We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience To Remember”
Review of Canal Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canal Street Inn
Ranked #19 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Canal Street Inn – a charming historic home of French colonial design, what a wonderful place to stay while playing in New Orleans. We stayed for three nights in early February 2014, and the experience left us with memories that will keep us smiling and laughing for years. The Inn is operated by two wonderful people, Monica and Teresa, and they were great in providing unparalleled customer service. Not only are they overly kind and thoughtful, they provided excellent guidance on things to see and do in and around town. The Inn is situated conveniently across from the rail street car transit system, only a 15 to 20 minute ride to the French Quarter or any of the other attractions in the core of New Orleans. This B&B will be definitely on our places-to-return to list, and we would highly recommend this Inn and its location to anyone looking for the New Orleans experience, as well as the peace and quiet it offers for a restful experience to rebuild the batteries.

Tim, Carolyn, Davida & Ross

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for the incredibly thoughtful review. We're glad you had so many positive things to say about the Inn. It always puts a smile on our faces when we read reviews like these; they are what keep us motivated. We hope you all return to the Inn the soon!

Sincerely,
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

You WILL love the place, Monica and Theresa. As you have read in all the other reviews, There is nothing but superlatives to describe the place.
We felt like they were family. They are certainly a team....even going so far as to provide my wife with a gluten-free breakfast.
Before you make reservations anywhere, ask them their advice.
They even dragged a funky little Christmas tree up from the basement for us so our daughter could have a Christmas tree.
We WILL stay there next time we come.

Room Tip: 3/3B. Three room suite in the back is spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjwweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the Canal Street Inn to spend your holiday vacation. We are very happy that we were able to make you feel at home. Also, thank you for the great review. We greatly appreciate it. After your stay, we received some mail for you and sent it to you. We hope you received it. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at the Canal Street Inn for 4 nights in November 2013. As owners of an accommodation business ourselves we have a pretty good idea about what makes a great accommodation experience. We had looked at the other great reviews and the Canal Street Inn certainly lived up to our expectations. A beautiful property in a lovely part of New Orleans with unbeatable attention to detail and an unbeatable focus on great customer service. Monica couldn't have been more helpful with her excellent advice on what to do, where to go and what to see - and even arranging things for us so we didn't have to work it out ourselves. The location is great - out of the centre but with easy access via the street cars with a stop right outside the front door and a street car every 15 minutes or so for just $3 for an all day fare. Would we stay there again? Absolutely. Would we recommend it to others? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Owner at Canal Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Frank,
Thank you for the great review, it is very appreciated. I am glad that you had such a nice stay at the Bed and Breakfast and hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!
Sincerely,
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were suprised at the service and conditions that were offerd to us, we expectes something far more inferior to what we encountered concerning the comments we received about BB, but with this experience I wouldn't think twice in returning to this B& B. The staff were helpfull, room clean, environment calm, breakfast delicious, and the streetcar just across the road to take you the business district......everything at your hand reach. Thank you the hospitality!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Owner at Canal Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Jenell,
Thank you very much for your stay at the Canal Street Inn. I am very glad that you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to surpass your expectations. I hope to see you on your next trip to New Orleans.
Sincerely,
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We lucked up upon this B & B after our online search for hotels were full (other than $400+/night). This was out first experience (2 couples). It far exceeded our expectations in terms of accommodations. There was plenty of drinks (coffee, evening wine/beer); rooms were big and clean; a yummy & filling breakfast; and a trolley right outside to take you to the French Quarter. Mandina's was an excellent restaurant in walking distance. In addition, Monika was friendly, hospitable and made us feel very welcome. Theresa was also helpful and had a good knowledge of the area. Thanks for making my 40th Bday a great experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Owner at Canal Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Renee,
I am very happy that we were able to be apart of your birthday in New Orleans. Thank you very much for the positive review, it is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans.
Sincerely,
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I just wanted to say that my husband Keith and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast and this was a wonderful experience. This B&B is very clean and the staff is just wonderful. We stayed in the Royal Street #2 room and it was absolutely beautiful. Monica and her staff are the best and just so kind and thoughtful. I would recommend this to everyone I know traveling to New Orleans or even just for weekend getaway. Something else to keep in mind is the trolley stops right out in front of the Inn also so great if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Owner at Canal Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Jeni,
Thank you so much for your review, it is greatly appreciated. I am very glad that you had a great weekend in New Orleans and that we were able to be apart of it. I hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans.
Sincerely,
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay here although it was only for one night, staff were friendly & helpfull & bedroom was very comfortable
Only fault to be found, the breakfast choice was very limited, only one item on offer & small portions, had to ask for toast & was given one slice for two people

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
778 reviews
Tremé
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#20 of 141 in New Orleans
143 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Street Inn

Address: 3620 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6111 (Formerly Block-Keller House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £120 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canal Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Street Inn (circa 1912), a beautifully restored Neo-Classical style villa, is nestled under centuries-old live oaks on world-famous Canal Street, just a short streetcar ride from the French Quarter. We are right on the streetcar line – with direct access to St Charles Avenue, the Superdome, the Garden District, the Mississippi Riverfront and City Park. We offer free parking too. Whether you are taking a short vacation for Jazz Fest, French Quarter Fest, Voodoo Fest or going on an extended stay business trip let our bed and breakfast be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Canal Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Street Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing