We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #44 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location. Would stay again”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Our first trip to New Orleans. Stayed here over the Memorial Day holiday. Hotel was in a great location. Walked everywhere, Harrahs, French Qtr, etc. Hotel was very clean and a welcome site after spending the entire day exploring the city. Our room was spacious and I would definately stay here again. We stumbled back to the hotel at 3AM and felt just as safe as 3 in the afternoon. We did not explore the pool area or use valet service but service was very friendly at front desk. Always greeted as we arrived. Clean, quite, convienent location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nine0Nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    441
    106
    27
    12
See reviews for
199
306
43
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My family of 4 visited New Orleans for a wedding and I didn't want to stay in a high rise hotel or any where near Royal or Bourbon Streets with 2 young children. I found this hotel to be charming and in a great area. It was very quiet and still walking distance to everything you would want to see in the city!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loverofdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I am amazed at the negative reviews below! My experience is, almost without exception, a good one. Simple, but important, first impressions.....like the fresh smell, calming music and art installations..... give the idea that this is an oasis from the hottest, muggiest of days. My room is comfortable and quiet (although I am glad I am in an interior room and not on the street) and perfectly serviced by the cleaning team. The WIFI is fast, reliable and included in the room rate, the business centre means you can print essential documents and the reception personnel are very helpful. My only gripe, if I had to find one, is the shower - it is either hot or cold and no amount of fine tuning gets it right! However, I didn't bother to report it so I can't blame the hotel. I plan to come back to N.O. on vacation and would definitely stay here if the price is right.

Room Tip: Inside room with no adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandgirlcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I absolutely loved my stay at the Renaissance. I stayed there during the French Quarter Fest so I had to pay a pretty big rate but I was more than happy when I got there. The room was HUGE. One of the biggest I've stayed in, felt a bit of a waste being there all by myself ha.
Everything in the hotel looks great, it was always spotlessly clean and all the decor was very nice.
I thought it was in THE perfect location to explore New Orleans. It's in a quite part of town, about a 15 minute walk from the French Quarter, but it's a really nice walk and one that I really enjoyed every day. There's a great bar/restaurant across the road from the hotel that really gets buzzing most nights! There are also some great local restaurants near the hotel, which are a lot cheaper AND better than most around the French Quarter area.
I was in New Orleans during the French Quarter Fest and it was amazing! The weather was incredible too with most days hovering around 30 degrees! :D So each day I would go out and check the festival for a few hours, then return to the hotel for a swim in the rooftop poo, which is beautiful! The pool is great and the whole area is very relaxing and nice.
The gym is also fantastic! and even provides a fruit bowl, which I loved. I can't think of staying anywhere better in New Orleans. It's a very nice hotel in a really relaxing spot. It was great to be able to come home and totally unwind before heading back into the buzz of the French Quarter. I had a fantastic time! :D

Room Tip: Try get a room with a view to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Efficient86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

After booking through Travelocity, separately had to call the hotel directly to specify our preference for a king bed in a quiet part of the hotel (which would be the higher floors not on Tchoupitoulas Street in a room which does not have an adjoining door).

Hotel was great in many respects. We only have minor gripes which are:
(1) only able to book a "king or double" and while I was able to specify our preference for a king, we 'rolled the dice' in whether or not we would actually get a king. We did get a king upon arrival so all was fine.
(2) Housekeeping was a little slow to restock soap / tissues. Front desk was super quick in getting us soap / tissues when we requested.
(3) Bathroom standing area is a bit small
(4) Rooftop pool area could use a little more decor
(5) Concierge had recommended a nearby club for live cajun music and dancing on the corner of Julia and Convention Center Blvd. She didn't mention how early they might close on a Friday night (11am)
(6) We could hear the adjacent room's door slamming shut on occasion.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

The room size was fine - mine looked out onto the quirky sculpture garden, which was a plus. Bed was great, service was friendly. Bathroom was ok, and I didn't experience the water temperature or pressure problems described by other travelers. However, a magnifying mirror would have been welcome.
On the minus side, at the price they're charging, general upgrading is needed. There's no wireless internet, and the ethernet cable is short, so you can't use your computer while sitting on the bed. For this privilege, you pay $12.95 a night. Analog TV. A/C in the lobby and restaurant was turned up so high (and it was not hot outside) that it was uncomfortable to sit in the restaurant. Service there was friendly but extremely slow. At breakfast, there were at most three tables occupied, and it took several inquiries before a hostess appeared. No seating area in the lobby. Printer in the business center didn't work. The desk clerk offered to print my boarding pass, but this took about 10 minutes and involved his going back and forth from the desk to another room and apparently several printers. Not efficient.
The hotel is ok, but not at the prices they're charging.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hester52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I first stayed here just after it opened and it was lovely. Now however the rooms are OK - standard fare, the wireless internet does not work so you have to use wired (however youc an connect fro a charge to the Embassy Suites wireless for a fee which works greeat!) The standard of food is poor - I had room service on 2 occasions - the first time the shrimp were not properly cleaned and still had the black lines down the back, the second time the cheese plate came up without any of the extras specified on the menu - it was not eve worthy of a wallmart cheeseplate. The food in the concierge lounge is no better. You can hear everything going on in the rooms next door.I have stayed in other hotels in NO before and would not stay here again. There are plenty of other hotels nearby to choose from.

Room Tip: None - even for Platinum members
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 161 in New Orleans
765 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
2,322 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#52 of 161 in New Orleans
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#85 of 161 in New Orleans
2,743 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing