We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My sister and I are so lucky to have stayed at the Terrell House. Yes, it's beautiful. Decor, and comfort. Upon returning to our homes in Chicago and Houston, respectively, we continued to remark how Terrell really did feel like just that, home. Hospitality over the top. The jazz fest guests, of whom we were a part, were so interesting and fun to visit with--and I've never been into the B & B scene. Outstanding everything. Lisa and Faith.

Room Tip: Love the attic. Private, quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the Terrell House. I am happy to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us over Jazz Fest. It is our goal to make our guests feel at home and I am glad to hear that we achieved that with you all. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This was our forth stay at Terrell House. We consider it our home each spring for Jazz Fest. Great people, great breakfast, just a wonderful all around experience. I almost forgot the jasmine at the front gate.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnl1658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for being such a loyal customer to us. We love hosting you all each year for Jazz Fest, and look forward to many more opportunities to host you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

It was like stepping into the distant past. The home has been restored with care and great style. Shannon, the cook, refused to run away with me, but who can blame her. The breakfasts alone are worth the stay. The entire staff was gracious and accommodating. We had our dog with us and he gives it 5 barks too. Staying away from the French Quarter started as a disappointment but soon developed into the best accident ever. There are lovely restaurants (whose chefs would also not run away with me!) There is a great park for dogs just a block away which is a relief to a boy who wants to play with other dogs. We actually made a run into the Quarter and ran back. The sense of quiet and grace in the Garden District is wonderful.

Room Tip: There are two areas with rooms...The house and the back house. We stayed in the back house. I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank UtahSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of the Terrell House on TripAdvisor. So glad to hear that you had a great time exploring all that the neighborhood has to offer. Also happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfasts. I hope to be able to host you during your next stay in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Everyone else has told you about the location, which is perfect. Everything they're saying about the fabulous chefs and lovely staff is true, too. (I'm two days into withdrawal on their breakfast, now and I do miss it!) All you have to do is look at the pictures on the website to see what a spectacularly beautiful place this is. The thing that puts it over the top for me -- it just feels like the best home, ever. The folks running it are lovely, kind, helpful and low-key. We're on the foodie end of the spectrum, and their restaurant tips were spot on.

You might think a place that looks as grand as this one would feel fussy. You'd be wrong. This is our second stay at Terrell House and we consider ourselves lucky to have found it after multiple stays in the not-up-to-snuff fanciest hotels in the Quarter and downtown. We've definitely found our home away from home in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Terrell House. It is our goal to make every guest feel at home, and I am pleased to hear that we achieved that with you. We look forward to welcoming you into our home for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

What a phenomenal experience it was staying here. The accomodations were great, the staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and thoughtful and the breakfasts were absolutely out of this world. The area has some great restaurants and shops all within walking distance. Believe the reviews and do not hesitate to stay at this fantastic spot!

Thank Garageatrois
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Terrell House. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great experience with us, and that you were able to explore our wonderful neighborhood. We look forward to hosting you and your friends and family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great location in Garden District. Mile from French Quarter and better yet, short drives to outstanding restaurants on Magazine Street in the Garden District. Entire staff very friendly and attentive. Breakfast is a great experience - something we looked forward to every morning. Will stay here next year for Jazz Fest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Doug -

I am so glad that you enjoyed your experience at the Terrell House. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Terrell House hosted myself and 24 friends and family for the weekend of our wedding. Linda O'Brien, the inn keeper, went above and beyond before and during our stay. She ensured that all of my family members and friends got in okay, even at odd hours of the night after international flights. The property has so much charm and New Orleans appeal, with a tranquil courtyard filled with dappled shade and the sounds of birds and a fountain. We stayed in the Gold Suite which was ideal for our day of wedding preparations. The venue made for the perfect wedding day photos. Situated walking distance from shops, restaurants, and bars on Magazine St, I never had to worry about entertaining our guests. The most special memory will be having breakfast every morning with my entire family who traveled far and wide to be with us for our wedding. Terrell House offered us a much more intimate experience than a standard hotel, with us convening every morning in the dining room for coffee and breakfast that was freshly made every morning. The only reason why I rate this a 4 and not a 5 is because of the nightly rate, but it was during French Quarter Fest, so I don't know if rates go down during other times of the year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MurelleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
779 reviews
Tremé
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
515 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 141 in New Orleans
697 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#11 of 141 in New Orleans
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1441 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £89 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House b&b
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing