We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome room bad service”
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queen Anne Hotel
Ranked #59 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The room was awesome. Clean and beautiful . Parking was free but very limited . This was our first time at a bed and breakfast . Breakfast is only served from 7-9 and it is served outside in the heat. It was told to us on check in that breakfast was served across the street from our room. When we went to find it it was no where to be found. I called the front desk and the "continental breakfast " was served in an outside patio/breeze way with cramped quarters and limited seating. I thought bed and breakfasts normally serve meals inside in a dining room. For the price we paid you would have done better to have stayed at a chain motel

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rgc920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the compliment on the room, however, I am a bit confused as to the other comments.
1. Limited parking? We have 2 parking lots. The main lot that has nearly 50+ spaces, which is where the main registration lobby is, you must have seen this one when you arrived, and the smaller, 2ndary lot, across from the Queen Anne that has 10 spaces. You could have parked in either one, both are Free of Charge.

Underestandably, most QA guest will of course seek a space across the street from the Mansion, for obvious reasons. However, that does not mean you could not park in the larger lot, that is about 50 yards further. We advise all QA guests of this. I am sorry that you did not understand this, and that caused you some grief.

2. Bed and Breakfast? I am not sure why you thought the QA was a B&B. No where do we state we are, no where do we market that we are, and no where does any of our property pictures show we are of such, nor are there any pictures of a "dining room" at the Queen Anne. Our website states we are a Limited Service hotel offers a Free Continental breakfast, and maybe you put two and two together to make the B&B idea?!?

We do serve an Expanded Continental breakfast across the street at our Sister property, The Prytania Oaks, from time to time. And, we do serve it down the street at our main property, The Prytania Park, from time to time. It will vary. I am sorry if you were given out the wrong information as to its location while you were with us, but most smaller hotels serve for a few hours only. We are a total of 88 rooms, 12 of which are at the Queen Anne.

There is plenty of seeing at both, and also at the Queen Anne courtyard. With the trays provided, many guests bring it back to their property to sit outdoors and enjoy the morning, before the heat of the day creeps in. There are not too many places where you can sit under enormous Live Oak trees, or amongst lush gardens in our courtyards, while sipping your morning cup of Joe, or a glass of cold OJ and eating light, but savory breakfast. How unique and unusual this is. This is the charm of staying in the Garden District,, in a Mansion and not a big concrete box hotel.

3. As far as the price you paid, you would doing better at a chain motel? Ouch- Really?!?. I am sure you will not find the quality furnishings, room appointments, lush bedding and bath linens at a chain motel, and certainly not with 14" ceilings, with a Solid Mahagony hand carved staircase that is over 150 years old , and rooms that have Antique Red Heart Pine floors. Also, one that offers you such a great value. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Parking, Free Early Check in , a Free Guest accessible computer/printer, and all of this in a 7000 sqft Mansion under the canopy of Live Oak trees that are close to 200+ years, in one of Southeast Louisana's most prestigous neighborhoods.

If you do come across that, please do let me know, I would like to stay there too!

Happy Travels to you,
Fondly,
Dori H Schulman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Prytania Oaks Hotel three years ago and liked it (especially with free parking). This time we decided to stay at the Queen Ann across the street.

The room is spacious and the ceiling is high. We like it better than the Prytania Oaks where rooms are smaller. The building has a certain historic charm. Only a couple of other people were staying so it was very quiet and we almost had the entire building to ourselves.

Also, now Prytania has a nice breakfast room! (See photos). The food quality has also improved. Three years ago the breakfast table was awkwardly set up outside and the breakfast was pretty bad.

We also love the location. Our favorite restaurants are in Uptown and you can go there by taking the streetcar on St. Charles or the bus on Magazine St, or strolling on Magazine St. like we did. Magazine St. is only a few blocks from the hotel and it has a lot of cute and funky stores.

Front desk people are not very friendly (one of them was almost rude)—this hasn’t changed! (If this improves, I would give five stars.) Beyond that, however, this is a wonderful place to stay at and this will our go-to hotel in NOLA!

Room Tip: If noise from Prytania St. bothers you (like me), ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalKuidaore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Quiet and clean place to stay. Close to St. Charles Streetcar when you get tired of walking. Wish we had more time in New Orleans... I would definitely stay here again. Free continental breakfast at The Oaks across the street was nice as well.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The room was very nice, comfy bed and clean. It is very close to St Charles Ave. and the streetcar, which is the best way to get around New Orleans. There is a Walgreen's nearby where you can buy the Jazzy pass for the streetcars. The only negative is that room service sucks. All they do is change the towels and make the bed and you never know at what time during the day they will show up.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kdp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Room was clean, hotel was quiet, free parking, free breakfast, the streetcar was right there. Comfy bed with lots of pillows, hot water under pressure. Would give it 5/5 but housekeeping skipped me one day, got some towels from the front desk, plenty clean ones to start with and the ones they gave me were good, too. The toilet seat broke the last day! It had a crack in it when i got here and it broke the day i left. Toilet was immaculate, though. Also a couple of vending machines would be a good idea, maybe in the courtyard of the Oaks across the street. for $100/US i won't complain too hard. Would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank hurricane567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed again at the Queen Anne, part of the Pyrtania hotel group in New Orleans. These group of three near hotels are incredibly unique and offer a great experience at a reasonable price. Management is very personable and responsive and take great pride to making sure their guests are treated as such. Convenient to downtown and one block from the St Charles Trolley, come experience these great hotels!

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank battleship60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My daughter was getting married this weekend and we booked quite a few rooms at the Queen Anne, Prytania Oaks, and Prytania Park hotel. Customer service was awesome! They have a continental breakfast. There are nice courtyards to visit with others. So peaceful. Close to St Charles and the trolley and also many restaurants. It was wonderful for my family to be able to interact with each other in a non hotel setting. Check in is at the Prytania Park hotel, the Prytania Oaks is across the street less than a block away, then the Queen Anne is across from the Oaks. Just a great beautiful setting! My family and I felt so comfortable and at home. Would definitely recommend these hotels!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRBIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest, Well, after alsmost a year in the planning, what can I say but THANK YOU. I know that you know what I am referring to, but just incase you don't, I am referring to EVERYTHING ! Your entire family were absolutely charming and a pleasure to meet. I heard the bride was stunning and everyone had a fabulous time dancing the evening away. I feel so special that we were a small part of your incredible weekend, and that wonderful memories of her wedding will be forever in all of our hearts. Keep in touch, and you too hubby! Hey, THANKS for your review as well. Much love to all,
Dori H Schulman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#118 of 167 in New Orleans
236 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#106 of 167 in New Orleans
802 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 142 in New Orleans
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 142 in New Orleans
169 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £121 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing