We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Ranked #65 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans from a Thursday-Monday and had a very good experience with them. The hotel itself is quite grand and the desk personnel were welcoming and very helpful. We didn't spend much time at the hotel as we were out doing things from morning until night, but the hotel staff were there whenever we needed them to be. We had a choice of rooms from a "city view" or "pool view - with a balcony". I chose the pool view but whenever we would go out on the balcony there was noise coming from somewhere (plus it was unseasonably warm and humid there for October) and so I would have chosen differently had I known that. The room was spacious with a refrigerator and safe. Loved the 42" TV and the beds were very nice. We did not have time to use the pool, but since it was saltwater I wouldn't have used it anyway. I think they have a "spa tub" but I didn't see that (maybe it was in the health club). We didn't use the restaurants but they looked very clean and welcoming. One day they missed cleaning our room, but when I called (about 11:30 PM) they came up with towels/coffee/toiletries etc. and were very apologetic about any inconvenience. Since our plane left later in the afternoon they were also accommodating about an extended checkout time. Another really big plus is that the Loyola Streetcar stops less than a half block across the street and for $3 a day per person we rode all over on them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pskruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,343 - 3,349 of 4,180 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed on business here for two days. It was pleasant and I had no major issues with the hotel itself. I did have a problem with one of the restaurants inside. The room was clean, staff that I interacted with was friendly.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank BillL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were excited to book our first family vacation to New Orleans on October 4. Unfortunately, hurricane/tropical storm Karen had different ideas. Because our home and New Orleans were in the path (and we were under a TS warning when our decision was made), we decided NOT to risk a vacation. After nearly an hour and both myself and my husband trying to contact the hotel, we finally were able to get our reservation canceled. We were assured that our $680 hotel charge would be refunded. Ten days later, I realized our refund had not been issued, so I tried yet again to resolve this. The woman who I spoke with was anything but friendly, but agreed to resubmit my request. She acted like I was being unreasonable and untruthful in my request. So, 10 days later, the $680 charge is still on my credit card, and we never got to experience our family vacation. Thanks for kicking us when we're down, New Orleans Hyatt!! We will absolutely reschedule our vacation, but our money will NOT be going to the Hyatt.

Good luck to anyone who has to cancel a trip due to mother nature.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank FLTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We are from a town an hour north of New Orleans and we have season tickets for the Saints games. We often stay overnight at various hotels when the games are at night. The day we got the 2013 schedule, my husband called the Hyatt directly and booked us a room for Sep. 30 for Monday Night Football. This Hyatt is within walking distance from the Super Dome. The day of the game we were held up in traffic because of a wreck on the Ponchartrain Causeway. When we were finally allowed to cross, traffic was at a standstill. We arrived at the Hyatt at 5:45 and still needed to shower and change for the game. To our astonishment, we were turned away because the Hyatt had overbooked! We were told that they would compensate us with a room at the Ramada in Metairie -- way back at the Ponchartrain Causeway! A helicopter could not have gotten us to the Ramada, then back to the Super Dome, in time for the kickoff. My husband and I have traveled to countries all over the world as part of our job as publishers of a trade publication. In addition, for 14 years we have booked entire hotels for our own trade show and convention that we run. We have NEVER had to deal with such a shabby experience. To this day (Oct. 14) we are still working on getting our payment refunded!

Room Tip: I would say to prepay and prebook, but we did that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank KathyBlomquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights and the hotel was very busy. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I sat at the bar on the 3rd floor and watched baseball one night and the bartenders were nice also. The only problem we had was our room was not cleaned for the last night of our stay. Consequently we didn't have any clean towels or shampoo for the next morning. We called down to have that brought up and they only brought the towels and had to make a return trip.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank EricaOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from our stay here. The hotel was full of college students as it was the weekend of the LSU/FL game. It took a while to check in but once to our room it was a very nice corner room overlooking the Super Dome. The bad thing with this room is that you can here everything outside such as cars and trains. Otherwise it was nice. We were just not as close to everything as we usually are when we travel to New Orleans.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunnysideoftown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

It's hard to say enough about the campus itself. Enormous. Several restaurants, very large fitness center, beautiful lobbies, spaces. Sadly, though we booked weeks in advance, when we arrived they were overbooked and we had to stay at a nearby Hilton they partnered with. The staff was very apologetic and the manager himself came out and apologized. He promised to pay for the night we were bumped and to put us in a large suite our final two nights. True to his word, when we returned the next day we were given the largest room I've ever stayed in. Staff was very helpful, at all levels, and eager to make up the mistake. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 166 in New Orleans
2,425 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#72 of 166 in New Orleans
2,446 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,609 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113-3100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £126 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing