakfast was to die for. We really enjoyed being close enough to the French Quarters but far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle of things. Our stay was exceptional! We are planning to return to see all that New Orleans has to offer. There is so much history and a three day visit was not nearly long enough.

Room Tip: I guess if you want to choose an appropriate room for your visit, the Terrell House has a good varie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review of the Terrell House. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy to hear that you are planning on coming back to New Orleans - we look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We found the Terrell House because our flight home was cancelled. One more day in New Orleans...what a bummer. We had stayed 4 nights in the French Quarter where my friend had a wedding block, but we desperately wanted off of Bourbon Street. Found this place on Yelp, called and they only had a 2 bedroom suite available, but were more than willing to help us out. Price was fantastic and so was the staff. Great hospitality, breakfast ready and waiting when we asked for it and a VERY comfortable space.

We'll stay there again next time we're in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank spsalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
I am so glad that you enjoyed our stay with us at the Terrell House, and thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. I am so glad that we were able to fit y'all in on short notice! Also glad that you all got to enjoy a different part of New Orleans. We hope to see you when you are back in New Orleans in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in New Orleans for a family wedding. We and other family/members of the bridal party stayed at Terrell House. I cannot say enough good things about this beautiful place! Linda was more than accomodating. Shannnon's breakfasts (and rehearsal dinner which was in the courtyard) were amazing! This will be our go to place in NOLA from now on. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeo1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of the Terrell House. I am delighted to hear that you and the rest of the bride's family and friends enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again when you are back in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We held our wedding at the Terrell House, stayed in the King Suite, and it was amazing. Most of our guests stayed there, too. Everybody enjoyed their stay. The house is gorgeous, breakfast was delicious, Linda is a gracious host, and the staff is marvelous. I wouldn't stay anywhere else while visiting New Orleans. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tibbtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Very happy to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with your wedding! It is our foremost goal to offer impeccable customer service and ensure that your event runs smoothly from start to finish. I hope that is what you experienced with the Terrell House. Congratulations on your wedding, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, MS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Linda, the owner, offers a well-appointed, comfortable, convenient B&B. The breakfasts are outstanding and service throughout our stay on several occasions has been impeccable. It is quiet there and very relaxing. This is our first choice accommodation in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Any room here is premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank packinglist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our Bed & Breakfast. We certainly enjoyed having you all stay with us, and hope that you return the next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 164 in New Orleans
248 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 164 in New Orleans
335 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 140 in New Orleans
934 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 140 in New Orleans
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1441 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans
Terrell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing