We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best tours in NOLA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Free Tours by Foot

Free Tours by Foot
Ranked #1 of 214 Tours in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Free Tours by Foot is pleased to present the only name-your-own-price New Orleans tours. Learn much more than just Bourbon Street on our French Quarter Tour, about the well-heeled and their mansions on our Garden District Tour. Learn about New Orleans peculiar burial grounds on our St. Louis Cemetery #1 Tour. Foodies will love our food tours and everyone will get spooked on our New Orleans ghost tours. We now also offer bike tours and soon photography and bus tours. You decide what a tour was worth after the tour is finished. Pay-what-you-like tours are great tours for every budget.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best tours in NOLA”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I loved all 3 tours I took: Garden District, Voodoo and French Quarter. The guides were knowledgeable, fun, well-spoken and personable and even gave us their contact info in case we wanted more info after the tour. I also took 2 bus tours with other companies while there and neither one came close to providing the amount of information Free Tours by Foot did. These folks are passionate about their city and obviously love what they do. Be sure to take the French Quarter tour early in your visit because they point out many places to explore further if you have the time. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,925
    336
    43
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Must do in New Orleans”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I did both a Ghost Tour and French Quarter tour and loved this fun, informative way to get to know the Crescent City. It's affordable, insightful and fun. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best walking tour I've done so far”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Not only are the guides extremely passionate and informative about New Orleans (we did two tours - French Quarter and Garden District), but also entertaining and compassionate to those of us who like to stand in the shade! They are also open to offering support to tourists for recommendations or advice about the city after the tour by email.

We paid the guides for the tour, but they are not overly push about payment and welcome you to do the tour for free if you would like.

Would highly recommend this tour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foofala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Way to Acclimated”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We took the culinary history tour with guide, David. He was very personable and knowledgeable of the area and its food history and history in general. I recommend taking this tour early in your stay so you have time to try some of the restaurants pointed out on the tour and stroll the open-air market at you leisure. We took it on our last day and kind of missed out, but we had the bonus of meeting actor Dwight Henry ("Beasts of the Southern Wild;" "12 Years a Slave"), whose true passion is owning Wink's in the French Quarter. He took a few minutes from working the bakery to share his unlikely path to acting; a friendly and humble man. And don't forget to try his yummy buttermilk drops. All in all, a fun tour.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“French Quarter Walking Tour”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We did the French Quarter Tour with Joanne Hughes on July 7 and it was fantastic. We have visited New Orleans many times over the years, done many different tours, but the tour with Joanne was without a doubt the most informative and best we have ever been on. Her enthusiasm and knowledge was a joy. Doing a tour with Joanne is definitely a MUST while visiting New Orleans.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Free Tours by Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing