We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet”

New Orleans Coffee & Beignet Co.
Ranked #3 of 59 Coffee & Tea in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sweet”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We passed on Cafe du Monde. The New Orleans Coffee & Beniget Co. was walking distance from where we stayed in the Garden District. The service was great, and the Benigets were cooked to order and brought to the table. It was a great relaxed enviroment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaeleneUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    44
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver CO USA
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“As good as that other beignet place!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We skipped Café du Monde because the line was incredibly long and we were hungry. We were able to sit down at the counter at the new Orleans Coffee and Beignet company and get immediate service. We enjoyed an order of hot sweet beignets and café au lait. it was good. I've been to the more famous sister and this place was just as good, the service friendly and fast. They had some jazz playing in the background and it was good for families as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“There is life beyond Cafe du Monde . . .”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Cafe du Monde may have the lock on the label of classic New Orleans beignets but this coffee shop just off St. Charles on Milan holds its own. If you are looking for great beignets without the crowd (and with air conditioning) jump off the streetcar and your way to Audubon Park (which stops right in front) and try New Orleans Coffee and Beignet Co. The staff are friendly, the cafe is neat and tidy and the beignets are classic New Orleans. At $2.80 for three they are also budget New Orleans. If you really want to blow some calories, order a "bowl of soul" as well. Bon appetit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tess572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, FL
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“On St. Charles Avenue near Napoleon, Great Place!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

As you stroll down St. Charles Avenue and come to Milan, stop in at this neighborhood coffee house for a great cup of coffee and order of beignets. The prices are fair and the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. If you are staying at the Columns, Hampton or Best Western hotel on St. Charles, then it is a pleasant walk toward Napoleon and will be on the right side of street. Don't miss it and take a relaxing break or have a wake up treat. Take in the architecture of the old homes as you stroll.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank offtheclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tasty Menu, Personable Staff”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

After visiting the nearby Touros Synagogue on St. Charles Ave., we stopped by this cozy coffee shop upon the recommendation of the synagogue guide. We were pleased with everything about this establishment. The menu had a nice variety of casual food and what we ordered was very tasty. The variety and quality of the coffee drinks was especially good.

Most outstanding, though, was the friendliness of the staff. I had quite a nice chat with three of them. They were relaxed, outgoing, and informative about eating places in New Orleans. They certainly helped give me a positive impression of this business and the people in general in New Orleans.

This is a lovely place, staffed by lovely people. I found it much more appealing that the touristy, noisy, and crowded Cafe du Monde which we has visited earlier in the day. The New Orleans Coffee & Beignet Company was much more relaxed, homey, and pleasant. It's worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cultured_Jewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Orleans Coffee & Beignet Co. also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Coffee & Beignet Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing