We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Federal City Inn & Suites
Ranked #85 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent value for the price”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed here during Mardi Gras when the prices of all hotels are sky high. We found this place to be clean, quiet, and a very good value for the price. The beds were clean and comfortable, and our room had a mini kitchenette, WiFi, nice TV, and DVD player. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There was no free breakfast. The worst thing was the location. If you aren't familiar, you will have trouble finding it Be sure to get the hotel phone number if you book with an on line service. Even my GPS had trouble. Not difficult to get to, once you know where it is. An excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retired42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Speaking on behalf of my staff I am glad that we were able to meet all of your needs and we hope to provide service to you and your family on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    84
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
69
88
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waskom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night, we were very please with cleaness of the Hotel, also the staff was very friendly. The Hotel is located on an Old Navy Base, it was very quite, the rooms were big, they come with a small Kitchen that includes a stove, referigator and microwave. Bed were very comfortable. Will defeintly stay again. We had no problem finding the place with our GPS. Also close to The Ferry which is free to cross the River which putts you into walking distance of the French Quarter.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdiveswm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We service many guest's each and every day and our goal is to satisify each and every one. I am glad that my staff was able to meet your needs and that you were pleased with the accomodations and your stay. We look forward to serving you and your family again on your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Federal City Inn is located on an old Naval base and sits across the river from New Orleans main area. A free fairy service is available but runs on the top and 1/2 hour leaving and returns from New Orleans at 15 and 45 of the hour. If you miss it by a minute you will wait. Parking is available for day and is $10 on the weekend and $5 weekdays.

The hotel is clean and has a nice kitchen area. No extras but is a nice place and is clean. If you can put up with the fairy crossing it is good for you. A police precinct is nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swordfish911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Good afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to contact TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us. My staff and I are elated that we met all of your expectations. We value your opinion and it does count. We look forward to serving you and your family again on your next vist to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night while traveling through town because the post lodging in Belle Chasse was full. We did get a military rate of just under $100. It was quite tricky to locate and I felt very uncomfortable driving through the neighborhood once we got off of I-10. I was kind of hesitant to stay here upon check in but the front desk clerk assured me that the area was safe. The police station was nearby as well as a Marine Reserve station that patrolled Federal City. Algiers is a few blocks away and offers a ferry to the French Quarter which we used. There isn't an elevator and the room is very outdated. It is large and had a kitchenette. The front desk clerk (forget her name, think it starts with an A) was very nice, helpful and took time out to give us directions and some ideas to do with our son. I can't say I'd stay here again when we come back in town but I wouldn't rule it out either BUT if they remodeled and updated the building then we definately would!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fancy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. Our goal is to satisfy all guests and I am glad we were able to meet your needs with some reluctance on your part.

The neighborhood you drove through, like a lot of New Orleans neighborhood's is older and was primarily for Military families which some still reside. This is one of the better protected areas in the city with New Orleans Police department and Marine Police patrolling the area.

Once again thank you for the thoughtful review and we hope to serve you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Driving through the area to get to this hotel is a little interesting....but once we turned into the base I was happy to see a nice small hotel waiting for us. We were greeted by a pleasant gentleman at the front desk and given our room keys. The rooms are nothing fancy but they were large and clean and had a full kitchenette. Very good room for the price.

Drive over and park to take the Algers ferry over to the French Quarter...but only if you plan on coming back before midnight. This is a great option so you don't have to try and find a place to park in all the chaos.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAnderson4766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Good afternoon,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a comment about your stay with the Federal City Inn & Suites in New Orleans during August. Our goal is to exceed each and every guest expectations and to provide a clean and comfortable environment. I am elated that my stafff was able to satisy and exceed your expectations. We look forward to serving you and your family again on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Good facilities, close to Algiers Pt and free ferry to the French Quarter. Reception staff helpfull and friendly. Nice room with small kitchenette. We had a special rate so very good value.
The hotel is situated in what used to be a Navy base so don't be put off by arriving at a gate to a complex bordered by a fence topped with barbed wire.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Jessna,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to let everyone on Trip Advisor know that you were pleased with your stay and our accomodations.
Our goal is to satisify every guest every day and I am pleased to know that my staff fullfilled your expectations.
Norman Hebert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Federal City Inn and Suites is a great place to stay. It's quiet. Free parking. Large rooms with Kitchenette. Inexpensive. Safe. If you have a car, it's an easy drive to the $5 parking lot at Algiers point for the FREE ferry over to the French quarter and you get a great first impression of New Orleans that way coming in from the river. The Dry Dock Cafe is there at the ferry, so it's close and very good too,

Coming here from I10 going east was tricky. We got lost twice.. our fault of course. First we missed the Business 90 west highway going over the river (GPS got us back on). Then our GPS and the directions from the Federal City website disagreed and we went with the GPS first, and the website later and got totally lost. However our GPS pulled us out of it again and got us to Federal City. It is confusing, so take a close look at a map or two before attempting this. It is worth it! (The night before federal city, our GPS was totally wrong so we were not completely trusting her at this point)

We had investigated a 4* property close to Canal on priceline (or was it hotwire?) and determined that when you added on parking and extras, this property at Federal City was much less than half the cost of the 4*. If you like quiet, and especially if you have kids, this is the place for you. Be prepared, however, they do not YET have a pool. Apparently it is still mostly military personnel staying here even though this is not a naval base anymore. Although, the Marines do have a very secure large facility newly built in this former base.

Final tip, after you enter the gate to federal city from Shirley, go left at the stop sign, the road curves around and after about 200 meters you'll see the Inn on the right.

The Inn should provide better directions, and perhaps the exact coordinates for GPS units to make this an easier task.

Room Tip: no elevator, so if you need one take the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
4 Thank zapityzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Good afternoon,
First of all thank you for taking the time to inform Tripadvisor of your stay at the Federal City Inn & Suites on your trip to New Orleans in May. We serve many guests each and every day and our goal is to exceed expectations with eveyone and I am elated that my staff accompolished this. We look forward to serving you and your family on your next vist to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#109 of 163 in New Orleans
145 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#111 of 163 in New Orleans
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#133 of 163 in New Orleans
46 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal City Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal City Inn & Suites

Property: Federal City Inn & Suites
Address: 740 Hebert St, New Orleans, LA 70114-3000
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Federal City Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal City Inn & Suites, located 10-minutes from downtown New Orleans, is situated within the new Federal City New Orleans development . Our recently renovated hotel is conveniently located for guests conducting business with the US Marine Corps Reserve, the US Marine 4th Division and surrounding office buildings. Our refurbished guest rooms offer travelers spacious, clean and comfortable accommodations with competitive rates during major events held in downtown New Orleans, such as the Sugar Bowl, Mardi Gras, the French Quarter Festival, the Jazz & Heritage Festival and the Bayou Classic. During your stay, enjoy local attractions such as live music found in the nearby historic Algiers Point neighborhood, a game of golf on the beautiful grounds of the TPC Golf Course of Louisiana - home of the PGA Zurich Classic Golf Tournament, or a friendly competition racing go-carts at the Nola Motorsports Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Federal City Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing