We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the best B&B in New Orleans?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We live in the New Orleans area and sometimes spend a weekend in town at a local hotel. Recently, we stayed at Terrell House after winning two nights at a charity raffle. I recommend the B&B highly. It has a special location, just outside the French Quarter and downtown, very near the World War II museum on Magazine Street. This street is nowadays a must see for visitors, with very cool shops, restaurants, cafes and more some of which are within walking distance of this B&B. The interior of the place is spectacular, old New Orleans style with towering high ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, antiques, crystal chandeliers and all the rest. The room we stayed was extremely spacious with a large antique four-poster bed and balcony. The bathroom was quite small; obviously a converted closet, but serviceable. Breakfast was a real treat served on elegant china and crystal with amazing home-made egg and breakfast casserole dishes that were over the top. You will get a much better taste of New Orleans staying here than a monster chain-hotel on Canal Street if you can book a reservation.

Room Tip: Inquire carefully about the rooms available. There are no "standard" rooms in this rambli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzfiend979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review of the Terrell House. I am happy to hear that a local took advantage of the bed and breakfast! We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Terrell House Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place to stay to enjoy a fabulous visit to New Orleans. It is the total opposite of a bustling hotel: quiet, elegant, and relaxing with amenities that include free wifi and a sumptuous full breakfast (with touches of creole cusine). Hosts Shannon and Linda go out of their way to make sure you have a grat visit, including accommodating all dietary needs. They served me fabulous egg white vegetable omelets. They also made fabulous recommendations for tour visits (e.g swamp airboat experience to see alligators and a variety of birds, WW II Museum and NOLA Art Museum Sculpture Garden). They also arranged airport transport. The location easily connects you to bus or street car transportation to all touring locations. I highly recommend Terrell House for families who want a quiet, relaxing, personal NOLA experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael48096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

I am so happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us at the Terrell House. We are always happy to accommodate any and all dietary needs for our breakfasts, and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the food. Also happy to hear that you liked our recommendations for sites to see in New Orleans. We look forward to hosting you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Such an amazing place! My friend decided to have her wedding reception there and due to the rain they accommodated everything and we had a beautiful wedding and stay at the Terrell house! The food was amazing for breakfast and we just loved it. My husband already stated we would be back in Nola and when we are we will make sure to reserve a room with them! The foo was incredible, the southern charm and hospitality evident! Thank you for such a terrific few days. Cheers, Fee & irish John

Room Tip: The main floor rooms are stunning and larger! Ask for a king bed and the grand rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank firoozeh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the Terrell House. I am glad to hear that y'all had such a nice experience with us. We strive to do everything we can to make all of our weddings perfect, even when the weather doesn't cooperate! We look forward to hosting you all at the Terrell House the next time you all are in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My sister and I are so lucky to have stayed at the Terrell House. Yes, it's beautiful. Decor, and comfort. Upon returning to our homes in Chicago and Houston, respectively, we continued to remark how Terrell really did feel like just that, home. Hospitality over the top. The jazz fest guests, of whom we were a part, were so interesting and fun to visit with--and I've never been into the B & B scene. Outstanding everything. Lisa and Faith.

Room Tip: Love the attic. Private, quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the Terrell House. I am happy to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us over Jazz Fest. It is our goal to make our guests feel at home and I am glad to hear that we achieved that with you all. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This was our forth stay at Terrell House. We consider it our home each spring for Jazz Fest. Great people, great breakfast, just a wonderful all around experience. I almost forgot the jasmine at the front gate.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnl1658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for being such a loyal customer to us. We love hosting you all each year for Jazz Fest, and look forward to many more opportunities to host you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

It was like stepping into the distant past. The home has been restored with care and great style. Shannon, the cook, refused to run away with me, but who can blame her. The breakfasts alone are worth the stay. The entire staff was gracious and accommodating. We had our dog with us and he gives it 5 barks too. Staying away from the French Quarter started as a disappointment but soon developed into the best accident ever. There are lovely restaurants (whose chefs would also not run away with me!) There is a great park for dogs just a block away which is a relief to a boy who wants to play with other dogs. We actually made a run into the Quarter and ran back. The sense of quiet and grace in the Garden District is wonderful.

Room Tip: There are two areas with rooms...The house and the back house. We stayed in the back house. I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank UtahSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of the Terrell House on TripAdvisor. So glad to hear that you had a great time exploring all that the neighborhood has to offer. Also happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfasts. I hope to be able to host you during your next stay in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Everyone else has told you about the location, which is perfect. Everything they're saying about the fabulous chefs and lovely staff is true, too. (I'm two days into withdrawal on their breakfast, now and I do miss it!) All you have to do is look at the pictures on the website to see what a spectacularly beautiful place this is. The thing that puts it over the top for me -- it just feels like the best home, ever. The folks running it are lovely, kind, helpful and low-key. We're on the foodie end of the spectrum, and their restaurant tips were spot on.

You might think a place that looks as grand as this one would feel fussy. You'd be wrong. This is our second stay at Terrell House and we consider ourselves lucky to have found it after multiple stays in the not-up-to-snuff fanciest hotels in the Quarter and downtown. We've definitely found our home away from home in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Terrell House. It is our goal to make every guest feel at home, and I am pleased to hear that we achieved that with you. We look forward to welcoming you into our home for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
401 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
770 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 142 in New Orleans
685 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1441 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £94 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans
Terrell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing