We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Ranked #67 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good, Not Great”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Pros: Hotel was not too large, not too small. Room was comfortable. Staff were very friendly.
Cons: Elevators were very confusing. I and others had a hard time getting to the floors we wanted to be on. The computerized TV in the room is the only way you can order room service. I called and asked for a paper menu to be brought up because the mouse on the computer keyboard wasn't working, but they never brought it. I did get the mouse to work eventually though. Food was good, but at the end, they double-charged me for one meal and I had to go get that taken off the bill. Rate was $275 a night including all taxes. It was too hot, humid, and rainy to go outside and do much, which was disappointing, but the hotel was very nice and I didn't mind just staying indoors for the conference i was there to attend. All in all, a positive experience, but the over-computerization should be changed. Or, at least have "phone order room service" and push-buttons on the elevators.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon020201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,569
    1,206
    640
    312
    140
See reviews for
504
647
83
2,050
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gahanna, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a brief family visit to New Orleans. The hotel is really a convention hotel, but is very nice and has all of the amenities you could ask for on site. It is not nearly as confusing as some report. Parking is very easy and less expensive than valet around the corner at the Girod st. garage. The trip over to the French Quarter attractions is short but we found the streetcar line to be unreliable and not frequent enough.

The rooms and beds were comfortable, clean, and all very nice.

Room Tip: Try to get a main tower room on a higher floor. It is centrally located but away from the convention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is huge! Very clean and modern. Good location to the Dome though I miss the walk over ramp that connected the Hyatt to the Dome before Katrina. There are several restaurants in the Hyatt. I tried Vitascope Hall, which was fair, 8block for breakfast, which was fantastic, and Starbucks, which was ok. There aren't a large amount of restaurants within the immediate vicinity of the Hyatt. Our room was spacious, clean and had good views of the city. It was quiet and the beds were comfortable. I really enjoyed the technology that the hotel utilized such as in the elevators. However, I don't know that everyone would like or even understand how to use it. Overall very good stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BogueBorn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great location if you want to be close to the super dome.this is your place. We were there for our daughter's graduation from Tulane. Good rooms, restaurants, and service. Close to everything else including bourbon street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drjoepasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyNola, Director of Guest Satisfaction at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency New Orleans as your hotel of choice during your recent visit to New Orleans.

Our guests’ feedback is extremely important to us and I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. I am glad that the hotel was in a perfect location for you and your family to celebrate your daughter's recent graduation.

With the hospitality industry so competitive in New Orleans, reviewed websites such as Trip Advisor are extremely important to us. For this reason, and with my sincerest gratitude, thank you for choosing Hyatt. We look forward to hosting you and your family again on your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Was part of a Navy Returning Warrior Workshop.

PROS:
--Hotel was beautiful and well arranged. It was very inviting. Beautiful! Scenic!
--Staff was friendly, helpful, and very informative.
--Elevator is intriguing and very fast. A modern technological marvel.
--Food was outstanding. Catering was excellent.
--Exercise room was on 34th floor and looked out over the city.
--Conference facilities were well laid out and easily navigated.
--Very safe. Nobody gets into an elevator without a card or escort.
--Lots of staff everywhere just waiting to help.

MINOR CONS QUICKLY CORRECTED:
--Lunch buffet for the conference had 1 line. Oops. 30 min to get through. Next day had 2.
--Room had trash hidden behind the curtain. No big deal.
--Room service forgot to leave hand soap, but a cool feature is they send a concierge around to each room asking hotel guests about room service. They immediately fixed it. I really like this service!

One of the nicest hotels I have ever been in. The cons hardly put a dent into the rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyNola, Director of Guest Satisfaction at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency New Orleans as your hotel of choice during your recent visit to New Orleans.

Our guests’ feedback is extremely important to us and I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that any issues you may have had were rectified to your satisfaction and in a very timely manner. We pride ourselves on excellent service and providing authentic hospitality to our guests.

With the hospitality industry so competitive in New Orleans, reviewed websites such as Trip Advisor are extremely important to us. For this reason, and with my sincerest gratitude, thank you for choosing Hyatt. We look forward to you returning on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a very large hotel, the entrance is a little misleading. The staff is very friendly and you are greeted by multiple people as you enter. Check in is very fast and you can do it yourself if you choose. You have a take an escalator up to level three to get to the elevators to your room. They have a swipe system for the elevators, swipe your room key and the system tells you what elevator to wait for. It's not hard to get lost, but they do have plenty of signs to tell you where things are located. The breakfast buffet is excellent and only $15 and the staff is also excellent. You are sitting in the atrium when at their main restaurant and they had the fans running, which by the way are 32 floors above you...but they are so loud you can barely hear the person next to when trying to talk. They ran for about the first 30 minutes we were there and finally shut down. It's also only a 5 minute walk to a grocery store and another 10 to be downtown for the restaurants and shops...you really do not need a car for this location. The rooms are very comfortable but the AC system is way too loud and constantly cycles on/off as I guess it cannot maintain the room temp too well (set on 72). You do get a small fridge and safe in the room and there are plenty of outlets for all of your electronics. The cleaning staff is also very nice and very accommodating. Might seem a bit pricey for the rooms especially with all the taxes on top of the room rate which pushed our room to almost $280 per night but I guess you get what you pay for. If this is in your budget I would recommend this Hotel

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a better view of the area..you are right next to the Superdome of the Saints
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Took my Daughter and Grandchildren to New Orleans to put them on a train, and we wanted a good, clean Hotel in close proximity to the train station. After much research and deliberation, we went with the Hyatt Regency. Fantastic choice. Only blocks from Union Station, but also blocks from the French Quarter and all that it has to offer! Hotel was immaculately appointed and the staff treats you like royalty. It did take me a few minutes to master the "smart elevator" system, but my Grandkids just saw that as Papa being his usual self! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaGrampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyNola, Director of Guest Satisfaction at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency New Orleans as your hotel of choice during your recent visit to New Orleans.

Our guests’ feedback is extremely important to us and I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. I am so glad you and your grandchildren enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

With the hospitality industry so competitive in New Orleans, reviewed websites such as Trip Advisor are extremely important to us. For this reason, and with my sincerest gratitude, thank you for choosing Hyatt. We look forward to you returning with the rest of your family on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 164 in New Orleans
1,423 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#85 of 164 in New Orleans
2,820 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 164 in New Orleans
3,449 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
2,512 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113-3100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing