We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of attention to detail, strange layout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Ranked #66 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This should be a 5 rating, but a few things hold it back.
First, the layout means you either have to go up two escalators or take an elevator to the level where the elevators to the rooms are - not the most convenient.
Second, lack of attention to details.
On all but one of my stays, the current time on the clock-radio in the room was incorrect, and not by just a few minutes. Resetting it is a pain and it is not a critical thing to most folks, but that should not happen on a property of this quality.
On another stay, the tub/shower button was stuck in the shower position, which means that you had to point the shower head at the wall while you were regulating the temp. Obviously whoever cleaned the room knew it, because it was pointed that way when I started.
And, they really need more than two people at the front desk, even when I check in around 8pm, as others are always checking in at the same time.

Room Tip: The North Tower rooms are easier to get to (no high-tech automated elevator and shorter walk) and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stevedec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,014 - 3,020 of 4,180 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Based on reviews we chose this hotel and would definitely return again for the experience and exceptional service. Upon arrival, they provided us with a room upgrade option along with breakfast and happy hour option which we took and was well worth it. Our bathroom tub was clogged and they came immediately to correct the issue. The elevators are by far the coolest using the key cards to go to different floors. Parking was a bit pricey and it's a nice walk from Bourbon Street but several buses drop you in front if hotel. I would caution you against driving in this area because we saw a lot of cars being towed. Would definitely stay again for the beautiful skyline view and staff were just amazing.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank adivinadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Modern and clean, but worst layout ever: check in to one corner of a city block, the room elevators are a block away at the farthest corner, AND four stories -- two escalators -- up! Rooms are in a sort of cylindrical tower; those on the inner side overlook the building's a/c, whose huge, always running sound is amplified by the tower's curvature. Also, it's located near only the Superdome and Tulane Medical Center; your legs will get a workout both inside and outside the building.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room overlooking the inner core unless you're deaf and don't care about a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank arimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The experiences were so awful that I almost did not sleep the whole night because of the three motors behind the hotel.

I bid the hotel on priceline though I still paid a good price. When I arrived there, I had to wait for 20 minutes for my room thought the guest next to me got his room just the moment. They said I could head for my trip and get the keys when I came back. However, when I came back in the evening, I realized they assigned two rooms facing the swimming pool and also three motors on the top of the building just facing my room, making big noise more than 50 decibels for sure! I believe they did it on purpose because I paid a relatively low price than other guests. They know the problem and they are still selling those rooms, which I realized by the calling to customer service. When I asked them to shift a room for me, they said they were full and all they could offer was just earplugs, otherwise, I could buy some sleeping pills! Those words are from a four-star hotel, which enhances my idea that Hyatt is the worst among those high-scale hotel. I kept awake all the night and I promise I will never live in a Hyatt again.

Room Tip: Never choose the one facing the swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Sodaorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyNola, Director of Guest Satisfaction at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay.
Your input and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival.

I would like to first apologize to you regarding the opportunities you encountered. We pride ourselves on extending superior customer service and authentic hospitality. I am disappointed to hear that you had to wait 20 minutes for your room and you were not happy with the rooms that were assigned to you and the service you received when you asked to change to another room. I want to assure you that the room you were assigned was not based on the rate that you paid. Also, thanks to feedback like yours, we are currently working on upgrading all of our HVAC units to create a better experience for all of our guests.

Again thank you for taking your time to write a review. At your convenience, I would like to speak to you in more detail regarding your stay. I can be reached directly at 504-613-3943

Mysheka Battiste
Director of Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I recently stayed here for a few nights on a work trip to New Orleans. The room was very comfortable (a bit small, but I was fine with it) and clean. The hotel staff was very friendly as well. There are several banquet halls and conference rooms to host very large groups. The buffet served at one of the restaurants downstairs was very delicious, I would avoid all the other restaurants as I had a few bad experiences with the food during my stay.

Room Tip: Try to get the highest floor possible. There was an event going on outside of the hotel and I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OkieJeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. All of the staff were very professional. The manager of house keeping came by my room several times during my visit to see if my room was cleaned to my liking. I had an issue with the sliding door in my room not closing properly and he had it taken care of immediately.

I have to say for the number of people in this hotel for conferences the rooms were designed to be very quiet. I never heard anything from the hallway or the pool which my balcony looked over.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My room was clean, staff friendly and the hotel itself spotless. It was maybe a ten minute walk to Bourbon Street which is where you will want treat. While the hotel restaurants look good, you can't stay here and not hit Bourbon Street for some of the best fish and oysters you can find. My only issue was the AC was incredibly loud, but traveling as much as I do, small things like that you overcome.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank wkrupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 166 in New Orleans
2,429 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#72 of 166 in New Orleans
2,448 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,610 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113-3100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £136 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing