We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge suites, friendly staff and a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Ranked #90 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed at Homewood suites during out May 2011 trip to US in a 2 bedroom suite. The suite was huge with 2 spacious bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, a large living room and a fully equipped kitchen and dining area. The interiors were a little old fashioned (and a bit old as well) but I felt that was the charm of this place. The amount of space kinda makes up for any faults one might find with the age of the rooms. The cots and bedding's were new and very comfortable. Breakfast and an early dinner were part of the room tariff for us. Although they were not elaborate or fancy, they did the job of filling us up for the day ahead. The Hotel was a short walk away from the famous 'Mother's' Restaurant and the pier walk on the river. Po-boys and Gumbo were available at these places. Although New Orleans is such a fun place and the French quarter is an experience, we were glad we were a little away from all that craziness of Jackson square and the French Quarter but close enough to catch a tram or taxi to them. A must do in NE is night time ghost tours and day time bayou tours. We also tried the plantation tour. Another experience is going to the Cafe du Monde and having their yummy sugary beignets and hot chocolate. All information is available at the front desk and the staff are very helpful. The hotel also provides a doggy bag with juice and muffin for anyone who leaves for the airport too early to have a regular breakfast. Great experience at Homewood and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamatha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear mamathaseshadri,

Thank you for your recent review of the Homewood Suites New Orleans. Your feedback is much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear you had an exceptional stay with us, and we hope to see you next time you venture to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,239 - 1,245 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

Great hotel, close to everything but far enough not to be in the middle of Bourbon St. Felt safe at all tines. The area sorriunding the hotel did not suffer from all the trash and all the crowds closer to the part area.Good staff and very comfortable an clean room! Will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the super bowl and could not have been more pleased with our accommodations. The staff was very welcoming and friendly and super helpful. We broke our shower head the first evening and it was immediately replaced. The breakfast was above expectations and the dinner/reception on Thursday was very good. For having a full house because of the super bowl, this staff could not have handled it any better. Plus the Ravens won!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear jnp3211,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Your feedback is much appreciated! We love to hear that you were "beyond pleased with your stay", and you "highly recommend" us! I am also happy to hear that our staff was able to respond to the shower head issue in a prompt manner and that you enjoyed our breakfast and dinner selections! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites New Orleans, and we hope to get the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at the Homewood Suites for Super Bowl weekend. The location was very convenient -- walking distance to the French Quarter and the Superdome. The rooms were large but not very luxurious. Housekeeping did not meet our expectations -- one day they forgot to clean our rooms. The front desk was extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_and_Kristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear Michael_and_Kristine,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The Homewood Suites New Orleans truly values your feedback. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and would like to opportunity to learn more the situation. Please feel free to contact me (Hayley Euper, Sales Manager) here at the hotel at 504-581-5599 or by email at hayley.euper@dimdev.com. I'd like to be able to address the issue with the appropriate staff member. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at your Homewood Suites from January 31st through February 5 th, 2013. Needless to say, this trip was primarily for the Super Bowl and we could not have had a better trip despite our team losing! Outstanding location; large, clean, relatively quiet room(2nd Fl); excellent breakfast buffet.
This was our first trip to New Orleans and we were amazed at the cordial hospitality the entire city of New Orleans displayed throughout our stay. One of the unexpected highlights of our stay was the extraordinary friendliness, caring and concern of one of your Front Desk employees, Lucy (I did not get her last name). We arrived late Thursday night, checked in, went to our room, then came down to go out for a late dinner. Since this was around 10:30 PM, we had planned to go to one restaurant not far away, so I asked her about it or if she had any other recommendations, which she did and we found it to be an excellent choice, considering the time and proximity. During the next several days, Lucy always seemed to go out of her way to greet us, make casual conversation, inquire about how were were doing, offered recommendations for certain activities, and in general, checking for our well-being. The friendliness and genuine concern she displayed must be commended and I felt I needed to relay this information to the management to at least acknowledge this valuable employee and recognize her for a job well-done!

Keep up the Good Work!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drht49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear drht49,

Thank you for your review of the Homewood Suites New Orleans. Your wonderful feedback is truly appreciated! I am so happy to hear you thought we had "great service" and an "outstanding location". I am also thrilled to learn our Front Office associate, Lucy, was able to provide such friendly, outstanding service to you and your family. She will certainly be commended for a job well done! Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to get the opportunity to service you in the future.

Sincerely,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This hotel, although not in the French Quarter per se, is walking distance to everything you want to do in New Orleans. The apartments are nicely appointed with full kitchens, and we espicially enjoyed the balcony. The layout was good for a family stay, with a seperate bedroom and living room area. Parking was close, easy, and affordable by New Orleans standards at $22 per night. The street car stop was only a block away, and Bourbon Street is maybe a 4 or 5 block easy stroll. The food was pretty good for what it is, and the staff was friendly. It's much quieter than staying in the quarter---- I'd stay here again !!

Room Tip: south side rooms probably have a better view--- the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clazyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear clazyb,

Thank you so much for reviewing the Homewood Suites New Orleans. Your opinion matters to us! We are thrilled to hear you had an exceptional stay with us, and that you enjoyed our friendly staff, spacious suites as well as our breakfast and dinner offerings. We especially love to hear that you will stay with us in the future! Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites New Orleans, and we'll see you next time you venture to New Orleans!

Best,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Generally this was a very good place to stay, good location, nice staff.

Johnny, a young man at the front desk was extremely helpful during our stay and is to be commended for the extra effort he took to help us out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Travel L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. Our guest's feedback is very important to us here at the Homewood Suites New Orleans! I will certainly commend Johhny for the exceptional service he was able to provide you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you the next time you venture to New Orleans.

Best,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#86 of 166 in New Orleans
915 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £109 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing