We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rented Tandem”

American Bicycle Rental Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Look no further, you've found what you are looking for. American Bicycle Rental is a local, family owned business - we are not a national chain. Bike Rental is our business - we strive to give our customers the best possible bicycling experience that money can buy. We provide helmets, locks, baskets, lights for night riding and the best cycling map in the city for FREE! We offer the highest quality, most reliable bike rentals in New Orleans - check out our reviews across the web and see for yourself. There are cheaper rentals in town but as the old saying goes, you get what you pay for. We have the only secure indoor facility in the city for 24-hour self-returns. ALL of our bikes are made in the U.S.A. - not just a few. Do yourself a huge favor and rent one of our top-notch bikes, you'll be glad that you spent the extra couple of bucks for a quality ride and superior equipment!
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rented Tandem”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had a great ride out to Lake Pontchartrain and had excellent lunch at Laundry's. Would defiantly do again. Eddie from Portland, OR.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    29
    6
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good customer service”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our experience with American Bicycle Rental was very positive. They were thorough; explained everything we needed to know. The bikes were in prestine condition; like new. We were on our own, no tour and were interested in exploring City Park. The staff were very helpful with our route and suggested stops along the way. We were so satisfied that we even referred them to a young lady we met during our bike travels! PS Loved the option of the after hours dropoff.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank missshelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Supporting great local business”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This shop is not cheap, but it washes away all of the frustrations you find at other Bikeshops. For instance you can leave your bike overnight anytime literally anytime 24 hours a day or return it anytime with a code to the space. Bikes are beautiful and sturdy. It was a great experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gagneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great bikes, greater city to ride them in”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Ill be honest. My first thoughts when I saw the rental bikes were "oh no, a fixed gear" But I hail from a hilly place, so that thought vanished with a quickness. These bikes are rugged, well maintained, easy as pie to lock and unlock, and best of all, simple simple simple.

The staff was super friendly and kind and we were in and out in minutes (there was nobody else there, I'd expect on a busy day this would not be the case)

Awesome city to ride in. Be sure to hit the garden district, magazine street and of course the french quarter, but don't expect the various intoxicants of bourbon street to magically make the sea of people part in front of you from the bell on the bike, either.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank chrislatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
“Kiwi s In 'Nawlins'”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

These guys were great! Very impressed with the young lady who dealt with us (feel a bit ashamed I can't remember her name). She was relaxed and really helpful. We did our own thing so didn't have a tour guide. Was a bit dubious about riding a bike around the place. I'm old and probably not as fit as I should be, but the bikes have big comfortable seats and are remarkably easy to peddle. Just plain couldn't sit on one of those hard racing seats for 4hrs. Once you get the hang of being on the right hand side of the road she's all plain sailing. We covered a lot of ground! You can go where you want, see what you want, and spend as much time as you like doing it. It's a bit of exercise, it's fun, and it's relatively cheap. Have a bit of a look at a map before you get there, and have some sort of idea where you want to go. You can talk about your plans with the sales person, they are very good. I recon it's good value for money and I would recommend the experience to anyone. Don't forget your camera and have fun.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Bicycle Rental Company also viewed

 

Been to American Bicycle Rental Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing