We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Federal City Inn & Suites
Ranked #85 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Good Deal”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

It is a pretty good deal for its price. Two queen-sized beds AND a kitchenette for a very reasonable price. The room was excellent, clean, and everything that was supposed to work did. Even had ironing boards.

The staff were really excellent and polite! They were helpful the many times I had to approach them. There was a tourist-friendly map of the French Quarter at the front desk which I found helpful. Water-cooler right beside the front desk as well. Food isn't easy to find here, so you might need to turn to pizza delivery. The walls seemed a little thin, I had a bit of trouble sleeping on one night with noisy neighbors across the hallway. But that was just one night, so. I have to agree with another reviewer that the biggest drawback to this is the location. It really isn't where all the action of NOLA is.

Here are my recommendations/observations:

- If you drive, this hotel is excellent for you, because you can choose to drive from the hotel and park at the ferry terminal for a small price. Then take the ferry and walk to the french quarter from the foot of Canal Street. Or drive like 15mins across the river into the city area.

- If you don't drive (like me), it gets a little tricky. There is an hourly bus (Algiers 101) that comes at the 30-minute mark of every hour. You can alight the bus near the ferry terminal. This bus also takes a loop and goes straight to the northwest of French Quarter (Elk's Place), but when I tried that route I realised it was right beside Iberville. I have not experienced anything bad myself, but Iberville comes up often when I research on places to avoid in NOLA. Try a trip in the day (no issues there), and decide for yourself.

- If you want to walk, it's a 40minute journey to the ferry. It could be pleasant or disastrous depending on the weather. I found the Algiers Point to be safe, and I enjoyed my walk in the day. Helps that the hotel is right beside a naval base, you get to see marine police and NOPD patrol cars pretty often. But because I travelled alone, at night I usually took a cab from the ferry terminal to the hotel, about $8.

The only one thing that annoyed me is that cabbies on the East side can be pretty reluctant to send people across to the west bank (where the hotel is). I had more problems finding a cabbie in the french quarter that would take me to Algiers Point. So you gotta make the ferry your best friend if you're not driving. I came for Jazzfest, and the cabbie at the Jazzfest cab line actually swore when I mentioned algier's point:(

Room Tip: They don't have elevators, so if you have trouble with luggages ask for a room on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Thomas L,
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a note on tripadvisor about your recent experience at the Federal City inn & Suites, in New Orleans. As we check in many guests each and every day I am proud that my staff and our hotel met your expectations.
I would also like to thank you for your advice and recommendations on getting around our unique city which has many diverse neighborhoods such as ours, Algiers.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you on your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    84
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
69
88
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

not to hard to find, arrived after ferry shut down so came over the bridge.

had a drink in town and was pointed in the spot on direction from a local. just off the marine / naval base. checked in and went back out at 1am to catch last song at old point bar. a must see. stayed till 2 am
and then checked out room.

very nice, small kitchen, little dated on furnishings but solid not cheap

made the trip over the ferry 7 times. loved it. 1 dollar only on trip out.

please please keep the ferry.

ferry drops you right in the quarter, walk to art district or the quarter, or trolly to magazine, garden district.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunsetseaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Good Afternoon Sunsetseaker,
Thank you for taking the time out of you busy day to post a note on tripadvisor about your recent stay at the Federal City Inn & Suites on your recent visit to New Orleans. My staff and I pride ourselves on our servive and providing clean comfortable rooms and I am proud to see that we did meet your expectations.
As you are aware New Orleans is made up of many diverse cultures and neighborhood's with ours, Algiers, being one and it's close proximiety to all attractions along with unique ferry experience. My staff and I look forward to serving you and your family again on your next vist to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We were driving back from Florida and late on a Sunday were looking for a NO hotel. We found this hotel at a great price but were a bit reluctant because of the location on the other side of the river. We were wrong. This is a great place, with clean rooms, big beds and a bath, and a kitchen area with a 2 burner cooktop, microwave, refrigerator, sink, plates and cookware. Like a mini-extended stay hotel.

Nice staff, easy to get into the city and a great price - may head back next weekend!

As they used to say "try it, you'll like it"

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Good Afternoon Bob C.
I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to post a note on tripadvisor about your recent experience at the Fedaeral City Inn & Suites in New Orleans. As you are well aware New Orleans, is a diverse community and our area Algiers, is one that can be forgotten at times. Our close proximiety to the city via the Crescent City Connection or the Algiers ferry makes this a convienent place to stay and relax. As we serve many guests each and every day I am delighted that my staff and our hotel met your expections and look forward to serving you and your family on future trips to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before our cruise. It was nice, secure, and clean. It is part of an old Navy base that is still being used to some extent by the military. The ferry to the French Quarter is just a short drive away. You can park at the ferry for $10 and ride across for free. You can also drive onto the ferry for $1 and find a place to park in the FQ. The area around the ferry is a quaint historic district from the early 1700s. I would stay here again. The area outside the base is seedy but don't let that put you off staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Alan G.
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to let us know about your positive experience at the Federal City Inn & Suites. We have the privilidge of serving guests from different regions and cultures and I am glad to know that my staff and our hotel met your expectations and we also look forward to serving you and your family on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The biggest knock against this hotel, which I found thanks to TripAdvisor, is that it's either hard or expensive to get to downtown NOLA. So I learned some tips during my New Year's stay:

- Instead of taking a cab to downtown, take it to the Algiers ferry stop. Then it's just a free, 5-minute river crossing with great views of the bridge and the skyline. You can get a cab back to the hotel, too. I found a great driver at West Bank Taxi Service (may not be exact name) who was pretty much at my call the whole trip. Caution: the ferry does not operate after midnight.

- When I wanted to save some money my last couple of days, I took a bus into downtown. There is a bus stop about 100 yards in front of the hotel. It's a local bus, so it takes about half-hour, and it winds around some of the poorer areas of the West Bank, but I always felt safe and the people you'll meet on the bus are typical chatty New Orleans folks with stories to tell. Bus lets you off in the far northwest corner of the Quarter, so you'll walk a lot .. but I enjoyed the exercise and the chance to see streets I wouldn't normally.

- The weather was kind of crummy when I was there, but you can rent bicycles at a few places in the Quarter. I would have done this if it was a little warmer. You can take your bikes on the ferry and it's probably only about a 5-10-minute bike ride from the hotel to the ferry stop.

So, how was the hotel itself? Exactly as expected! It's not a luxury hotel, it's a former dorm for visiting military at the old navy base on Algiers Point. They renovated it and for me it worked absolutely fine. Literally you can save $100+ a night over a basic hotel in the Downtown area. My room was very big with a nice-sized TV and a large kitchenette area with a mini-fridge and cooktop. There are no restaurants or any food sources near the hotel, so best advice is to pick up a few things on your way to check in. (They have well stocked vending machines, however.) I slept well, and the front desk staff were very nice. With the money I saved, I spent it instead on New Orleans' amazing food and some art that I picked up at the French market.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JeffAtTheShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Good Afternoon,
My staff and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience as a guest at our hotel. I am glad to know that we did meet your expectations and that we provided you with a positive experience. I would also like to thank you for the details regarding the ferry ride to the French Quarter as this should assist future travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed here during Mardi Gras when the prices of all hotels are sky high. We found this place to be clean, quiet, and a very good value for the price. The beds were clean and comfortable, and our room had a mini kitchenette, WiFi, nice TV, and DVD player. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There was no free breakfast. The worst thing was the location. If you aren't familiar, you will have trouble finding it Be sure to get the hotel phone number if you book with an on line service. Even my GPS had trouble. Not difficult to get to, once you know where it is. An excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retired42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Speaking on behalf of my staff I am glad that we were able to meet all of your needs and we hope to provide service to you and your family on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waskom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night, we were very please with cleaness of the Hotel, also the staff was very friendly. The Hotel is located on an Old Navy Base, it was very quite, the rooms were big, they come with a small Kitchen that includes a stove, referigator and microwave. Bed were very comfortable. Will defeintly stay again. We had no problem finding the place with our GPS. Also close to The Ferry which is free to cross the River which putts you into walking distance of the French Quarter.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdiveswm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman H, General Manager at Federal City Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We service many guest's each and every day and our goal is to satisify each and every one. I am glad that my staff was able to meet your needs and that you were pleased with the accomodations and your stay. We look forward to serving you and your family again on your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#109 of 163 in New Orleans
145 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#112 of 163 in New Orleans
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#133 of 163 in New Orleans
45 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal City Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal City Inn & Suites

Property: Federal City Inn & Suites
Address: 740 Hebert St, New Orleans, LA 70114-3000
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Federal City Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal City Inn & Suites, located 10-minutes from downtown New Orleans, is situated within the new Federal City New Orleans development . Our recently renovated hotel is conveniently located for guests conducting business with the US Marine Corps Reserve, the US Marine 4th Division and surrounding office buildings. Our refurbished guest rooms offer travelers spacious, clean and comfortable accommodations with competitive rates during major events held in downtown New Orleans, such as the Sugar Bowl, Mardi Gras, the French Quarter Festival, the Jazz & Heritage Festival and the Bayou Classic. During your stay, enjoy local attractions such as live music found in the nearby historic Algiers Point neighborhood, a game of golf on the beautiful grounds of the TPC Golf Course of Louisiana - home of the PGA Zurich Classic Golf Tournament, or a friendly competition racing go-carts at the Nola Motorsports Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Federal City Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing