We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra Modern Lofts with Swank”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loft 523 New Orleans
Ranked #121 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Ultra Modern Lofts with Swank”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Best place for the space, location, and decor.

Love the ultra modern electronics and warehouse feel. The only place I will stay in NOLA.
The lounge is a cool spot where there is a nice scene for the beautiful people in New Orleans. It is walking distance to the convention center and to Bourbon St.

Loved It.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getwhatchapaid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    76
    25
    22
    11
See reviews for
10
138
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I stayed here in the early 2000s and had a wonderful experience as was heartbroken when it closed down post-Katrina. Now, I'm happy to report this chic, fun loft hotel is back and better than ever.

I particularly love the spoon bathtubs (a feature that makes upgrading to a superior room very worth it). This place is a great bargain compared to nearby CBD hotels, and I highly recommend staying here. Great staff, clean and amazing space. Comfy rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeybee2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed at Loft 523 and we very pleased with our experience. The hotel is off the beaten path, no sign, yet close enough to walk everywhere.

Our room was huge! Very nice bathrooms. I've read quite a few reviews that said the noise from the club is too loud but we were on the 4th floor and the noise was not an issue. In fact, we it seemed like we had the entire hotel to ourselves.

The people at the front desk were very helpful with dinner reservations and directions.

All in all, a great place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinVisitor98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Dont stay here if you require any sleep at all during the night.This was the loudest hotel we have ever stayed in.Besides the nightclub that ROCKS all night long,we had someone over us walking all day and all night,toilets flushing,doors slamming,people yelling,horns honking.
The rooms are certainly showing their age and not all parts were in working order.Lightbulbs out,ceiling fan not working,speakers on surround sound didnt work,carpeting frayed.The beds were on the floor and difficult to get out of unless you roll out of the side onto your knees and then stand.Seriously.
I get what they were trying to do here but they didnt execute the design.
The People at the desk were nice and pleasant but we will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

I'm going to start with the policy, so when you book there are three choices of rooms, superior deluxe, deluxe and we will rock you, which means you are above the club and it is loud, I booked months in advance and got a better rate than most people in the hotel and booked the deluxe room which is the middle rate. I was put in a we will rock you room because I had the lowest rate of the other guests who booked the deluxe rooms, so because I was first and lowest I got bumped because when they get a busy weekend the deluxe room on the we will rock you floor becomes a deluxe room magically. There isn't anywhere on the website that warns you of this. Since it is such a busy weekend there is no where else to go and you just have to deal with it so they can get away with it. This is not a way to treat people. Also the kid and I stress kid at the desk was not nice and acted as though we were bothering him and you could see it in his face that he did not want to deal with us. The structure of the hotel is cool and the room is cool but if you come to New Orleans on a busy weekend do not book this hotel unless you pay the highest rate you might get rocked all night long!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jetsetter013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We are a couple in our early 60s, and chose this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend of a friend. We had a spacious, modern room, purposefully booked on the fourth floor, knowing that the club off the lobby would probably disturb us a little bit. When the party overflowed onto the street that night, and the music got turned up louder, we were in agony. Until 3:00 am. Then, the next night (Sunday) promised more of the same, but ended a little earlier. I'm checking out today and finding another place. Never again. BTW, the hotel clerk says he's tried to tell the owner about the constant noise complaints, and the owner won't listen to him. We couldn't even get a light bulb for the reading lamp higher than 40 watts, so I can't even read through all the noise.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rcurtis948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2010

My boyfriend and I live in New Orleans and we've been hearing so many good things about this unique hotel, so we decided to stay a night, just for fun. We discovered a modern and hip marvel in a nostalgic city, a true gem in the heart of New Orleans.
Its refreshing to see a hotel in this city that goes out of its way to provide a "wow" experience- the front desk is super friendly and really helpful.
All in all, we had a great time on our local vacation-
GREAT JOB!!!
Thanks so much,
Lee Kyle

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splendora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#86 of 162 in New Orleans
554 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#74 of 162 in New Orleans
1,268 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft 523 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft 523 New Orleans

Property: Loft 523 New Orleans
Address: 523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loft 523 New Orleans 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Loft 523 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft 523 New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Loft 523 Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Loft 523

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing