We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Ranked #89 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
atlanta
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Just stayed there this last weekend. Paid $300/night for two bedroom suite. We are seasoned travelers, and would say this isn't worth the price. They wouldn't clean the room unless we called, and it was very noisy. Tried to mention the problem to front desk, but they just blew it off. Not worth the price. It's also not as close to French quarter as advertised

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Hi Georgiaman,

Thank you for your review. I would like to start by apologizing for the issues you had with our housekeeping service and I can assure you that we have spoken with the team to make sure that doesn’t happen again. We do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests and offer services for comfort and convenience. I appreciate your review as it provides valuable feedback. The next time you are in New Orleans please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    381
    186
    124
    74
See reviews for
502
218
35
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Came to New Orleans for vacation with my husband and two teenage children. Our room had two queen beds and a sofa bed, a microwave, two flat-screen TVs, and a full-size refrigerator. The shower had adequate water pressure and nice towels.

The free breakfast had cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, and some hot items, which varied each day.

Parking was about a block away and was about $19 a day. Pool and hot tub were adequate, although the pool was a little cold, and the hot tub was actually too hot to really use.

We were able to walk to everything in the French Quarter and to the WWII museum, although the hotel was a little further away than I had thought. Still, it was a good choice for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksmom2Kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Hi ksmom2Kansas,

Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you thought we were a very nice hotel for a family vacation. Our amenities, and central location, definitely are contributing factors to our hotel's success. Once again, thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed for business for 3 nights. First night I could not latch the door to my room. In the morning I notified the front desk about the door not bolting, and that the lights in the bathroom had tripped a breaker. I returned late that night and found the lights working but the door not fixed. I tried again and found I had to put my shoulder into the door to lock the bolt.
Next day, lights went out again in the bathroom. I told the front desk again. When I returned it wasn't fixed and front desk advised me to check the GFI in the sink area. I reset and that fixed the problem. Odd that the bathroom lights and fan are tied to the vanity GFI, but the vanity lights were still on. Overloaded with the hotel provided hair dryer?
Room was OK, AC was loud, there was a hole in the wall behind the door. Loved the explanation about the energy savings thermostat. That explained why it always 5 degrees hotter in the room than what it should have been.

Also I attempted to use the hot tub and pool, but the hot tub was the same temp as the pool. No hot in the Hot tub. I advised the front desk and they called engineering, they said they were aware of it. If they were then why no signs? Besides the fact, entry to the hot tub is unsafe with no steps and a 2 ft brick step.
Overall found the hotel in OK condition but some things need to be maintained better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Hi Vangorcp,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. The problems you mentioned regarding the security latch and the hot tub have been addressed. Though they are in the process of repair, we apologize for these issues not being fixed sooner and lack of notice. We appreciate you alerting us to these issues and we hope you will give the Homewood Suites New Orleans-Downtown a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Came to NOLA for my 50th birthday with my best friend. Apart from a small problem at check in the hotel was really good. The suite accomodation on the 5th floor was very spacious and comfortable - also well equipped. Small criticisms, the air con was very noisy and not the most efficient, and the living room areas could do with a ceiling light but apart from that was fine. The breakfasts were good too but with so many restaurants we did not sample the "welcome home" evening food. The pool/jacuzzi was nice whilst my friend also found the small gym to be well equipped. Hotel also has a good location being easy walking distance to French Quarter but far away enough from the noise and madness!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinoSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Hi dinoSwindon,

Happy belated birthday! We are ecstatic that you chose to celebrate your 50th birthday at our hotel, and in our city. Hopefully, you enjoyed yourself so much, that you will make this an annual trip. Once again, thank you for your business! Hope to see you next year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We have been coming to New Orleans for years, stayed from the quarter to Sr. Charles without any problems until this stay. We were in town for my son's grad- school graduation. We choose this because of the suite and we are Hilton honor members, While getting ready for celebration dinner started looking for my shoes, gone from my suitcase,not one pair three pairs!!!!! Two pair dress shoes and one pair tennis shoes. I had to borrow shoes from my son's girlfriend. The comment from manager was why would someone steal shoes, sorry. If you stay here hide you shoes. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melody h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Hi melody h,

We sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. We appreciate your speed in bringing this to our attention and allowing us to follow up with our security team. Our General Manager tried to contact you via telephone, and also left a message asking you to contact him so that we may get this issue resolved. Please contact him at 504-581-5599 or dennis.pearse@dimdev.com Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with two other ladies from work. We had the two bedroom suite. The bathrooms were spacious and the linens were high quality. It is a little farther from the quarter than we expected. The breakfast is hot with eggs and bacon on most days. It is a self serve and self park hotel. There is no one to help you with your bags which was surprising considering the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2015Roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Hi Bacoats,

Thank you for staying with us during your past visit to New Orleans. We are ecstatic that you found our suites to be awesome. Once again, thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, PA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I always stay at this propery when in New Orleans, period. While I am not a frequesnt guest, I was recognized and welcomed back. This was done by people who were not in the normal chain of "welcome staff". This was impressive!
More impressive, the head of the housekeeping staff got into the elevator with me; he asked if my room was perfect. I said that I had not complaints but that one light was not working. He immediately communicated with others that he was changing priorities and going to my room to mkae sure that my light was working. Again, quite impressive and more than worthy of a total recommendation.
I made a reservtaion that was for a "smoking room"; it is my bad habit and I don't need to hear any comments on it. The fact is that they had no "smoking rooms" when I got there for whatever reason. Again, I was totally impressed by the fact that they provided me with a larger room than reserved at no cost so that my "vice" could be indulged as per the contract.
I am sure that there are placed that offer similar levels of honorable behavior, service and quality. I have found them but at two to three times the price per night.
I should add that there were a nice number of children around. While I was not there on a "family matter", it is a good place to consider for such times.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reage55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Hi Reage55,

We are thrilled that you found your last stay with us to be amazingly good! Our team members really enjoy what they do, and they will be delighted to hear all of your wonderful comments. We also appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of future assistance. My contact info is keith.normand@dimdev.com or 504-581-5599. Once again, thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#64 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Property: Homewood Suites New Orleans
Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing