We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Referral” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tomas Bistro

Tomas Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Tomas Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #152 of 1,920 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Arts District / Warehouse District
Cross street: Julia Street
Description: Tomas Bistro is an upscale restaurant located in one of New Orleans most exciting and fashionable neighborhoods, the Warehouse District. In a city that takes dining so seriously, Tomas Bistro is a local favorite. At Tomas Bistro the food is classic Creole French. This distinctive style originated in the late 1800s when a wave of French immigrants settled in the French Quarter. Forty years later the Creole neighborhood was transformed into an ethnic stronghold of French and Italian cuisine. Tomas Bistro serves the finest in Creole French Cuisine including Cassoulet, Onion Soup and Seafood from the Gulf of Mexico.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Referral”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We went to this restaurant as the one we had been referred to wasn't able to seat us...what a great second choice. Great atmosphere, good service and excellent meals...certainly a great alternative, especially when the recommended restaurant turned out to be a poor choice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rkw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    71
    18
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, FL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

There were 4 of us dining at Tomas Bistro & we all agreed that it was a thoroughly enjoyable evening of great service, good food and a lovely atmosphere. From the cocktails to the appetizers, we enjoyed Henrik's (sp?) attentive service. We wanted to have a leisure evening & he made sure that was accomplished. We loved the Crawfish Crepes and the Crab Au Gratin, but would suggest something other than the bread for the table be served with the Crab (maybe crostini.) We all had different entrees and each were beautifully presented and delicious. Ended a perfect evening with coffee, tea & 2 tasty desserts that were shared. Our Groupon was nicely received and we definitely would recommend the Tomas Bistro.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MomMomTheVillages_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“spectacular meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We used a groupon which brought the price down quite a bit, but this is one of the few places where I have used a coupon of some sort and would definitely go back without one. The crab au gratin was the best I have ever eaten. In addition, the entrees were fantastic. I had the rack of lamb and my wife had the filet with fried oysters. The praline cheesecake was a perfect end to the meal. Julio, our server, was knowledgeable, pleasant, and attentive. There are lots of wonderful restaurants in N.O. and I would put this one among the best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food - snooty waiter.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile


This was one of our best meals in New Orleans. We started with the crabmeat pontchartrain. It was lightly seasoned and served with ripe avocado. Absolutely delicious. For our main course we had the evening special of veal and catfish served with a crab sauce over diced fried potatoes. It was very tasty and a nice change from the traditional heavily fried New Orleans cuisine. The cheesecake served with a warm praline sauce was amazing. Our waiter provided good service but was noticeably disappointed when we did not order any wine with our dinner. A dinner for 2 could easily cost $100.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajmOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
212 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I just don't get it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

All the food should have been good but it was just .. not.. It was like flavorless. It wasn't bad, just no taste. We had a Groupon and even with that it seemed kind of expensive. The service was just average.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Northwomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomas Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Tomas Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing