We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Ranked #89 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
SHREVEPORT, United States
1 review
“Business Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Less than 10 minute walk to Casino/Riverfront. Great price that includes breakfast/dinner and free cocktails from 5-7 PM. Do not get these perks from most hotels in the New Orleans downtown area. Staff was outstanding and really go the extra mile to insure all is well with your stay. Will absolutely stay here on all my business trips to the downtown New Orleans area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_H_Jones901, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear William B,

Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites New Orleans. I'm glad we met your expectations and that you will be choosing our hotel for future business trips. If you and colleagues travel to our area often please contact me directly so that I may be of further assistance 504-581-5599.

Sincerely, Jennifer Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    381
    186
    125
    75
See reviews for
503
219
35
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here for the Sugar Bowl. Long time to check in. Hotel only had one employee checking in guests on a very busy day. No hot water for showers. Poor furnishings. Couch was coming apart in the living room. Bathroom had a sticky floor that needed to be mopped again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stephan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_H_Jones901, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Stephan W,

Thank you taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your stay. I apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I hope that you shared your concerns prior to departing so that we could make it right. If you have further information that you'd like to share I may be reached at 504-581-5599 at the Homewood Suites. I look forward to speaking with you directly.

Sincerely, Jennifer Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Everything about our trip to New Orleans,La was great this place was amazing we were treated like we owned the place the staff was great and the valet service is TOP NOTCH took very good care of us ,will definitely stay there again next time I'm in town

Room Tip: we had a suite they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerDad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_H_Jones901, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your views on the Homewood Suites New Orleans. I'm glad we made your trip special for you during your visit to New Orleans. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely, Jennifer Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
315 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is very well situated to take part in many of the areas attractions such as the Superdome, French Quarter, and the WWII museum. The accommodations were not on par with many of the other Homewood Suites i have previously stayed at. The staff were generally friendly and attentive, but due to the Sugar Bowl, the hotel was packed to full capacity. The hotel staff commented that the hotel was due for renovation. This was evident by the condition of the furniture in the suite we stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank jmkeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_H_Jones901, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Jmkeck,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your visit to our hotel. I'm glad to hear that the staff was friendly and attentive during your visit. Homewood Suites is a very popular Hilton brand and with the many activities that take place in the city we are usually sold out as well. I hope your team won!

Please visit us again should your travels take you back to New Orleans. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely, Jennifer Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbury, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently spent three nights at this Hilton property. Would probably rate this as a 3 1/2 stars if that were an option. Our stay was in a one bedroom suite that was suitable for our needs for the time we were there. First and foremost is that the staff was courteous, professional, and helpful. Cheryl, Lucy, and the valet staff were awesome. Cheryl was helpful throughout our stay and Lucy was able to comp some stuff for us (see below). The downside of our 3 day stay was that the water boiler was unable to keep up with hot water and was overwhelmed thus giving us only lukewarm ... no cool water for 2 days. Our dishwasher and door locks broke and had to be replaced and breakfast was nearly gone if you came towards the middle of breakfast time. Would stay at this location again as we were told they were renovating the interior after the first of the year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjmm1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_H_Jones901, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Tjmm1985,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us during Sugar Bowl. We are happy that you received such great service from Cheryl and that Lucy was able to assist with our challenges to meet your expectations. We hope you do plan to return with a visit this year to see all the changes and our ongoing service improvements, We use feedback like yours to improve our service everyday for a better guest experience.

Sincerely, Jennifer Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
204 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Being a HHonors member, I've stayed at quite a few hilton properties. I've always found Homewood to be a very good value. This particular property has good and bad points.

The Bad: 1) In spite of being only 4-5 blocks from the Superdome, the management is overwhelmed by special event nights. Our 3:00 check-in time was blown by two hours, and many were waiting even longer. The excuse of "we were full last night and check-out isn't until noon" doesn't hold water. I don't care if you're turning the entire hotel and have to employ a housekeeping staff of 50+ on event nights. The rooms MUST be available by the stated check-in time. If that's not possible, change your check-outs to 10am. There is no excuse for such ridiculous delays. Likewise, there is no excuse for having only ONE front desk rep during a 100% occupancy check-in period. The concierge encouraging everyone to smile as they wait for hours is a great try, but doesn't substitute for actual customer service. A more pitiful example of management I have never seen. 2) The corridors smell like body odor. 3) Our sofa had holes in the cushions and some of the walls and fridge exterior were filthy.

The Good: 1) The staff is friendly, and appear to be doing their best without any supervision or essential help. 2) The breakfast and evening light meal were good for complimentary hotel fare, and the dining area was nice. 3) The indoor pool and hot tub area are nice. 4) The suites are spacious, comfortably furnished, and have small balconies (no view to speak of). 5) The valet parking runs very efficiently (unlike the hotel) and the valet was very helpful. $30/night to park is madness, but that's New Orleans. 6) It is an easy walk to the dome and reasonably easy walk to the French quarter.

So, 2-1 good over bad. Unfortunately, the bad points are HUGE and would likely prevent my choosing this hotel for my next trip. Given the operations issues, I could not recommend it. Proceed with extreme caution.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deskclerk102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_H_Jones901, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Deskclerk 102,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel. I am very sorry about the disappointing service you received during your visit with us. It is unfortunate that we were not able to accommodate your arrival to your rooms by 3:00pm. Our challenge during special events and holidays has been with departing guests who don't actually leave on time at noon. We appreciate your feedback toward a solution and are discussing better ways to manage this so it does not impact our arriving guests. I have additionally shared your feedback regarding the corridors and guest room with our housekeeping team for improvements. We are working toward improving everyday and hope that you will give us the opportunity to showcase our changes if you should return to New Orleans in the future.

Sincerely, Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Hood, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The valet parking guys were great, the concierge was a peach, and the cleaning staff was superb....BUT the food, varying between a night of mac-and-cheese + peas + the 2 pieces of pizza we were able to grab up, and the mini-hockey puck sausages for New Year's Day breakfast, well, not up to Hilton standard, shall we say? Also, we had to call maintenance upon arrival because the smoke alarm batteries were going out and the alarm kept beeping, and we had to deal with a demonic 8:00 AM wake-up call which we never requested but went off like clockwork every single morning. Not to mention the lengthy wait we had to make while waiting for the shower's hot water to reach us, only to be scalded by it, after it burbled and gurgled and stuttered upwards through the pipes.....And ancient shower/bath fixtures that did not, repeat not, function accurately or clearly. So, Hilton, please get your regional operations director to get his/her renovation plans on a fast track, give raises to the valet guys, the concierge, and the cleaning staff, but do something about the kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_H_Jones901, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear BrooklynSheldon,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. Please accept my apologies regarding the challenges you experienced during your stay. We have used your feedback to share with the team for improvements going forward. Thank you for complimenting our valet, concierge, and cleaning team. They work very hard to do a great job for our guests and are pleased that guests walk away happy with their service. We look forward to hosting you again in the future so you may experience our ongoing improvements.

Sincerely, Jennifer Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#63 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Property: Homewood Suites New Orleans
Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing