We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bed and Breakfast ever!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Bed and Breakfast ever!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have stayed here three times now and will never stay anywhere else in NOLA. It is the perfect place with the most amazing breakfast in town. Close walking distance to almost everything. It is in the garden district which makes it a nice quiet area to call home while in New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Julie,

I am so glad to have you all as repeat customers of the Terrell House. It is always our pleasure to host you at the B&B year after year. Thank you for writing such a nice review of us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to hosting you all for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    27
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
144
200
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My friend and I stayed there for a girls weekend for my 21st birthday and it was an absolutely amazing stay. It's so clean and the staff is incredibly sweet. It's on Magazine street in New Orleans and is not farther then a 10 minute walk to breakfast, lunch, dinner, pubs, and shopping. Plus, it's about a ten minute drive to the French quarter. Stay at Terrell House and you will not regret it. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArielleCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I am so glad to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your stay at the Terrell House for your 21st birthday. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review here on TripAdvisor. We hope to host you all again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our trip was a fun weekend in New Orleans to celebrate a birthday. So lucky to have found Terrell House on the website, it's so lovely and elegant. Chef Renee spoils you with her breakfasts. We were so touched to find a homemade birthday cake left in our room. It was scrumptious and extremely thoughtful. We hope to stay in touch with owner Linda O'Brien, and her associates Renee and Terri. They are a marvelous team and take great measures to insure your stay in New Orleans is the best it can be.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Really enjoyed being on the ground floor. Walked outside, grabbed a cup of coffee and enjoyed readin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDean2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Terrell House! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much enjoyed hosting you on your birthday. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great place. Will definitely be back. Service was excellent. Breakfast was delicious. Quiet. Close to everything that we wanted to do in New Orleans. We stayed in the creole house. It was very quiet and plenty of room

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tharvey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Terrell House. Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review on TripAdvisor. We hope to have you all stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is our third trip to Terrell House, and it has only gotten better with each visit. It's like a cozy, secret garden, which is especially great for couples. This is the place to experience the best of Southern hospitality, with wonderful New Orleans cuisine, architecture, and a beautiful courtyard. Terrell is home to the friendliest host Linda and the kindest chef Renee serving the best breakfasts in New Orleans. If you somehow have room for second breakfast, Surrey's across the street is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for continuing to stay with us at the Terrell House, and for sharing your positive experience here on tripadvisor. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality and the breakfasts that we provide. We look forward to hosting you pagan in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The house is beautiful, comfortable, and clean as a whistle. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful. Everyone we came in contact with, at Terrell House, made sure we had what we needed when we needed it. This is a gracious bed and breakfast. Our flight was cancelled and we found Terrell House through the recommendation of a cousin. We were lucky there was a room available! After our very average experience at a New Orleans hotel, we were grateful to have a real New Orleans experience. We wish we had stayed at Terrell House our entire stay and will if we are fortunate enough to visit The Big Easy again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
David - we are so happy that you were able to find us and that we had a room available during your time in New Orleans! Happy to hear that you felt that you had a unique New Orleans experience - that is always a goal of ours. We look forward to having you again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband, 10 year old daughter and I had a most enjoyable 3 nights stay this month at this B&B. The enchanting room, the delicious meals and the location were perfect, even exceeding our expectations. On top of it, Shannon, the hostess in charge, was unbelievably warm, funny and helpful, from restaurant recommendations, visit idea to care packages for my young daughter.

I highly recommend this B&B to everyone.

Nathalie from Montreal, Québec.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nathalie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of the Terrell House. I am so happy to hear that Shannon was such a good host to you all. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you all again the next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,103 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,991 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1441 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans
Terrell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing