We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Business Hotel in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Ranked #67 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Business Hotel in New Orleans”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

When staying at a hotel for a business conference, I always rate my stay based on amenities if I were stuck in the hotel, and convenience to walking to attractions. Wow what a great place. Walking distance to Superdome and Smoothie King arena. Great restaurants and bars within the hotel. I think I could eat, drink and hang in Vitascope everyday. Five minute cab ride to French Quarter for less than $10 with tip. The room was perfect in size, furnishings and amenities. Coolest elevators I have ever been on. Touch your keycard to the panel, the elevator directs you to the next available car assigned to you and direct to your floor. Great space for business conference.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great, but you may want to ask for a view. Mine was of a garage parking wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTIS_OF_DALLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,522
    1,173
    624
    302
    140
See reviews for
484
635
80
1,991
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Rambling hotel, 28 floors or so, possible to check in and out without ever talking to a live person, I guess that's modern efficiency. Rooms are well appointed with good quality toiletries. Choice of dining and drinking options available inside. Parking available in adjoining attached car park, good for safety.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IanH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

we got this room off of Hotwire, we requested a King, but were booked in a Queen room. since we were there for Jazzfest, hotel was sold out, concierge apologized and gave us free wifi access for the inconvenience (even though i think it was a Hotwire issue, not the hotel).

room was nice, clean, updated - fabulous view of the Superdome. we would stay there again for sure, it's a bit of a walk (20+ min) to French Quarter... but on the streetcar line.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My family & I recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency NOLA for an orthodontists convention, and I must say that I enjoyed my stay. The lobby and hotel in general is beautiful. The hotel is huge and it was easy to get a little turned around, but the staff was always there and extremely helpful. The rooms were a bit smaller than I would have liked, but they were comfortable. We ate at the hotel breakfast buffet and although I thought it was a tad bit expensive, when I realized my husband and I had 3 made to order omelets and more the price was actually fair. The star of my stay was my waiter at breakfast. I brought my 6 yo son since he was on spring break and Brant was able to suggest the aquarium, insectarium and zoo as possible places for my son to enjoy. We were able to take him to the zoo and aquarium and he absolutely loved them. On top of awesome suggestions Brant was attentive and whenever we left the table we would come back to a folded napkin (if too dirty, he brought us new ones) and refilled drinks. He even asked my advice on braces for his teeth, which, as a new orthodontist, made my day. The rest of staff was very friendly as well. The hotel was nice but I would return because of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reshadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Lap of luxury...salt water pool. Great restaurants, comfy beds and rooms....super deal through Travelocity! One drawback is the long walk to rooms but speedy elevator system & mostly private rides. Really good shampoos & body washes . Breakfast buffet two prices was excellent with amazing choices. & great coffee.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is my first stay back with the HR NOLA since its "revitalization" after 2005 and hurricane Katrina. I had stayed there on two separate occassions up to that point. WOW WHAT A DIFFERENCE. For a self-contained conference hotel, this is amazing. Large and plentiful space with nice signage all around. They still have the main spacious atrium hotel with a lot of life buzzing on the 3rd floor main lobby (restaurants/bars). Very nice and helpful staff throughout.
I don't remember the pool being so nice, but was pleasantly surprised when I went out there for some morning sun and air prior to heading to the festival grounds.
Our guestroom was a great size and close to elevators (No rooms are really that far from the 8 elevator banks) Wait time was what it was with the new smart-system that is implemented at the hotel now. With that many rooms, I know that the elevators are running a bit more efficiently than before... The Regency Club was truly a treat and adviseable to upgrade to. Staff up there was way too impressive... It is Hyatt staff, not Ritz or another 5-star hotel staff, right? Kudos to leadership for running one of the Hyatt large flagship hotels so well. Hope to see you all next year!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Regency Club floors for access to the top floor lounge. Really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frostdsnoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My friends and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency for Jazz Fest, really because it was the cheapest available (still not that cheap). I'd say the stay was ok.

My main gripe was that there was some disconnect with the functionality of the hotel. Here's why:
-The elevators: You have to take two escalators to get to the elevators. And just because the elevator you take goes to your room, doesn't mean it goes anywhere else that's useful (ie the gym). I was constantly taking the elevator to the third floor then getting on a different set of elevators and such. So time consuming when you wait for up to five minutes for an elevator.
-There is no signage of the hours of the restaurants. We were hoping to eat at the pool on the fifth floor but we had to go to the third floor bar to find out that the pool restaurant is only sporadically open, depending on the staff.
-After staying one of our four nights we noticed mold on the ceiling by the air conditioner. We spoke with the front desk before leaving for the day and she said they would inspect the situation while we were out. When we returned, a different front desk agent could not find any record of us reporting the mold. Luckily she was extremely helpful and moved us to a new room right away, while giving us some room service credit and free wifi (don't even get me started that you have to pay for wifi in the first place).
-We called housekeeping to get more towels (they only gave us three for four people) and to get more tea as it had not been refilled for the day. Instead of one person coming up giving us both the towels and the tea, we got one lady bringing towels, then another bringing more towels and tea and then another bringing tea. Obviously there is a huge disconnect in communication.
-Concierge: rather rude. I asked for directions to Jazz Fest using the streetcar and was told in a demeaning way that it was the most inefficient way to get to Jazz Fest. I was so thrown off by his demeanor that I took the map and walked away.
-Rooms are rather small. Might not matter to some but for four people in a room, there was almost no place to put your luggage without tripping over it.
-If you call any department at all, it will ring and ring and ring. Plan on waiting at least two minutes before someone answers.
-Room service is NOT 24 hours. I was shocked by this. I thought the whole point of room service was to be open any time. Totally put a damper on the day when we spent 20 minutes ordering through the flipping TV and then when doing the checkout realizing they were closed.
-The room had random bits of dirtiness. We found foreign hairs in the shower and brown spots on the towels. Otherwise very clean.
-Water pressure and plumbing could use some work. The water pressure was so low that we couldn't tell if we washed the shampoo out. The toilet had to have water put in it several times for it to be flushed.
-The day of checkout, housekeeping woke us up at 9am for no apparent reason. They just said "OH!" and walked away. We requested late checkout...

The good stuff (yes there's some):
-Food was yummy and had a big spread, even for me, the vegetarian
-Front desk agent Alexis was awesome and helpful
-The view of New Orleans was fun to look over
-There is a cab stand right out front
-Beds are comfortable
-If you're used to streetcars in NOLA, there is a stop right out front
-The decor of the hotel is modern and beautiful
-Beautiful outdoor pool
-Toiletries provided were good quality
-Gym was GORGEOUS. Better than most membership gyms. And it has an awesome view.
-Ice machine was on the floor

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,389 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#87 of 163 in New Orleans
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,467 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 163 in New Orleans
3,425 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#62 of 163 in New Orleans
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113-3100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing