We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, recently renovated hotel...close to meeting but further to attractions.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Ranked #66 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice, recently renovated hotel...close to meeting but further to attractions.”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I live in the area and stayed at this hotel when I hosted a meeting in the CBD of NOLA. Very nice hotel, awesome renovations and great restaurants/stores inside the hotel. A healthy walk to the FQ, bit there will soon be a streetcar line to Canal St, so that will be nice. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,387
    1,107
    579
    284
    131
See reviews for
447
603
75
1,812
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel in Dec 2011 for the Louisiana High school Football State Championship game. We had a great time at the newly renovated hotel. The rooms were exceptional. They were richly decorated and had the best mattresses. The restaurant had one of the best breakfast buffets I have ever had. It was rather expensive but well worth it. We had two adjoining rooms that were about $109 each per night. The place is VERY LARGE and is designed to handle LARGE crowds. I am not sure if would have liked it if I were on a business trip alone because of the sheer size but it was perfect with a group. Check out was hectic with a 1 hour wait for valet getting our car since everyone was checking out at the same time. If I go back I will be checking out early and I recommend the same to you. I have no complaints except for valet wait which I could have avoided.

Room Tip: Request a room near the main elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wileym1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ifrane, Morocco
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Maybe it was just from finally arriving at the hotel after a day of travel delays, but I laid down, said, "Wow this bed is comfy," and then awoke the next day. The room was quiet (small) and very comfortable.

The elevators are key-enabled, which seems to be the thing in New Orleans. It is a long, long way from the lobby to the elevators to the rooms. You also have to use two banks of escalators. This is not an easy-in and easy-out place.

I was there for a conference, and one bank of conference rooms is at a level that didn't seem to be served by either the escalators or elevators. I'm sure they had to be for ADA, but I couldn't find them (the stairs worked fine!). A number of people came in late because they also could not find the floor easily.

As far as location, it is convenient to the Super Dome, but not much else. I walked a good distance to find a decent breakfast place. It was a beautiful morning, so that was fine. In bad weather, I would have had to dine at one of the hotel spots (which don't seem to be rated very highly). If I were looking for a hotel close to the sights, I think you can get a decent place closer--but this is a comfy place for sleeping when you get back!

Room Tip: Be sure to have some comfortable shoes, because you will be walking a long way, even if it is just i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We went to a Playboy Bunny reunion...and had the priviledge of staying here for 3 days. A 3 million renovation was just completed...and it shows!!! Everything from elevators to plasma TV's is sooo futuristic :) Restaurants were so diverse and in one restaurant alone you can get everything from fresh oysters and sushi to steaks and fresh fish...burgers are so good too! Can't wait to get back to this property. Oh, I must say that service has that "Touch of Hyatt"

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The property is very modern looking. There are several restaurants in the building if the weather is bad. The workout room is small, but the equipment is new and all work. The pool is outdoors and not heated. In December, it is not usable. The computer controlled tv did not work. It took the tech over an hour to get it to work. We were not given proper instuctions for after hours use of the elevator system. It took us a ride to a wrong floor and finding a maid to tell us what to do.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vdraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. The hotel itself is very nice. If you are attending an event at the Superdome there is simply no where better to stay. Super close. The French Quarter is a bit of a walk but not bad at all. The service is lacking. The rooms were no serviced until 6pm and when I called for a laundry bag the morning of checkout it never arrived. Also more signage is needed. The place is massive.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbj35215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KANSAS CITY, MO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, we had no choice but to use valet parking which can add up when you need to use the car during the day The desk clerk upon checkin was very nice and offered us a choice of floors and views. We asked for a view of the superdome which is beautiful at night. It's hard to figure out the floors where the elevators and restaurants are located. I loved the elevators. You use your keycard which tells you what elevator to use and once you enter it only goes to your floor. I felt very secure using this elevator because I have had a bad experience where I felt like I was followed to my room in another hotel. The room is very modern with nice furnishings. The room had a safe so you can lock up valuables you don't want to carry around. I read the other reviews and I totally agree with some of them. The air conditioning was very loud and it was hard to figure out. The room was either too cold or too hot. The next day when our room was cleaned we had used the glasses which are in the closet with the ice bucket which I thought was odd. They didn't replace them and left them sitting out where we had left them. We had used the bath mat and they didn't replace it with a clean one. The shower is terrible, the water is never hot enough and the pressure is poor. It takes forever to get the shampoo out of your hair.

The hotel is located too far from the French Quarter to walk back and forth at night for safety reasons but it's okay during the day. We used a cab and each way was only $10.00 including tip.

The staff was very friendly and the hotel is beautiful but they need to work on some improvements in housekeeping and maintenance of their rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the superdome because the view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJAEIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#85 of 161 in New Orleans
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 161 in New Orleans
3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113-3100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing