We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Texas
Level Contributor
1,217 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,678 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

During the first five days of August my wife and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans. We had a double queen club room on the 27th floor; the room was large but the bathroom was fairly small. As part of this package, we had access to the Regency Club on the 32nd floor. The regency Club serves a continental breakfast commencing at 5:30 AM on weekdays and 7:00 AM on weekends. In addition, in the evening food is served. The Club offers free bottled water and soft drinks and alcoholic beverages may be purchased. The food is exceptional in the Club. We found the front desk personnel and the concierge to be extremely helpful. On a downside, the hotel is not within comfortable walking distance to many of the great restaurants in the French Quarter. While our stay at this hotel was pleasant, we would likely stay at a hotel closer to the French Quarter should we visit New Orleans again.

Room Tip: Get a room with access to the Regency Club; it is worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyNola, Director of Guest Satisfaction at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your feedback is very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service from our staff especially our Concierge and Front Desk. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.

I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your daily experience in our Regency Club. Not only does it offer amazing food options but the views it provide are some of the best in New Orleans.

However, I am disappointed that you would choose to stay at another hotel closer to the French Quarter. We are in a very prime downtown location with easy access to many local attractions and less than a mile away from the French Quarter which is accessible by the Loyola Streetcar across the street from the hotel. There may be several hotels that are closer to the French Quarter but none that provide the amenities, such as the Regency Club, and the excellent service that we pride ourselves on providing to all of our guests.

I truly hope that you will reconsider staying at the Hyatt Regency again when returning to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Mysheka Battiste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    1,088
    569
    273
    128
See reviews for
436
592
74
1,768
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbertown, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel to stay, for any event or vacation. We stayed here to attend the IRS Tax Forum, the hotel offers several choices for food and beverages, including the 24 hours Lagniappe Exchange store offers, essentials, every type of beverage known, fresh pastries. and a wonderful selection of souvenirs. If you need help with directions, what to do, where to go, etc... the Staff is excellent and friendly.

Room Tip: No issues, all rooms are great! Some overlook the super-dome others overlook New Orleans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyNola, Director of Guest Satisfaction at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency New Orleans as your hotel of choice during your recent visit during the IRS forum.
Our guests’ feedback is extremely important to us and I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and the different outlets that we offer throughout our property especially Lagniappe Exchange our marketplace and gift shop.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Mysheka Battiste
Director of Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We lucked up on this gem because a booking site oversold our original hotel and boy are glad that they did.
This place is IMMACULATE, the security is top-notch and the staff was friendly and thorough. We were only staying one night so we were not able to eat but the Hyatt was beautiful, clean, spacious and current.
Close to the French Quarter (maybe 10 minute stroll) and great to good eats! This is where I'm staying whenever we go back for a few days.

Room Tip: It just doesn't matter - they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorker0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyNola, Director of Guest Satisfaction at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding the conditon of our hotel and our top-notch security and customer service . Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Mysheka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, GA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This should be a 5 rating, but a few things hold it back.
First, the layout means you either have to go up two escalators or take an elevator to the level where the elevators to the rooms are - not the most convenient.
Second, lack of attention to details.
On all but one of my stays, the current time on the clock-radio in the room was incorrect, and not by just a few minutes. Resetting it is a pain and it is not a critical thing to most folks, but that should not happen on a property of this quality.
On another stay, the tub/shower button was stuck in the shower position, which means that you had to point the shower head at the wall while you were regulating the temp. Obviously whoever cleaned the room knew it, because it was pointed that way when I started.
And, they really need more than two people at the front desk, even when I check in around 8pm, as others are always checking in at the same time.

Room Tip: The North Tower rooms are easier to get to (no high-tech automated elevator and shorter walk) and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevedec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Based on reviews we chose this hotel and would definitely return again for the experience and exceptional service. Upon arrival, they provided us with a room upgrade option along with breakfast and happy hour option which we took and was well worth it. Our bathroom tub was clogged and they came immediately to correct the issue. The elevators are by far the coolest using the key cards to go to different floors. Parking was a bit pricey and it's a nice walk from Bourbon Street but several buses drop you in front if hotel. I would caution you against driving in this area because we saw a lot of cars being towed. Would definitely stay again for the beautiful skyline view and staff were just amazing.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank adivinadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Modern and clean, but worst layout ever: check in to one corner of a city block, the room elevators are a block away at the farthest corner, AND four stories -- two escalators -- up! Rooms are in a sort of cylindrical tower; those on the inner side overlook the building's a/c, whose huge, always running sound is amplified by the tower's curvature. Also, it's located near only the Superdome and Tulane Medical Center; your legs will get a workout both inside and outside the building.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room overlooking the inner core unless you're deaf and don't care about a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starkville, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The experiences were so awful that I almost did not sleep the whole night because of the three motors behind the hotel.

I bid the hotel on priceline though I still paid a good price. When I arrived there, I had to wait for 20 minutes for my room thought the guest next to me got his room just the moment. They said I could head for my trip and get the keys when I came back. However, when I came back in the evening, I realized they assigned two rooms facing the swimming pool and also three motors on the top of the building just facing my room, making big noise more than 50 decibels for sure! I believe they did it on purpose because I paid a relatively low price than other guests. They know the problem and they are still selling those rooms, which I realized by the calling to customer service. When I asked them to shift a room for me, they said they were full and all they could offer was just earplugs, otherwise, I could buy some sleeping pills! Those words are from a four-star hotel, which enhances my idea that Hyatt is the worst among those high-scale hotel. I kept awake all the night and I promise I will never live in a Hyatt again.

Room Tip: Never choose the one facing the swimming pool!
See more room tips
Green Features: I have no idea on this part. May skip this part? I only spent a night there and did not in the mood to know that part.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sodaorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegencyNola, Director of Guest Satisfaction at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay.
Your input and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival.

I would like to first apologize to you regarding the opportunities you encountered. We pride ourselves on extending superior customer service and authentic hospitality. I am disappointed to hear that you had to wait 20 minutes for your room and you were not happy with the rooms that were assigned to you and the service you received when you asked to change to another room. I want to assure you that the room you were assigned was not based on the rate that you paid. Also, thanks to feedback like yours, we are currently working on upgrading all of our HVAC units to create a better experience for all of our guests.

Again thank you for taking your time to write a review. At your convenience, I would like to speak to you in more detail regarding your stay. I can be reached directly at 504-613-3943

Mysheka Battiste
Director of Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#80 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113-3100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing