We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in New Orleans”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My friend and I stayed there for a girls weekend for my 21st birthday and it was an absolutely amazing stay. It's so clean and the staff is incredibly sweet. It's on Magazine street in New Orleans and is not farther then a 10 minute walk to breakfast, lunch, dinner, pubs, and shopping. Plus, it's about a ten minute drive to the French quarter. Stay at Terrell House and you will not regret it. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArielleCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I am so glad to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your stay at the Terrell House for your 21st birthday. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review here on TripAdvisor. We hope to host you all again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our trip was a fun weekend in New Orleans to celebrate a birthday. So lucky to have found Terrell House on the website, it's so lovely and elegant. Chef Renee spoils you with her breakfasts. We were so touched to find a homemade birthday cake left in our room. It was scrumptious and extremely thoughtful. We hope to stay in touch with owner Linda O'Brien, and her associates Renee and Terri. They are a marvelous team and take great measures to insure your stay in New Orleans is the best it can be.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Really enjoyed being on the ground floor. Walked outside, grabbed a cup of coffee and enjoyed readin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CDean2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review of the Terrell House! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much enjoyed hosting you on your birthday. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great place. Will definitely be back. Service was excellent. Breakfast was delicious. Quiet. Close to everything that we wanted to do in New Orleans. We stayed in the creole house. It was very quiet and plenty of room

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tharvey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Terrell House. Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review on TripAdvisor. We hope to have you all stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is our third trip to Terrell House, and it has only gotten better with each visit. It's like a cozy, secret garden, which is especially great for couples. This is the place to experience the best of Southern hospitality, with wonderful New Orleans cuisine, architecture, and a beautiful courtyard. Terrell is home to the friendliest host Linda and the kindest chef Renee serving the best breakfasts in New Orleans. If you somehow have room for second breakfast, Surrey's across the street is a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for continuing to stay with us at the Terrell House, and for sharing your positive experience here on tripadvisor. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality and the breakfasts that we provide. We look forward to hosting you pagan in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The house is beautiful, comfortable, and clean as a whistle. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful. Everyone we came in contact with, at Terrell House, made sure we had what we needed when we needed it. This is a gracious bed and breakfast. Our flight was cancelled and we found Terrell House through the recommendation of a cousin. We were lucky there was a room available! After our very average experience at a New Orleans hotel, we were grateful to have a real New Orleans experience. We wish we had stayed at Terrell House our entire stay and will if we are fortunate enough to visit The Big Easy again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

David - we are so happy that you were able to find us and that we had a room available during your time in New Orleans! Happy to hear that you felt that you had a unique New Orleans experience - that is always a goal of ours. We look forward to having you again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband, 10 year old daughter and I had a most enjoyable 3 nights stay this month at this B&B. The enchanting room, the delicious meals and the location were perfect, even exceeding our expectations. On top of it, Shannon, the hostess in charge, was unbelievably warm, funny and helpful, from restaurant recommendations, visit idea to care packages for my young daughter.

I highly recommend this B&B to everyone.

Nathalie from Montreal, Québec.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nathalie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of the Terrell House. I am so happy to hear that Shannon was such a good host to you all. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you all again the next time you are in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My son and his love were recently married and spent their honeymoon in New Orleans. I wanted them to have a wonderfully special first night of their married life, and selected the stunning Terrell House Bed & Breakfast- but had several special requests: since they would be traveling from Oregon and coming virtually straight from their wedding, I was hoping for late check out the morning after they arrived AND I wanted to have a special dinner waiting for them upon their arrival. Well, this is a bed and BREAKFAST after all, but proprietor Linda O'Brien and Chef-extraordinaire Shannon Lynch pulled out all the stops to accommodate my requests. Chef Lynch (who has been a Chef for European Royalty and also once the private chef for Jimmy Buffet) prepared an exceptional several course dinner my kids RAVED about; they had the dining room to themselves and toasted this incredible meal with champagne and all the trimmings. This historic property is absolutely stunning- from the furnishings to spectacular grounds and my son and his bride felt like royalty while staying there. Terrell House Bed & Breakfast made their honeymoon so very very special!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank buzzzzsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I am so happy that your son and his new wife enjoyed their stay at the Terrell House. We are always happy and willing to accommodate special requests when we can. I hope that you and your son choose to stay at the Terrell House the next time y'all are in New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
401 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
770 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 142 in New Orleans
685 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1441 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £93 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans
Terrell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing