We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loft 523 New Orleans
Ranked #121 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I have stayed in many great hotels thanks to the reviews on TA, so it's time for me to share as well. My husband and I stayed at Loft 523, what a great place! I don't know how many rooms they actually have, but it's not many. This is truly a boutique hotel. We were on the top floor (which has a wrap around balcony that you share with another room). The bed was super comfortable & the spoon tub was heavenly!! We parked our car Fri afternoon & didn't get back in until Sunday, everything was within walking distance. Without a doubt we will stay again & again & again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    77
    25
    22
    11
See reviews for
10
139
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Loft 523 was perfect for our stay in New Orleans, its location was without a doubt perfect, close enough to the hustle and bustle of the french quarter to wander to for a night out but just far enough away to feel like you can wind down from the action! We stayed in 2 different rooms due to been out of NOLA for a week and returning, which was good to see that the quality was the same in both rooms. We stayed in two of the second top floor rooms which were huge and comfortable at the same time. The staff were accomodating to a tee and really helped us plan our day trips etc. The cost of this boutique hotel versus the room size and comfort plus location make it almost too hard to pass up!

Room Tip: try and get rooms that are on the top 2 floors - they have a weekend bar on the ground floor which I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISAMASSIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I do like Dwell. Staying at Lorft523 is like stepping into it's minimalist pages. Simple, clean lines, tall ceilings, a tasteful touch of repurposed wood generously tiled baths. Great mattresses and feather pillows. And the front desk peeps were awesome. This was my first time back since Katrina. The city and the hotel share this in common—they're back. I'll be back

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This is a hotel for people who like contemporary spaces. I stayed at Loft 523 during a conference. It was very walkable to the French Quarter and Convention Center without being in the fray. My room was on the 2nd floor, facing the front and it was huge! Floor to ceiling windows, white furniture and concrete floors. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and gave me good tips for jazz lounges and restaurants. My only complaint is that one night I could hear music coming from the bar. If you are a light sleeper, I would request a room on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiveCaribbean5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

If you are young at heart and want to stay in a v cool and unusual spot then I totally recommend this place. It is near everything and has some really nice design details in the spacious rooms

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Beautiful hotel. Large clean room, friendly, helpful front desk staff. Great location near the French Quarter!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gymqwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle River, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Loved this place! My husband and I stayed at Loft 523 while we visited New Orleans for the Voodoo music experience, October 27-31. I found and booked the hotel via Tablet Hotels.

Service - the staff here is amazingly nice, attentive, and helpful, without being overbearing. Check-in was quick, and we received two coupons for drinks at the International House bar, just up the street. We asked for late-night meal recommendations Saturday night after returning from Voodoo, and the receptionist was extremely helpful. We were also able to store our bags (thank you, Kirsten!) for a while on Monday, so that we could stroll around town a little longer before catching a late flight out. Housekeeping service was top notch, and the room was kept neat as a pin.

Room - LOVED the room (2E). Very spacious and spartan, yet very attractive in its simplicity. The artwork is not your average slap-it-on-the-wall hotel print, but rather a giant, mixed media piece hanging over the contemporary sofa. The bed was just soft enough, and had plenty of pillows. Little fridge in the closet was nice for keeping drinks cool. Floor to ceiling windows and poured concrete floor give it the perfect loft appeal -- and make it feel as if you're actually living in the city, not just visiting. The bathroom is ginormous, with loads of towels, a coffee maker w/ coffee & mugs, hair dryer, tilt-out beauty mirror, lots of counter space, and Aveda bath products.

Location - just a mini walk from Canal and the French Quarter. For instance, it was less than a 10-minute walk to Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse in the FQ. Is also a 10-minute walk from the WWII and Civil War museums in the opposite direction. There are plenty of nearby options for breakfast, as well - we found several just steps outside the hotel.

Only two things that were semi-undesirable about the room: lack of a room safe, and inability to change the thermostat. The temperature in our room was a bit on the toasty side, no matter how we tried to adjust the thermostat. I'm sure it's a fixable issue, and neither issue would be enough to keep me from booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: If possible, try to get a room the 2nd floor or higher. There is a night club on the first floor, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#87 of 162 in New Orleans
554 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#76 of 162 in New Orleans
1,271 reviews
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft 523 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft 523 New Orleans

Property: Loft 523 New Orleans
Address: 523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loft 523 New Orleans 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Loft 523 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft 523 New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Loft 523 Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Loft 523

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing