We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bridal prep”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Bridal prep”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked both of the second floor suites for my wedding weekend and we could not have been more impressed! Both rooms were absolutely gorgeous!! Both have their own balcony where we sat and had coffee in the mornings. Our favorite part was the delicious breakfast! Not to be missed. We will definitely stay again for our anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We loved hosting you all for your wedding. So happy to hear that you liked your rooms and that you were able to take advantage of the balconies that we have. Also happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast. We look forward to you returning for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    30
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
150
209
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

"Everything" at the Terrell House suited us perfectly: the staff, the decor, the large rooms, the courtyards and, of course, the delicious breakfasts. Not having to pay for parking was an additional plus.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1AnneDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I am happy to hear that you had a nice experience with us at the Terrell House. I hope that you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed in the Blue Room with my boyfriend for a long weekend in mid-June. Shannon, who manages the home, was more than great. She gave us awesome restaurant recommendations and was very accommodating with check-in and breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, each day was something new and delicious. The owner has impeccable taste, and has paid attention to every last detail with design and service. It was even better than in photos. The courtyard is very peaceful and charming, and the whole place is very quiet. Great for a relaxing weekend. Magazine street is cute, with a few shops and some trendy coffee spots. District was our favorite with delicious donuts and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Savannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Terrell House. I am delighted to hear that you and your boyfriend had a pleasant stay with us. Also glad to hear that you all had a chance to enjoy all that Magazine Street has to offer. I look forward to hosting you at our home again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinckney, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in one of the most amazing Bed and Breakfasts we've ever experienced when we stayed at the Terrell House during our recent trip to New Orleans. What an amazing experience! The pride and love in doing something you truly have a passion for is everywhere. Linda's taste in decor is incredible and Shannon's culinary wizardly with her morning cuisine is the thing legends are made of. The house is beautiful, elegant, spotless and the rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. If you are looking for a place to stay that is close to the sights and sounds of New Orleans but you'd rather not stay in the middle of it, especially if a good night sleep is appealing and a breakfast that rivals any restaurant is high on your list, consider the Terrell House. I promise you will not be disappointed. We are so looking forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage which was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
I am so glad to hear that you had a great experience at the Terrell House. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about us. It is our goal to ensure each guest has the best experience possible at out bed and breakfast. We hope to host you all again when you are back in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We live in the New Orleans area and sometimes spend a weekend in town at a local hotel. Recently, we stayed at Terrell House after winning two nights at a charity raffle. I recommend the B&B highly. It has a special location, just outside the French Quarter and downtown, very near the World War II museum on Magazine Street. This street is nowadays a must see for visitors, with very cool shops, restaurants, cafes and more some of which are within walking distance of this B&B. The interior of the place is spectacular, old New Orleans style with towering high ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, antiques, crystal chandeliers and all the rest. The room we stayed was extremely spacious with a large antique four-poster bed and balcony. The bathroom was quite small; obviously a converted closet, but serviceable. Breakfast was a real treat served on elegant china and crystal with amazing home-made egg and breakfast casserole dishes that were over the top. You will get a much better taste of New Orleans staying here than a monster chain-hotel on Canal Street if you can book a reservation.

Room Tip: Inquire carefully about the rooms available. There are no "standard" rooms in this rambli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzfiend979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Terrell House. I am happy to hear that a local took advantage of the bed and breakfast! We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahopac, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Terrell House Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place to stay to enjoy a fabulous visit to New Orleans. It is the total opposite of a bustling hotel: quiet, elegant, and relaxing with amenities that include free wifi and a sumptuous full breakfast (with touches of creole cusine). Hosts Shannon and Linda go out of their way to make sure you have a grat visit, including accommodating all dietary needs. They served me fabulous egg white vegetable omelets. They also made fabulous recommendations for tour visits (e.g swamp airboat experience to see alligators and a variety of birds, WW II Museum and NOLA Art Museum Sculpture Garden). They also arranged airport transport. The location easily connects you to bus or street car transportation to all touring locations. I highly recommend Terrell House for families who want a quiet, relaxing, personal NOLA experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael48096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
I am so happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us at the Terrell House. We are always happy to accommodate any and all dietary needs for our breakfasts, and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the food. Also happy to hear that you liked our recommendations for sites to see in New Orleans. We look forward to hosting you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Such an amazing place! My friend decided to have her wedding reception there and due to the rain they accommodated everything and we had a beautiful wedding and stay at the Terrell house! The food was amazing for breakfast and we just loved it. My husband already stated we would be back in Nola and when we are we will make sure to reserve a room with them! The foo was incredible, the southern charm and hospitality evident! Thank you for such a terrific few days. Cheers, Fee & irish John

Room Tip: The main floor rooms are stunning and larger! Ask for a king bed and the grand rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank firoozeh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the Terrell House. I am glad to hear that y'all had such a nice experience with us. We strive to do everything we can to make all of our weddings perfect, even when the weather doesn't cooperate! We look forward to hosting you all at the Terrell House the next time you all are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 164 in New Orleans
247 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 164 in New Orleans
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 140 in New Orleans
934 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 140 in New Orleans
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1441 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans
Terrell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing