We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm friendly atmosphere that feels like home.”
Review of Evangeline

Evangeline
Ranked #179 of 1,948 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Warm friendly atmosphere that feels like home.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The owners are fantastic people and go out of there way to make sure everything is satisfactory. The food is tasty and they will happily accommodate special dietary needs. We love the courtyard and find it a great place to relax in all the craziness in New Orleans. It's so peaceful and quiet back there. We've been to Evangeline 4 times over the last year and we live 9 hours away. We will never miss a visit to Evangeline when we're in the area. It's always a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank romingnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    77
    19
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best sausage ever”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We discovered this restaurant two days before we were leaving French Quarter. This is the first time here that we discovered this Gem. The chef is from Chicago. He brings comfort food and New Orleans together. The sausage sampler is a must. It consist of crawfish sausage, boudin and andouille sausage with a Midwest potato cake and a mustard creole sauce. The combination was unbelievable. We were so full from eating all day, but had to stop and have this one more time. Don't miss this with a great glass of wine or a cold beer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EDRoetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for Parties”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Had a Birthday party for my wife. It was great. A great courtyard and the food was fabulous. People are still asking for recipes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MattHurst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice suprise”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Nice place, loved the ambiance and low light. Had dinner.. hubby enjoyed the seafood pasta and I enjoyed the wedge salad. Quiet and relaxing dinner on a Friday night. Clean and loved the decor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The food was a little overpriced for what it was and the service certainly did not make up for it. We were one of only two parties in the restaurant, granted the other party was about 10 people with small children. Still, there was no excuse for the lack of service. Two of our three glasses of water ran completely dry and were not refilled despite the waitress walking by our table multiple times to bus her other table. She also drank a beer behind the bar and wiped her mouth with her hand before tending to the other table. Not very professional. It is definitely up to the owner whether or not to allow employees to drink on the job, but I would recommend that it be done out of the customers field of view. My friends and I have all served and understand that the end of the shift can be a drag. We were the last table (the one that every restaurant worker hates), so it honestly may have just been that she was having a bad night and was tired. Aside from that, the atmosphere was beautiful. The food was good and my friends and I really enjoyed talking to the owner for a while at the end of our meal. I would still give Evangeline another try because of the good food, atmosphere, and friendly owner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kaykettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Evangeline also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Evangeline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing