We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultimate Cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loft 523 New Orleans
Ranked #122 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Mississippi
1 review
“Ultimate Cool”
Reviewed 21 March 2010

My wife and I stumbled onto Loft 523 through an internet search. While in New Orleans staying at another hotel, we went by to have a look. The hard part is finding the hotel even though it is very conveniently located just off Canal Street and easy walking distance to the French Quarter. The entrance is a nondescript door in a warehouse district that also is home to August restaurant. But once inside, you are immediately aware that Loft 523 is going to be unique. I asked to see a room and was shown two. The ultimate in trendy chic. Concrete floors, large minimally furnished rooms with tall ceilings accentuated by a wonderful low bed. Very modern but with old warehouse features like exposed brick walls (real) and massive support columns. I booked two rooms following the tour and along with another couple, we spent a great weekend at this trendy, reasonably priced gem. There is no restaurant, but in a city surrounded by dining opportunities, who cares.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRF1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    75
    25
    22
    11
See reviews for
10
137
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Loft 523 is, as all of the other reviews suggest, a high concept, design-driven space. There are thousands of details that gave the entire hotel a modern elegance: the tin-stamped roofing sheets in the elevator, the hammered copper doors to the rooms, the lighting design within the rooms themselves. If you are a fan of contemporary design, this is your hotel.

What the prior reviews may not mention is that the stark, angular design belies a remarkably comfortable space. The staff were warm and welcoming from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. They were fantastic with recommendations, helpful, and genuinely warm. On a whim, we asked to see the Penthouse, and we were just handed a key. We stayed in a superior loft and were fairly stunned by the size of the space. There is a huge amount of room. As others have noted, the bathrooms were amazing. The tubs (pictured) really are extraordinary. We recommend that you don't take a bath if you are truly interested in NOT being converted to the merits of a ridiculously expensive tub. We've both had apartments that were smaller than the bathroom in our room. Did anyone mention the memory foam mattresses? That was some good sleepin'. We were on the 4th floor on the backside of the hotel. We heard zero noise even though we were there on "Russian Night" at the club. It is, likely, a good thing that we were not subject to bad Euro-techno at all hours.

In sum, we would recommend Loft 523 to anyone with a contemporary aesthetic who would like to be in a beautiful space. Hotel rooms, like computers, all do the same things. You might as well pick a beautiful one.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellison72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siasam
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Loft 523 is the sister Hotel to the International house. As the name implies the rooms have the feel of a stylish loft. The staff, as at the International House, seem to really want to be helpful and friendly - and they are! The rooms vary from good to very very good - with modern tubs, stonework and furnishings designed to make you feel both comfortable and stylish.

The location is perhaps the best part - you can easily walk to many great locals without the hassles/noise of being directly in Quarter. You also feel like you are staying at a hotel that is part of the NOLA scene, not just another generic hotel.

I strongly recommend Loft 523 and its sister hotel The International House as two wondeful places to stay in NOLA.



I would

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2010

What a cool hotel! Came with friends and had a great time. Loved the tub! and the staff was awesome! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Stayed for 3 nights for the Superbowl. Was in 3E. Room was great, staff was as well. No noise issues in the room, lobby and elevator were noisy though. I can see how people on the second floor, or even the third floor right over the club, would have noise issues though, so be sure to call in advance to request something away from the club.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLATraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

excellent 2 night stay. we were surprised with an upgrade to the penthouse. a very large room with a larger wrap around deck. staff all helpful and friendly. had heard that bar noise could be a problem and it was not. would surely stay again. great not being right in french quarter....and near outstanding warehouse restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirreel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashvegas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I'll definitely stay here again. We reserved room for $159 and asked for the 4th floor to avoid the noise and were upgraded to a very large room with one of the tubs. The place is like having your own condo in the Central Business District. We only saw 2 or 3 other couples the whole time we were there. You're one block from the St. Charles trolley car line and one block from the Magazine Street bus. It's only 3-4 blocks from the French Quarter, great location. If you like contemporary design, the place is for you. The tub was fantastic, all limestone bathroom, Aveda products. Bring you own CD and movies, as the room has a little audio/video system. The bar down stairs (LePhare) was happening, but we never heard the noise on the 4th floor. We caught a show at House of Blues, which is close and ate at MiLa, 4 blocks away and it was one of the best meals I have ever had in NOLA.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swaeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#72 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#84 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft 523 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft 523 New Orleans

Property: Loft 523 New Orleans
Address: 523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loft 523 New Orleans 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loft 523 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft 523 New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Loft 523 Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Loft 523

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing