We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A priveledged visit with charming hosts”
Review of Hubbard Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hubbard Mansion
Ranked #33 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A priveledged visit with charming hosts”
Reviewed 2 January 2010

The Hubbard Mansion was recommended by a friend who had already booked their stay for New Year's Eve. Our trip was a combination of sightseeing combined with my alterior motive of proposing to my partner. When booking my room, I revealed my proposal intention to Sheila, who took my reservation and offered to make our stay special.
We arrived via automobile (with the help of gps) to the Garden district turning in to the driveway of what we could have believed to be a hundred year old mansion. Sheila met us at the door and guided us to the dining room where other guests (including our friend Steve) were having their morning coffee.
The splendor and charm of the mansion washed over us as we sat for coffee before even unloading the car. My lady was overwhelmed at the furniture pieces almost immediately entering into lengthy conversation with Sheila about each piece. Sheila could describe each piece by period, design, as well as their own personal story about how they aquired each item and from whom. The aire was that of home and family, and we instantly felt that we were home and in the presence of something special.
More gasps follows as were were shown the room Sheila has reserved for us, knowing the special event that was to occur that evening. We once again marveled at the decor and taste of the room (Victoria).
We soon departed the mansion for the French Quarter and upon returning early that evening, had coffee on the front porch (after facing a clear and direct instruction from Don to not touch the glorious 50 year old stove belonging to his late wife and matriarch of the mansion although he was gracious to show us the workings of this amazing piece which had been used to prepare countless meals for the Hubbard family).
One of the guests had mentioned her search thru the kitchen for chocolate the previous evening, and like the gracious host he is, Don descretely departed only to return in an hour of so with fine chocolates for all.
We refreshed ourselves and departed for the evenings festivities on Jackson Square. In our absence, Sheila had taken the time to remove fresh red rose petals from the flowers and after preparing our king size bed, scattered the petals over the linens, the sight which greeted us when we returned to our room after my successful proposal to my lady.
Our itinerary required an early departure which further required more of the coffee south Louisiana is known for, which I prepared in the kitchen. Don appeared, most likely drawn by the aroma, and was pleased with my coffee making attempt. With the car loaded, we bid fairwell to Sheila, our wonderful hostess, and Don, the man who personifies the welcoming nature of New Orleans. Hugs were exchanged (not something we'd consider when staying at a hotel) and my lady, only half joking, whispered to Don "Goodbye Pappa" to which he responded "Call me when you get home".
The Hubbard Mansion has blazed a glorious bright light in our hearts. Thank you Sheila and Don.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpforet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    5
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
64
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

My wife and I stayed here at the end of our tour of the African American Heritage Trail after having read about it in the NYT travel section. The place did not disappoint. Located on St. Charles about a 25 walk from the French Quarter, this gorgeous B&B made for a great stay in New Orleans. The rooms are elegant and clean. The common areas are magnificent and the dinner room is the perfect place to start your day. On top of it, the owner, Don Hubbard, is extremely charming and will entertain you with his stories and treat you to fruits from his citrus "grove" in the backyard. As usual, our only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer. However, we are happy knowing that our decision as to where to stay when we return has already been made. Fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldbizmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

Four of us converged on New Orleans for the French Quarter Festival. We wanted to stay in the Garden District, so we'd be close to the Quarter and near Audubon Park, but not in the middle of all the hubbub.
After a long day (and evening) of partying, we realized how much we were all looking forward to returning to our beautiful, clean, quiet and comfy rooms at the Hubbard, right on St. Charles Avenue.
The breakfast was good and the hosts (the Hubbard Family) couldn't have been more charming. We're hoping to do all again next year, maybe for Mardi Gras or Jazz Fest.
We all highly recommend it.
N. Peterson and Friends, Virginia

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank npeterson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2005

A group of girlfriends and I stayed at the lovely Hubbard Mansion (Carriage house) during the 4th of July weekend. If you looking for the quaintness and sophistication of New Orleans look no further.

Located in the Garden District, the Mansion sits on St. Charles Ave. The streetcar is conveniently located right outside and runs frequently for $1.25 per person. The streetcar drops you right on Canal Street one block off of the crazy Bourbon Street. If you opt to take a cab it's only $4 bucks per person, too.

Our hostess Rose Hubbard is a sweetheart, and very hospitable. We felt right at home.

We stayed in the carriage house which is situated right behind the Mansion. The carriage house has 2 bedrooms (1 Queen and 2 twins), sleeper sofa and 2 1/2 baths. Perfect accommodations for a group of girls. We had our own dining room and full kitchen. Since we were in the carriage house we didn't receive access to breakfast each morning which was disappointing.
We did however walk to the 24 hour Walgreen’s for breakfast foods and prepared breakfast daily in our kitchen.

Also, you're own your own as far as maid service, housekeeping and cleaning. Both bathrooms are well stacked with fresh towels. If needed a washer and dryer are available to use, too.

Over all no complaints ~ we had a great stay and would stay here again. The Carriage house is for a self-serving guest.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank just_cp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2005

A friend and I stayed at the Hubbard Mansion in late May and were delighted by our room and the knowledgeable hosts. They provided tips on some hidden jewels in New Orleans that added to our wonderful experience.

Another plus is its location on the street car line which was convenient to get both Uptown and to the French Quarter.

We would highly recommend it to anyone coming to New Orleans for their first time or their fortieth time!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 May 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Hubbard Mansion for a 4-day weekend in New Orleans in early May. Although the rooms were very nicely decorated and clean, our overall experience was disappointing. The Mansion's floor plan is not set up to socialize with other guests (or even the owners). Aside from the fancy dining room table and a few chairs and couches in the hallway, there are no common areas on the first floor. During our last experience at a B&B (the Ballastone in Savannah), we enjoyed the sitting rooms, the bar/lounge area and the courtyard garden, perhaps even more than our room. At the Hubbard Mansion, there simply is nowhere else to go, so we tended to shut ourselves off in our room when we were there. There is a "Veranda" room on the second floor, which I thought would be a sitting room, but the doors remained closed when we were there. Jeanne (the charming one-woman staff) told us it was for parties. Also, if you are a smoker (we're not), be advised that you can either sit on the front porch (with very little landscaping) facing a busy street, or you can sit on the back porch (with very little landscaping) facing the parking lot. Not a very pleasant experience, either way. Overall, the Mansion seems to be suited either for staying in your room or for throwing parties, when the dining room table is pushed aside, and the crowd spills into the hallway. (There were actually two graduation parties while we were there.)

Another disappointment was the fact that the only beverage or food service offered at the Mansion was breakfast, which was served only between 8:00-9:00. When we showed up close to 9:00 on the first morning, the owners half-joked that the dishes were washed at 9:01. If you choose to stay here, keep the Bluebird Café in mind for breakfast. It's within easy walking distance, and the food is cheap and good (better than the Mansion's food).

The Mansion's location on St. Charles Avenue was both a plus and a minus. It offers easy, cheap transportation to the French Quarter via the streetcar. However, be warned that this is a very busy street. Traffic does not stop, even at 3 a.m., and the streetcar, traffic and frequent motorcycles make the street very loud at night. We actually switched rooms from the Victoria (in the front) to the Breion (in the middle) due to the noise the first night (even with ear plugs), but I admit that I am a light sleeper. Overall, our experience wasn't terrible, but it wasn't wonderful either. We enjoyed staying in the Garden District, and we will probably look for another B&B in the area if we return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 March 2005

My husband and I stayed at three different places while honeymooning in New Orleans. And I have to say that this was the best place without a doubt. Everything was just perfect! The breakfast was delicious, the room (Dookie) was cute and comfortable, the clawfoot tub was sooo relaxing, everyone was so friendly and helpful, and it was in a great location on St. Charles Ave. We didn't get the chance to meet Don but Rose was more than we could ask for. The only thing we regret is staying for just one night. But we will definitely stay there next time we visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#37 of 140 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 140 in New Orleans
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#21 of 140 in New Orleans
364 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 140 in New Orleans
168 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hubbard Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubbard Mansion

Property: Hubbard Mansion
Address: 3535 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4632
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hubbard Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hubbard’s invite you to experience the splendor that is Hubbard Mansion Bed and Breakfast. Feel the gentle southern breeze from our front porch as you view the majestic oaks that line St. Charles Avenue. Escape to the mansion that emulates the culture and heritage that's uniquely New Orleans.Guest Rooms Hubbard Mansion offers five exquisitely furnished suites in the Main House, and two executive apartments perfect for long-term stays. The beautiful rooms recall the grandeur of 19th century New Orleans. The French-inspired designs and antiques create a regal yet relaxing atmosphere. From the romantic ambiance of the Breion to the comfort of the Queen Dell, each room has its own personality to ensure the right fit for your stay. Book your stay today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hubbard Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hubbard Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing