We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Quaint”
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queen Anne Hotel
Ranked #57 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Fairfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Quaint”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My 10 year old daughter and i stayed for 2 nights before going on a cruise. We were on the bottom floor with a great view of the porch and street. the place was clean, quite, and comforting. My daughter loved the antique bed that had the wooden step stool to climb into bed on. I myself loved the fireplace and the whole feeling of the place. We were there the first weeknd of Jazzfest. We both enjoyed the trollet rides to the french quarter and being able to walk everywhere else. the location was great for us.

Room Tip: I loved our room despite seeing other people complain on here about being clse to front door and lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest and Future Guests,

Thank you so much for your review!! We love that you and your daughter loved our property so much as we strive to make each guests experience a good one.

However, due to recent events, I would like to clarify one point. The Queen Anne is an adults 25 and older property. Although we love children here, we also love to give our guests a quiet and relaxing visit.

Next time you visit New Orleans, please be sure to check out our sister property The Prytania Park Hotel. That property offers rooms with more than 2 beds in a unique loft style which gives kids the experience of having a "room of their own" and makes the experience that much more unique.

Thanks,

Dori H Schulman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    34
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
44
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas,Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed for a girls weekend for Jazzfest at The Queen Anne up on the 3rd floor. Great house in a great location! Breakfast was awesome, just across a quiet street was great coffee and Danishes, etc. Lovely quiet house. Pack light if youre up on the third floor to tackle the 53 stairs, great workout! Clean and comfy.. Great location a block off the streetcar with restaurants close. Thanks Queen Anne!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redruby4403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here over the weekend of the French quarter fest. Great location on the St Charles trolley line which gives access to all the bits of NOLA you want to see. This hotel is one of 3 situated in close proximity to each other and you have to check in at the main hotel. It was slightly strange not having staff onsite but there was a phone in the room if you needed anything. The hotel has lots of original features and was very 'quaint and southern'. The breakfast was adequate and nicely presented.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My wife and I traveled to New Orleans for our anniversary and thought The Queen Anne would be quite nice. However when we checked in we started looking around the room. Their coffee mugs hadn't been cleaned, their coffee machine still had old coffee in it, there was gaps in the floor and walls where you could see straight outside, it rained when we stayed and the roof leaked and our luggage got wet, the fire alarm went off at midnight and it was still going off 2 hours later, very noisy hotel with the banging and slamming doors. Had no accommodations for any of our bad experiences especially our luggage being soaked. All they said was and I quote, "we'll get it fixed" Please save your money and stay somewhere else in New Orleans this place is a joke.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregandsandra2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Readers,

I am always amazed how guests forget the good things, and only dwell on the unfortunate “beyond our control” issues.

He forgets to mention, he asked for a Special Request prior to his arrival. To place Rose petals on the bed, so we went to the Florist the day of arrival, purchased over $25 worth of Fresh roses (Red, White, and Pink), to make a beautiful and very romantic aromatic room. Of course, this was at No charge to him as it was our pleasure to help make his Special Weekend that much more memorable.

He forgets to mention, he asked for a late check out, between 1 and 2 pm. Although, our check out is stated for 11 am, we honored, and again, at No Charge to him. We knew it was a romantic weekend for him, and presumed he wanted to sleep in late, so we waived the late check out fee. A savings upwards of $30.

He forgets to mention we had Tropical Storm force winds of 44mph, and horizontal rain for over 8 hours. The lighting and thunder was so fierce, the mansion was hit, and set off the alarm system. I know in the middle of the night, a few minutes seems like hours, but it took maintenance to arrive to reset it within 12 mins.

The Coffee cup and maker issue came to be on the 1st full morning of his stay. It was a housekeeper oversight, and we did apologize. It certainly was not intentional, nor was it our plan for his 1 suitcase to get wet. The gaps in the floor are not really gaps, but where the house has settled. Its been standing since the 1890’s, and needed a rest, and along the baseboard, the red heart pine floor pulled away ever so slightly. A pencil size gap, that is about 3 inches in length. Nothing to worry about, the house is sturdy, and the gap will be addressed in the very near future.

But I do question, if he saw and heard the rain dripping in from a leak (that we were not aware of), why did he not move his suitcase over to the other side, or to another part of the room? The luggage rack is the standard wood one, that easily folds up and is very lightweight. Or better yet, why did he not use the Clothes armoire and dresser drawers that are in the room???? Either option works, former works just as well but the latter is the more obvious of where his belongings should have been. I guess in Atmore Alabama they don’t have rainstorms like this.

And for the record, it was not the roof that was leaking, but the window frame on the 2nd floor needing re-sealing, and its been addressed.

Dori Halpern Schulman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
449 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The Queen Anne Hotel is operated from the Prytania Oaks, which operates 3 nearby B&Bs. It is only 1 block from St. Charles which makes using the street cars and buses with a $3 day pass very easy. There is parking for a car, but many places are better using public transportation due to limited parking.

St. Charles night life can be noisy especially on the weekends. We asked for a quiet room due to Trip Advisor reviews and ended up in one on the 3rd floor. The only problem is the stairway from the 2nd to 3rd floor is about 30 inches wide and it is very difficult to get luggage up since there is no elevator.

Breakfast is so so. The room is across the street at another property. My wife has diabetes and was disappointed that there is virtually no protein. The only thing close is yogurt but it was very low on protein and high on carbs, so we ended up at the Please-U Restaurant on St. Charles for breakfasts. If they only offered hard boiled eggs it would have been fine. There is cereal, pastry, waffles, bagles, coffee, and juice.

Our room was smaller than expected based on other reviews. We reserved a King bed through Tingo but the hotel claims it was a mistake and only gave us a Queen room. They said they don't offer King beds through 3rd parties (we only used Tingo because it was linked to Trip Advisor so be careful). I won't use Tingo again because they refuse to accept that there was a mistake and give any credit. The property was a very nice mansion in generally good condition. There were some bugs in our room and a light was out but these were fixed quickly. Some of the windows have rot and are difficult to open and close, and there are no screens for bugs. So, the air conditioner and fan are used instead of fresh air.

I would recommend this hotel if the breakfast situation changed but we wouldn't stay on the third floor.

The front desk was very helpful, but I thought they could have been more understanding of the Tingo problem with the King bed reservation since they saw the paperwork.

Room Tip: Third floor is very difficult to get luggage up since there is no elevator and the staircase is only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Guest and Readers,

Thank you for your review and I do hope we get another chance to show you the true beauty of the Mansion. But I must clarify for the readers the room assignment issue as it is not accurate based upon the booking notice, to which I have forwarded to the guest. On it, clearly shows Queen Bed, with a request for a King. I feel the need to reach out to you with some explanations as to your room assigment. Then maybe you would understand why we placed you on the 3rd floor in a Queen room.

When we rece'd your reservation from Expedia/Hotels.com, to which was sold to you via your purchased on the Tingo.com site. was a Special Request for a King Bed in the field that comes automatically on the site for a drop down box. Then, right under there, is a field for Customers to put in their own Special Requests, to which you added
" Prefer quiet room away from the noise".

(Side note, none of us have ever heard/ know about Tingo, and have never rec'd any bookings from Tingo- so when booking through an internet site, if its not a commonly known name (Hotwire,Priceline/Travelocity/Expedia-Hotels.com etc), then you take a chance of getting mis lead to what is actually being booked and services to be expected.)

Ok, so it came to room assignment, and of the 12 rooms in the Queen Anne, there are only 3 king rooms. Of those, 2 had already been prior sold direct from our website and the 3rd was open for assignment. I would have assigned it to you, but your own Special Request voided out that King room simply because of its location in the building. It was at the top of the stairs, right next to the staircase leading up to the 3rd floor. This is a high traffic area for guests who are on the 2nd floor, (5 rooms total), as well as the 3 rooms on the 3rd floor. Certainly not "quiet and away from noise".

Therefore, I honored your own Special Request and assigned you to the 3rd floor where those who seek quiet are sure to have it. The King bed special request was just that, a request, and never a guarantee. If Tingo guaranteed it, then that is an issue you must take up with them, as we never guarantee them through a 3rd party booking site. IF we have them available at time of room assignment, then we honor them and would have IF your own Special Request was not requested.

Breakfast, is marketed as Continental to which we expand so everyone can find something to nibble on. It is more of a "get me going" breakfast. We do not state a full hot breakfast is offered. As far as a Special Needs breakfast, knowing its a Contiental breakfast, some guest choose to bring their own dietary needs and add them to our own service, or choose to forgo ours and eat out. We are a small operation, and with all the dietary needs out there, it would impossible for us to cover them all. So instead of choosing one over another, we opt for a Contentinental and Expand upon it to cover most needs. Your wife could have had the Fruit filled Yogurt and one of the Whole Wheat bagel with margerine , a bowl of Raisin Bran Cereal which is on the diabetic approved cereal list, and/ or the Oatmeal or Grits. We serve OJ and Cranberry juice.

I hope this gives you some understanding in knowing we did not disregard his requests and needs as we gave you everything that we marketed the property says we would.

Fondly,
Dori H Schulman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I don't really understand all of the sub-par reviews for this hotel. I've stayed here twice and each time was perfect.

The first thing you should know is that it is part of a larger hotel "chain" (for lack of a better term) that is located just a block away called the Prytania Park. It also has another location across the street called the Prytania Oaks (where a basic breakfast is served for free). Check-in is done at the main location (the Prytania), and a large parking lot is available for guests for free (street parking in front of the Queen Anne and the Prytania Oaks is almost always available which is really nice).

The Queen Anne does not have any staff on site around the clock so if that's a problem for you, look into staying at the Prytania Park. The Queen Anne is incredibly beautiful, well maintained, clean, and very quiet. You won't even know that other guests are on the property! There's a very nice front porch and a small court yard that is lovely (good place to eat all the leftovers you bring back to the hotel).

As for it being located in an "unsafe neighborhood", well that's just insane. Its location is perfect for anyone looking to stay in the Garden District- it's a block away from St. Charles and the streetcar, ideal for doing neighborhood walks to see all the amazing homes (including the one used in the "Benjamin Button" film), and in walking distance the Lafayette cemetery and Commander's Palace. I hate to see people write reviews for hotels based on their own ideas of what's "unsafe"- it hurts the reputation of not only the hotel, but the community as well, and that's just not fair.

There are lots of restaurants on St. Charles, which is nice if you don't feel like going to the French Quarter for food. Definitely check out the Please-U restaurant just three blocks from the Queen Anne on St. Charles- it's a small, no-gimmicks cafe where the locals eat.

I hope this review is helpful- it is not meant to be rude or to criticize other reviews on here but I can't help but defend a wonderful hotel in a truly magical neighborhood. Have a wonderful time in New Orleans and be sure to eat some beignets and tune your car radio to 90.7 WWOZ while cruising around town : )

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suziedeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

... no water pressure.

But that is the only complaint. This place is gorgeous, with lots of character, as well as clean. Our room was huge, the bed was very comfy, big bathroom, too. The TV was small, but had lots of channels, and hey! You're in NOLA, it's not time to watch TV.

And they serve a free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spotted_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#112 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#94 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#23 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Property: Queen Anne Hotel
Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing