We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A NEWER CEMETARY THAN #1 AND WORTH A VISIT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Louis Cemetery No 2

St Louis Cemetery No 2
Book In Advance
More Info
US$11.96*
and up
New Orleans' City of the Dead No. 1 Cemetery Tour
Ranked #125 of 339 things to do in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: St. Louis No. 2 is located some three blocks back from St. Louis No. 1, bordering Claiborne Avenue. It was consecrated in 1823. A number of notable jazz and rhythm & blues musicians are buried here, including Danny Barker and Ernie K. Doe. Also entombed here is Andre Cailloux (1825-1863), African-American Union hero and martyr of the American Civil War. The cemetery received minor flooding during the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, and its tombs seemed virtually untouched by the storm when the water went down, aside from the brownish waterline visible on all structures that were flooded. There are many notable citizens of 19th and 20th century New Orleans laid to rest here. These include the Venerable Mother Henriette DeLille, who is a candidate for sainthood by the Catholic Church.
Koloa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A NEWER CEMETARY THAN #1 AND WORTH A VISIT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We were looking for the cemetery that had the weeping angel embracing the tomb. We saw photos of her at the French Market. We toured St. Louis #1, #2 and #3 but never found her. Then we learned she was at a cemetery closer to the Garden District, but by this time we did not have the energy to continue our quest.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

It seems a bit strange to review a cemetery but no visit to the city would be complete without a visit and explanation of how the cemeteries operate.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gershwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, LA
Level Contributor
526 reviews
253 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Safe on Sunday mornings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

The second oldest cemetery in the city. The neighborhood is not good but on Sunday mornings there is a police guard there who is paid by the Save Our Cemeteries organization of N.O. to encourage people to visit this fascinating cemetery. Notable burials include Dominique You (pirate) and many famous local musicians. The cemetery takes up three blocks and has many tombs designed by famous architects and tomb builders of the mid 19th century. If your interest is cemeteries and you wish to see many fine examples of different types of burial methods in the city, do visit on a Sunday morning.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NewOrleansfirstgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We took a tour of this cemetery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

If you like history wrapped up in good storytelling and an easy stroll, this is for you. We learned about the different ethnic, cultural, religious, and practical matters behind the burial practices, and then more about the inhabitants of the cemetery. Bring a bottle of water. There is a bathroom break in the middle.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CorgiOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolivar, Ohio
Level Contributor
185 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We knew that Orleans had above ground tombs because of the water level there.
It is very sombering to walk through the cemetery and see all of the crypts there. So different than we are used to in the north.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank summerfunOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Louis Cemetery No 2 also viewed

 

Been to St Louis Cemetery No 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing