We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Orleans Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Ranked #93 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Orleans Vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Hotel is in a great location. Compared to our previous stay at Homewood Suites in New Jersey which was wonderful, this hotel property is between poor/average. Our initial room had a sleeper sofa that was ripe off and had to request for another room. Breakfast food selection was not very impressive either on weekdays compared to weekends!

We had valet parking - we found out the valet attendant took all the quarters and a few dollar bills from the coin compartment.

However, Kylie from the concierge was very friendly and helpful. She gave us a lot of good suggestions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YWC3238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    390
    192
    128
    79
See reviews for
515
226
35
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel has gone downhill in the last few years. We stayed there last week for 8 nights for a convention - a family of four with a toddler and a newborn. Three pairs of my toddler's socks turned black from playing in the room. The carpets were so filthy that we became worried about the health of our family and newborn. We all got colds and requested a room change half way into our stay. The new room was only marginally cleaner and the sheets were dirty on the pull out bed.

When we checked out, we accidentally left a very large empty suitcase in our room and after 5 phone calls and 4 days, we were told it was not there. How can a very large white suitcase go missing? How come it takes housekeeping so long to check in someone's room and call them back? This was a terrible experience all around. I would never take my family back there. We go to New Orleans 8-10 times a year and never had this experience in any other hotel, even ones much cheaper. Traveler beware!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_H_Jones901, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at our hotel. We apologize that your experience was not as positive as it should have been. I am working with our team members to correct the issues that you indicated. We are addressing carpet specifically based upon your feedback. Additionally, after speaking with our Manager I do apologize that after you left the message for our Executive Housekeeper on Monday following your departure that she did not respond until Tuesday. Unfortunately the suitcase was not located prior to your call or after you left the message.

We appreciate your feedback and wish that your visit would have resulted in a positive view of our hotel.

Sincerely, Jennifer Jones, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tri-Cities, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Because of my frequent travels, I often look for the extra little things that make a hotel a great place to stay. Most of the major hotel chains that cater to business travelers get it right with regards to the typical package of amenities. So, it becomes the "above and beyond the call of duty" items that make some hotels stand above others.

This Homewood Suites location stands way above the others. In addition to the standard amenities, it was actually a pleasure to walk into the lobby each day to hear the employees chime out "welcome home". Now words are nice, but actions are king...and the staff here put actions behind their words. It was as if they were thinking ahead of me, giving me ideas and recommendations to make my stay in New Orleans more enjoyable (and it wasn't just packaged diatribe, they genuinely showed interest and tailored their responses to my needs).

Another great perk - Manager receptions. OK, I know, a lot of hotels do this, but I'm used to the bowl of tortilla chips and endless supply of salsa. This was actually really tasty, wholesome food. In fact, I had to watch myself, because one of the reasons I enjoy visiting New Orleans is the ability to eat at some great restaurants.

And finally, the breakfasts...a great selection of freshly prepared breakfast foods (with selection changing daily). There was no need to load up the scrambled eggs with catsup to make them moist enough to get down the gullet.

All in all, between the great customer service, the comfy bed, and the great food, this is a great place to stay (especially if you're looking at a longer stay).

Room Tip: Be prepared to spend considerable extra dollars on parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finewine57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Overall, staff very helpful and welcoming. Difficulty in checking in since room wasn't ready but staff were very helpful in stowing luggage. Location was a comfortable walk to French Quarter, Canal Street, and modes of public transportation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very nice hotel and was in walking distance of everything. The trolley, buses etc. We were there when hurricane Karen was about to hit and luckily didn't. The concierge, Kylie was wonderful and the hotel is blessed to have her. Very helpful and caring.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knox
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We come to New Orleans every year and this is the first time we stayed at this Hilton property. We have a large living room/ full kitchen ( fully equipped ) couch, chair 45" flat screen Tv. The separate bedroom is nice in case you were out late and need to sleep in. They include a full breakfast every morning and a dinner every week night, so if you are on a budget or too tired to go out there's no need to leave the hotel. They will even buy your groceries for you and put them in your room. The walk right in heated indoor pool/ hot tub is my favorite. We will be returning. Loved it. It's quiet here because it's not by the bars but only a short walk.

Room Tip: Best views on 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York Metro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The staff at Homewood Suites provides outstanding service to their guests. They go above and beyond to meet expectations and provide guests with a pleasant stay. Having arrived at the hotel with no set agenda, they offered suggestions and recommendations resulting in a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#69 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Property: Homewood Suites New Orleans
Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing