We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, safe surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Federal City Inn & Suites
Ranked #73 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Have been to New Orleans before and wanted to stay somewhere safe. Room is a good size. Table and chairs for dining. Clean enough. Felt very safe. Very helpful front desk. Very difficult to find, call the hotel for directions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edandheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

My staff and I would like to thank you for the opportunity to serve you during your recent visit to New Orleans. I would also like to thank you personally for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review on Trip Advisor.
Our goal is to provide complete satisfaction and service to our guests and proud that my staff fulfilled your expectations. I
We also look forward to serving you and your family and friends on their next visit to New Orleans.
Norman Hebert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

Rooms are a good size, very clean and comfortable although basic,also the small kitchen area is well equiped with a microwave, hob and fridge. The hotel is located in a quite area across the river in Algiers. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, recommend that we park our car in a side street and catch the free ferry across to all the main attractions in orleans, ferry runs about every 30mins and it is only about a 10min crossing and everything is within easy walking distance, we found this arrangement ideal. We stayed at this hotel for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we would definitely stay here again. Stayed in better and also stayed in alot worse worse.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chumba1mba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

My staff and I would like to thank you for the opportunity to serve you during your recent visit to New Orleans. I would also like to thank you personally for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
Our goal is to provide complete satisfaction and service to our guests and would like to apologize for not fullfilling you expecations 100%. I have shared your comments with my housekeeping staff so we may avoid any future mishaps.
We also look forward to serving you and your family and friends on their next visit to New Orleans.

Thank You
Norman Hebert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Hotel prices in New Orleans are high, this place is over the river in Algiers. This means a taxi ride to anywhere, including restaurants. The benefit is that it is very quiet. The best part of the hotel by far is the reception staff. They are wonderfully helpful and patient, always with a happy welcoming smile. There is no elevator to the second floor. Rooms are "tired" for the price paid. The bathrooms need an upgrade, mine had a torn shower curtain. The kitchen is nicely stocked and bed comfortable. Aircon was noisy. Overall it was an average Motel experience at an elevated price.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank KSC248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

My staff and I would like to thank you for the opportunity to serve you during your recent visit to New Orleans. I would also like to thank you personally for taking the time to write a wonderful review on Trip Advisor.
Our goal is to provide complete satisfaction and service to our guests and proud that my staff fulfilled your expectations.
We also look forward to serving you and your family and friends on their next visit to New Orleans.
Thank You
Norman Hebert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is a very nice hotel, with great help at the desk. She went online and got a list of restaurants for Algiers area that was not in any of my guide books. She had directions and a menu, too.
We were missing some drink glasses in the nice kitchenette and they got us some right away. It is roomy with all tghe amenities. I asked for a ground floor room which they gave us right next door to our friends. everything is very clean and comfortable. It is only a shortg drive to the free ferry to cross the river to the French Quarter. We are here a festival time and this hotel still has rooms at very reasonable rates compared to the main part of town. I feel safe on this old navy base area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryloulskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Good afternoon,
My staff and are elated that we met all of your expectations on your visit to New Orleans. We serve many guests and our goal is too always exceed expectations as we have done with you and your family. I would also like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to contract Tripadvisor and inform them of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I've depended on Trip Advisor for years but I've never written a post...
It was hard for me to decide on a hotel because of price gouging, the rates downtown and in the Quarter were utterly ridiculous.
I decided to stay at Federal City Inn based on reviews here.
I'm glad I did.
The desk clerk LITERALLY stayed on the phone with me for fifteen minutes after we got lost trying to follow "Mapquest" directions. She was wonderful and guided us safely to the hotel.
I felt very safe once we arrived at the hotel and I felt secure leaving my vehicle in the parking lot.
The room was clean and had a nice kitchenette area.
The hotel doesn't offer a breakfast, be aware of that... but that wasn't an issue for us.
I would definitely recommend this hotel in similar circumstances with downtown being overpriced and booked... It's an easy ten minute drive over into the French Quarter... just be sure and get GOOD directions!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlwaysGon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

My staff and I would like to thank you for the opportunity to serve you during your recent visit to New Orleans. I would also like to thank you personally for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
Our goal is to provide complete satisfaction and service to our guests and proud that my staff fulfilled your expectations. We are aware of the direction issue and are working with MapQuest to correct, as our hotel is on the site of the former Navy Base and part of the new Federal City Development.
We also look forward to serving you and your family and friends on their next visit to New Orleans.
Thank You
Norman Hebert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kaiuwe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sergio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#104 of 166 in New Orleans
171 reviews
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#139 of 166 in New Orleans
69 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#115 of 166 in New Orleans
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Streetcar Inn
#141 of 166 in New Orleans
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal City Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal City Inn & Suites

Address: 740 Hebert St, New Orleans, LA 70114-3000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: £67 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Federal City Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal City Inn & Suites, located 10-minutes from downtown New Orleans, is situated within the new Federal City New Orleans development . Our recently renovated hotel is conveniently located for guests conducting business with the US Marine Corps Reserve, the US Marine 4th Division and surrounding office buildings. Our refurbished guest rooms offer travelers spacious, clean and comfortable accommodations with competitive rates during major events held in downtown New Orleans, such as the Sugar Bowl, Mardi Gras, the French Quarter Festival, the Jazz & Heritage Festival and the Bayou Classic. During your stay, enjoy local attractions such as live music found in the nearby historic Algiers Point neighborhood, a game of golf on the beautiful grounds of the TPC Golf Course of Louisiana - home of the PGA Zurich Classic Golf Tournament, or a friendly competition racing go-carts at the Nola Motorsports Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Federal City Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing