We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Vincent's Guest House
Ranked #138 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
White Bear Lake, Mn
1 review
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Acceptable only in crowed times.Bed and bedding clean., bathroom door broken and did not close. No heat in room and not enough blankets. Rollaway may be available but not in room. Towels very thin and one washcloth had numerous holes. No drinking glass. Appeared to be a commune that took in borders.

Room Tip: Should be rented to the public only when rooms are extremely scarce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    114
    79
    65
    222
See reviews for
53
109
84
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This place is not right. It should be shut down by the public health authorities. Its not even safe or habitable for people with even the lowest standards. to name a few reasons why; Bed bugs and roaches everywhere, noone cleans the bathrooms and the rooms are very poorly cleaned, the beds are very dirty, you could get electrocuted using the outlets, the people working there are very rude after they get your payment and could care less about you. go anywhere else, your better off sleeping in the streets

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gladis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed staying here this past weekend! It is in a prime location in a beautiful part of NOLA. The sleeping arrangements were very nice with warm rooms and the nice warm showers. The French Quarter is not far, making walking from here a nice way to see the town. The staff was friendly and helpful for finding things around town. For everything this place has to offer, can't get much better than this!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter073040, Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We appreciate your review of the Guest House and we also are grateful for the time you took to share your experience! We are happy to make our guests feel welcomed and enjoy sharing all that is NOLA to further your visit.

Positive feedback like this is encouraging and helps to increase the morale among our staff. They all really enjoy interacting with the guests and work hard to make each feel at home.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millinocket, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is my third stay in a large dormitory room at St. Vincent's Guest House. Little has changed since my previous visits, but bang for the buck cannot be beaten. The building has a fascinating history and is a bit dilapidated due to its age, but it is a bed with clean sheets in a spectacular location (bus and street car stops nearby).

While this hostel may not be a five star facility, the staff is very pleasant and works to address any problems that arise. Show them respect and patience and you will find that they offer the same to you.

Be aware that because they have had a problem with theft, the kitchen supplies no dishes, utensils, or pots and pans. It does have an electric range, a microwave and a refrigerator. It works well for basics, though some long term residents bring their own dishes and cook rather elaborate meals.

If you are staying in dorm 2, be aware that the shower is plumbed backward. You DO have hot water, just turn the valve the opposite way that you would expect. Bring your earplugs or noise canceling earbuds if staying in a dorm because inevitably there is at least one heavy snorer.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this hostel with the caveats mentioned above. Oh yes, one more plus is the pizza shop located in the building. While not particularly inexpensive, their pizzas are excellent.

Room Tip: If choosing a dormitory, request # 1 over #2 for a variety of reasons. Don't forget to spend so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weatherbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter073040, Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review!

It was fair and accurate. I'm glad that you have had more than once experience here at the property so that you can share the real side of the Guest House, whereas people have a chance to get an un-lopsided view of what we have to offer...

No, we are not the ritz but our staff works hard to ensure that every guest is happy, comfortable and satisfied with their stay. When we are made aware of any issue - we address it immediately.

We look forward to having you come back soon and see some of the changes that we are making.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

OK, the price was right, for NOLA at the holidays, it was close to my new grandbaby's apartment, and there were 3 of us needing 2 rooms, so I booked it. The positives - awesome building from 1861, a former home for orphans from the yellow fever epidemic. Great pictures hanging, really old furniture and accessories in the common areas. Great porches and outdoor areas. Good off-street parking but you don't really need it so don't pay extra. The negatives - very, very shabby! Everything was threadbare, bathrooms were very minimal. Quite a few sketchy characters there (they also have a hostel). Still, we were planning to say, we weren't going to be in our rooms much. This was during a real severe cold spell... The first night we all
got to bed very late due to an airport run. I was SO cold overnight... In the morning, I looked for
the thermostat; there was none. Went to the desk and they explained that since it is such an old building, it has no central heat! Sure enough no vents or anything in my room. They promised to put space heaters in our rooms that night. When we go back that night, we each had a tiny space heater about 8" square. The rooms were pretty big with high ceilings.... the space heaters never made a difference. We checked out the next morning, cancelled the rest of our stay and went elsewhere. Did not get a satisfactory refund and have complained with no luck.

Unless you are very young, and adventurous, seek another place!

Room Tip: Don't go when it's cold, and if it's real hot, I'm not sure the small window a/c uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter073040, Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We apologize for the experience during the cold spell... We were most certainly caught off guard, as was the majority of the City. As stated in previous responses, we are in the process of making some vital changes which includes a new linen program.

We would love to have the opportunity for you to experience the beauty of the property in warmer weather. Hopefully on your next trip to Nola to visit with your family you will give us another chance to change your perception.

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We booked this very reasonably priced hotel (much much cheaper than most other accommodation in Garden or French District) we knew this would not be the Ritz and we always try to book independent accommodation when travelling.

However just a little bit of extra effort could go a very long way. The property needs a deep clean in both the communal and individual rooms. The state of the rooms are in no way a reflection on the staff who were friendly and approachable.

I note that the owners have responded to other comments saying they have a programme for 2014 - I hope that it is successful as it has the potential to be a really great place which we would visit again in a really great city.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out Café Mojo across the street for a great cup of coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHairyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter073040, Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your fair assessment... We are in the process of making changes and upgrades and we appreciate guests like you who are honest about their stay and experience without being harsh or copying other old reviews...

We hope that on your next trip to New Orleans, you will come back to see us and experience the changes we are making!

THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

First of all, you could definitely tell how retarded the management is by reading their response on all the reviews, not to mention how horrible this place is. The first thing you can see when you arrive at the registration area is the 'NO REFUND' sign. You know why? Cause they know how bad the condition of the guest house is, and how people want to get their aass out of there as soon as they got there. No hot shower, no freaking heater, cockroach everywhere, hair/fur on the blankets, and most importantly, the roof is broken and freaking leaks on my bed! Pretending as housekeeping 7am in the morning to wake us up just because they wanna kick us out of that room because somebody else wanted that room. Requested heater 3 times and that guy said he is going to bring us one, but what he did was facebook-ing like nothing happened. When you got to the neighborhood you will never ever thought there will be a freaking horror-movie-like guest house in the middle of this adorable area. The inside of the guest house is exactly what you guys always see in horror movie. And stop using the excuse 'our guest house is 170+ years old'. If you know you are freaking damn broken then stop deceiving people into staying in this shiitty place and start fixing your shiit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LCW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter073040, Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
It is regrettable that you feel the way you do, however hurling insults at staff is hurtful and harmful. Its completely dismaying that guests such as yourself have so many issues with the property, yet never come to the front desk to let the staff know, to assist in addressing the issue.

You stayed at St. Vincent's during a irregular cold snap that took the entire City by surprise. We were not expecting the temperatures to drop so low and be so frigid. We do have hot water, however when there are several guests throughout the building taking showers or utilizing hot water... The water heaters take time to warm back up as in any other house, hotel, motel or business...

If you experienced an issue with one bug in a toilet, and told us... We would have immediately moved you to another room and made sure that you were satisfied. We maintain regular pest control and have receipts and certifications to prove it. However, even the five star hotels are sometimes plagued with issues.

Regardless, thank you for staying with us and we would hope that you would give us a chance to redirect you negative feelings to a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Historic Streetcar Inn
#135 of 162 in New Orleans
563 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#133 of 162 in New Orleans
42 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#115 of 162 in New Orleans
805 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#92 of 162 in New Orleans
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Property: St. Vincent's Guest House
Address: 1507 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4723
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Vincent's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Vincent Guest House is Under New Management!!! As of December 1, 2013 The Guest House will be operated under a new management team that is dedicated to improving both the aesthetics and overall condition of the entire establishment. Steps are being taken to bring this beautiful and historical building to its fullest potential and offer our guests a wonderful experience and comfortable stay. St. Vincent's is not a full service hotel, it is more of hostel/quaint budget hotel that is both economical and located in one of the best areas in the City of New Orleans. (The Lower Garden District) First opened in 1861 as a orphanage; the building has a distinct and colorful history that is worth exploring. The lobby is adorned with photos that reflect the history and show the building's usage over the last 100+ years. Each room has an individual decor and design scape that will make you feel as though you are walking into an era of Nola history gone by... The grounds are well kept and offer several areas for outdoor seating for morning coffee, an evening cigar or just great conversations... Our staff have been trained and are dedicated to providing each guest with the highest level of customer services with courtesy and a smile. Although there are not a great deal of amenities available, every guest will find that the Guest House offers a tremendous value for the price. We have both private sleeping rooms as well as dormitories available. There have been several negative reviews that have been posted in the past and those reviews have been duly noted and taken into consideration for action as we move towards improvements... Likewise, there have been several positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay and the experience at the Guest House; and for that we are thankful! We look forward to this new era at St. Vincent's and welcome each and every guest with open arms... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing