We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location and fantastic accommodations”
other travellers have booked this property
735 Touro Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
735 Touro Street
Voodoo sofa and day bed Voodoo living room and fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
735 Touro Street
Voodoo sofa and day bed
Voodoo living room and fireplace
Voodoo living room
VooDoo Day bed and trundle
Voodoo kitchen
Voodoo bath
Voodoo Bed
Jazz Bedroom
Jazz Bath
Bordello Bed
Bordello Desk
Bordello Fireplace
Halloween Guests
Bienvenue - Back house for groups of 8 or more
Back House Living Room
View of dining room and sofa sleeper
Shiny new kitchen ... brand new appliances !
Back House Master Bedroom
View of Living Room and Sofa Sleeper from Stairs
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Guest Bedroom with exit to Balcony
Back House Sunset/Sunrise Balcony
THE COTTAGE -- for larger parties...3 additional bedrooms
Breeze way to Back House
Breezeway Cocktails
Breakfast and BBQ
Ruby Slipper - Breakfast and Lunch
Mule Carriage Route to Jackson Square
Okra Man
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BrendanTs
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent location and fantastic accommodations”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The location of the property was fantastic and within a 5-10 minute walking distance to both Bourbon and Frenchman Street. The property is a little old, however each room is unique has it's own charm.

The heat in the Voodoo room was touch and go during our stay however the units in the other two rooms worked excellently. WI-FI on the property was spotty and was hit or miss from room to room and seemed to work best in the Jazz bedroom however it was not a huge concern for the group.

Lastly, Dayna and Norine were extremely accommodating and were both readily available and accessible by phone if any problems came up. Would definitely recommend staying at this property if you're really just looking for a central location to stay while being within walking distance to all the great cultural events and foods that New Orleans has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write - we appreciate your honest commentary and would like to mention that you were excellent guests! Come on back y'all ! Dayna & Norine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardMar...
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location with a few caveats.....”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This house is in a FANTASTIC location - easy to get everywhere you want to go without a taxi or Uber. The party scene of Bourbon Street and the jazz and entertainment of Frenchman Street is just a couple of blocks away. If this was all I was going to review this is a FIVE STAR property.

We read all the reviews before we booked and thought we knew what we would be getting - a charming Creole cottage. My wife and I travel frequently and are not fancy travelers by any stretch. We did not expect anything upscale based on previous reviews as well. We were traveling with our adult children and their spouses who share our style.

This cottage is in terrible condition - and not only because of it's age. For example there is visible black mold in the Voodoo bathroom on the wall. This is a maintenance issue. The two other suites have doors that although they lock, can be easily penetrated offering no security - again - a maintenance problem, not charming. The oven was not working for a couple of days - but they did get it repaired. The heat was not operational and again the issue was handled by the owner before the temps dropped into the 40's. One of the doors in the Voodoo bathroom is literally hanging on one hinge.

On the positive side - the owner Dayna is a pleasure to deal with and although she was not in the area did everything she could to be accommodating and helpful.

If you are heading to NOLA and will be spending the majority of your time out and about this is a great option - just be prepared for what you will be getting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location of the property
Liked least: Condition of property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Dear Gerard and Family,
First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Thank you also for your patience as we worked through some of the cooking and heating issues in the cottage. I will address the other issues that you mentioned. Thank you again for your stay, as well as your constructive feedback. Dayna, Norine and Marnix
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
Ocean Township, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and the feel of New Orleans”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just a two block walk to Frenchman St. and great jazz this is a great place to stay. It is not a five star hotel but it is the true New Orleans. The guest house is clean and comfortable and Norine lives on the premises which is great. You can walk to everything in the French Quarter and experience NOLA. Horns a restaurant across the street is a great spot to start your day. We had six people in our party and all enjoyed the stay. Dayna was very professional and Norine was very cordial.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: television reception
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2015
Thank you so very much for the kind review. We are very appreciative of the time and effort. You all (y'all) were fabulous guests and we would love to have you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
81hoosier
Battle Ground, In
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Experience in Great Location.”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We couldn't have been happier with our experience staying at the property. Charming shotgun cottage a block away from Frenchman, but quiet. For us, frequent visitors to New Orleans, the real advantage was the full kitchen (two of the three apartments have them). We've always wanted to be able to visit the local grocery stores and take advantage of the amazing selection, and this time we were able. The kitchens are stocked with the basic needs - pots, pans, flatwear, etc. Norine could not have been a more gracious hostess and the neighbors were all friendly - a great opportunity to be a part of a cool neighborhood. We visited in the middle of a very hot week and the air conditioning worked very well. The washer and dryer are free and handy. The tv worked well with a good selection of channels. The pictures on the site don't really do justice to the outdoor space - there is a nice patio area with two small tables behind the cottage and other small niches where you can sit. Or you can follow New Orleans tradition and just pull up a chair and sit out on the stoop in front and talk to passing neighbors. If you're like us and want to live like a "local" this is a wonderful option. Two warnings for those who might be more comfortable at the Hyatt: as previous posters have mentioned, hot water is just hot enough and plentiful enough for two or three short showers a morning; and the wifi really only works on the patio area between the houses. These really weren't problems for us, but be aware if these are things that are going to be a big deal to you. All in all, we would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, charm of the property, kitchen, laundry,
Liked least: others might be disappointed by limited hot water and wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for the kind remarks -- we are always very grateful when people take the time and effort to review their stay. A "historic bohemian inn" is not right for everyone, but if you are seeking a real neighborhood vibe and can be flexible with some of those inconveniences, this can be truly a unique New Orleans experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything I dared expect and more!”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a gem! In celebrating a birthday and a retirement, my husband and I gathered in NOLA with friends. The Creole Cottage suited us perfectly. We loved the historic charm and care with which the rooms were appointed. Morning coffee outside amongst the beautiful flowers (occasionally followed with take-out cocktails from Horns, across the street, while awaiting the later-risers) was idyllic.

The neighborhood location made for easy access to Frenchman Street (which we grew to love), Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter. We had no need for a car although we did take a taxi home from the WWII museum when the rain (and an arthritic knee) became a bit too pesky.

It's a neighborhood of incredibly friendly folk and at least two fine dining spots where we alternated our breakfasts between Horns and The Ruby Slipper. Fantastic food, drinks and people serving us. Truly. Not a single disappointment in either establishment. Horns may have grown weary of us as we also had dinner there twice during our stay.

Dayna welcomed us with fresh fruit, flowers in the room and a bottle of Prosecco to toast our new 60-year-old. Her daughter, Norine, could not have been nicer. They were both very hospitable, easy-going and helpful.

I had read the comments about hot water and opted to not worry too much about it. We found that the Bordello room had very hot water, in abundance. The Jazz Bedroom apparently had that same hot water source for the sink but the shower and the water in the Voodoo Room were admittedly lukewarm, at best. This was ok with us. We didn't come to this cottage expecting to luxuriate in a hot bath each night. The facilities were functional and yet served to remind us that perhaps we waste too much water under ordinary circumstances. We were not dissuaded and it did not flavor our enthusiasm for this mighty fine home. The historic beauty and intrigue of the home and district held sway over my desire for a piping hot shower.

If you're looking for pristine perfection, you may want to look elsewhere. If you enjoy fun and find value in historic, quirky, creative, authentic and relaxed, then book the cottage. It's so much more than lovely and we (all) had a wonderful week in this home!

Loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: natural beauty -- and the bed was amazingly comfortable!
Liked least: nothing casts a negative light
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday/retirement/renewal week with us, and genuinely appreciate your remarks and guidance to future guests. All the best to you and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beltayne
Crete
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Excellent Location. The cottages need some serious TLC”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The location of these cottages is excellent, very close to frenchmans and within a ten minute walk of Jackson square. The cottages are also reasonably priced. There was great generosity shown towards provision of such things as washing powder, coffee soap etc.

There are sadly some negative points to report. The first is cleanliness; we were very disappointed about how dirty the cottages were on arrival. We complained to the owner who did immediately sent her duaghter to clean the bathrooms but in all honesty the place needs a seriously vigourous spring clean to bring it to a letting standard.
The 'queen' sized bed in the Bordello room is very much smaller than a queen, if you need a decent sized bed this will not function for you.
The bed in the Voodoo room is queen sized and is very comfortable and the sheets clean.
The general state of the buliding work is poor, the kitchen and much of the fabric of the buliding looks as if it has been rescued from a skip and bodged together. Some of the electrical sockets are hanging from the wall; Parents beware.
The internet signal is very weak and gives a miserable service, you will need to use the excellent cafe opposite.
We believed that we were renting a functioning cottage with three rooms. The property is actually three seperate rooms/studios with no real interaction for fellow renters.
The shower never produced hot water, tepid was as good as it got.
These properties are a good location for young adults who are less bothered about the above than for the more mature customer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness and bed size
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2015
Hi Beltranye,
As always, I am very grateful when guests take the time and trouble to write a review. I am, of course, disappointed that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. Guests should know that I do have a 100% make it right or refund policy and I had honestly thought we had met your requirements. My notes indicate that you checked in at 1 pm, and then texted at 10 pm the "everything was great". Again, our apologies if it was not. Our internet signal is indeed weak from time to time but even with 2 boosters, that is the best that Cox in New Orleans can do. The cottage is indeed billed as both bohemian and "historic" because it is ... the terms you describe the walls are accurate, the buildings in the 1800s were made of the barge board from the ships coming down the Mississippi. I have chosen not to do a gut renovation to preserve that history. The creole cottage is not for everyone. Again, thank you for taking the time to write the review. Regards, Dayna and Norine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really enjoyed having you stay for Mardi Gras 2015 -- it is always a wonderful and crazy time in the city. I apologize for some of the inconveniences of the cottage - it is always that trade off -- historic, original and affordable -- or gutted and "Hampton-like". I am happy that it was not too inconvenient for you but I am grateful that you brought this to the attention of future travelers. Come again, Dayna & Norine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing